Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Generation Kplus

Cleo

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

‘Either you stay here and nothing happens. No more pain. Just nothing. Or you go back to the Teufelsberg and everything can happen. Everything that hurts, but everything that is beautiful too. The choice is yours.’

His ingenuity knows no bounds, and his use of original visual effects is as stunning as ever: following his short films Rhino Full Throttle and Berlin Metanoia, Erik Schmitt is back to present his first feature film at Generation, once again co-starring Berlin itself. The film plumbs the depths of the city’s soul, casually rewinding its eventful history all the way back to the Big Bang. The ghosts of Berlin’s legendary figures spout their wisdom, while Cleo tries desperately to reverse the misfortunes of her childhood. A treasure of mythological proportion promises the solution. Together with three quirky but loveable companions, Cleo sets off to find it, on a quest that takes her all over Berlin, back into time and deep into her own emotional world.

by
Erik Schmitt

Germany 2019

German

99’ · Colour

recommendation: 9 years and up

World premiere

With

Marleen Lohse (Cleo)
Jeremy Mockridge (Paul)
Gwendolyn Göbel (Cleo child)
Heiko Pinkowski (Günni)
Max Mauff (Zille)

Crew

Director
Erik Schmitt
Screenplay
Stefanie Ren, Erik Schmitt
Director of Photography
Johannes Louis
Editing
David J. Rauschning
Music
Johannes Repka
Sound Design
Paul Rischer
Sound
Dominik Leube, Oscar Stiebitz
Sound Mixer
Valentin Finke
Production Design
Claudia Steinert
Costumes
Melina Scappatura
Make-up
Virginie Thomann
Casting
Lisa Stutzky
Assistant Director
Mara Fiedler
Production Managers
John Pablo Elsner, Julia Golembiowski
Producer
Fabian Gasmia
Commissioning Editor
Jörg Schneider
Executive Producers
Urte Amelie Fink, Katja Lebedjewa

Biography

Erik Schmitt

Born in Mainz, Germany in 1980. His debut feature film, Cleo, is the third of his works to screen in the Generation section. He won the German Short Film Award with Nun Sehen Sie Folgendes; overall his short films have won over 100 international festival and film prizes. In 2018, he founded the Seven Elephants production company with directors Julia von Heinz and David Falko Wnendt and producer Fabian Gasmia. He is currently working on the science fiction film Rebels.

Filmography

2011 Nun sehen Sie Folgendes; short film 2013 Nashorn im Galopp; short film 2014 Forever Over; short film 2015 Telekommando; short film 2016 Berlin Metanoia; short film 2017 The Santa Maria; short film 2019 Cleo

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

World sales

Global Screen
www.globalscreen.de

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Generation Kplus

Cleo

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

„Entweder du bleibst hier und es passiert nichts. Keine Schmerzen mehr. Einfach nichts. Oder du gehst zurück zum Teufelsberg und es kann alles passieren. Alles, was weh tut, aber auch alles, was schön ist. Du musst dich nur entscheiden.“

Sein Ideenreichtum ist ungebremst, ebenso der gekonnte Einsatz von originellen visuellen Effekten: Nach den Kurzfilmen Nashorn im Galopp und Berlin Metanoia präsentiert Erik Schmitt seinen ersten Spielfilm bei Generation. Erneut spielt Berlin eine Hauptrolle. Es geht um die Seele der Stadt, deren ereignisreiche Geschichte mal eben bis zum Urknall durchgespult wird. Geister von Berliner Legenden versprühen ihr Wissen, während Cleo verzweifelt versucht, die Schicksalsschläge ihrer Kindheit ungeschehen zu machen. Ein sagenumwobener Schatz verspricht Hoffnung. Zusammen mit drei skurrilen, aber liebenswerten Begleitern begibt sie sich auf die Suche, quer durch die Stadt, die Zeit und ihre eigene Gefühlswelt.

von
Erik Schmitt

Deutschland 2019

Deutsch

99’ · Farbe

empfohlen ab 9 Jahren

Weltpremiere

Mit

Marleen Lohse (Cleo)
Jeremy Mockridge (Paul)
Gwendolyn Göbel (Cleo Kind)
Heiko Pinkowski (Günni)
Max Mauff (Zille)

Stab

Regie
Erik Schmitt
Buch
Stefanie Ren, Erik Schmitt
Kamera
Johannes Louis
Montage
David J. Rauschning
Musik
Johannes Repka
Sound Design
Paul Rischer
Ton
Dominik Leube, Oscar Stiebitz
Mischung
Valentin Finke
Production Design
Claudia Steinert
Kostüm
Melina Scappatura
Maske
Virginie Thomann
Casting
Lisa Stutzky
Regieassistenz
Mara Fiedler
Production Managers
John Pablo Elsner, Julia Golembiowski
Produzent
Fabian Gasmia
Redaktion
Jörg Schneider
Ausführende Produzenten
Urte Amelie Fink, Katja Lebedjewa

Biografie

Erik Schmitt

Geboren 1980 in Mainz. Mit seinem Langfilmdebüt Cleo ist er bereits zum dritten Mal in der Sektion Generation zu Gast. Für seinen Kurzfilm Nun Sehen Sie Folgendes erhielt er den Deutschen Kurzfilmpreis. Insgesamt gewann er mit seinen Kurzfilmen über 100 internationale Festival- und Filmpreise. 2018 gründete er zusammen mit der Regisseurin Julia von Heinz, dem Regisseur David Falko Wnendt und dem Produzenten Fabian Gasmia die Produktionsfirma Seven Elephants. Derzeit arbeitet er an dem Science-Fiction-Film Rebels.

Filmografie

2011 Nun sehen Sie Folgendes; Kurzfilm 2013 Nashorn im Galopp; Kurzfilm 2014 Forever Over; Kurzfilm 2015 Telekommando; Kurzfilm 2016 Berlin Metanoia; Kurzfilm 2017 The Santa Maria; Kurzfilm 2019 Cleo

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Weltvertrieb

Global Screen
www.globalscreen.de