Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Heute oder morgen

Before We Grow Old

## ## ## ## ## ##

Summer in Berlin. Two Berliners, Maria and Niels, and one British student, Chloë, are three twenty-somethings. Drifting libidinously through Berlin, they plunge headlong into a carefree and chaotic love affair with each other. Boisterously living life to the full, they grasp everything and anything they please. Their only compass seems to be the pleasure they experience together – which works perfectly well until Chloë unintentionally falls pregnant. Insecurity and anger, jealousy and doubt now break out. An abortion is planned, and rejected. Who is allowed to have a say, and when, and about what? Their unusual trinity dissolves and their once balanced relationship mutates into shifting constellations of two – until it seems it might be possible to restore a precarious equilibrium, at least for a moment. Is their utopia within reach or is this just the calm before the storm? To love differently is hard work. The world is not prepared for Maria, Niels and Chloë. And neither are they.

by
Thomas Moritz Helm

Germany 2019

German, English

93’ · Colour · 2K DCP

World premiere

With

Paula Knüpling (Maria)
Maximilian Hildebrandt (Niels)
Tala Gouveia (Chloe)
Hans Jochen Wagner (Hans)
Leonard Kunz (Julian)
Oliver Moser (Franz)
Yotam Ishay (Ben Jakubowski)
Roland Bonjour (Frederik)
Timur Isik (Chris)
Nora Decker (Martha)

Crew

Written and directed by
Thomas Moritz Helm
Director of Photography
Stefan Neuberger
Editing
Elena Weihe
Sound Design
Detlef A. Schitto
Sound
Tobias Rüther
Production Design
Marlene Gartner
Costumes
Birgit Bungum
Casting
Lisa Stutzky
Assistant Director
Maria Ochs
Production Manager
Sabine Schmidt
Producer
Thomas Moritz Helm

Biography

Thomas Moritz Helm

Born in Bonn, Germany in 1979, he has worked as a grip, gaffer and cinematographer on over 50 film and TV projects. He was a directing intern at the Thalia Theater in Hamburg, the Burgtheater in Vienna and the Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus. He also attended the William Esper Studio acting school in New York and, from 2006 to 2012, studied at the Film University Babelsberg Konrad Wolf. His graduation film Ein kleiner Augenblick des Glücks (A Brief Moment of Joy) screened at numerous national and international festivals and was nominated for the German Short Film Award in 2013.

Filmography

2009 In stillem Einverständnis (In Silent Agreement); short film 2013 Ein kleiner Augenblick des Glücks (A Brief Moment of Joy); short film 2014 Mein Vater und die Fledermaus (My Father and the Bat); documentary 2019 Heute oder morgen (Before We Grow Old)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Heute oder morgen

Before We Grow Old

## ## ## ## ## ##

Sommer in Berlin. Zwei Berliner*innen und eine britische Studentin: Maria, Niels und Chloë. Drei junge Menschen in ihren Zwanzigern, die sich lustvoll durch Berlin treiben lassen und gemeinsam in ein unbekümmertes Liebesdurcheinander stürzen. Übermütig geben sie dem Leben die Sporen und greifen nach allem, wonach ihnen gerade der Sinn steht. Ihr einziger Kompass scheint der Genuss, den sie miteinander empfinden, was auch perfekt funktioniert, bis Chloë ungewollt schwanger wird. Verunsicherung und Wut, Eifersucht und Zweifel brechen sich Bahn. Eine Abtreibung wird geplant und wieder verworfen. Wer darf eigentlich wann und über was mitreden? Die ungewöhnliche Einheit zu dritt löst sich auf, Gleichgewicht mutiert zu wechselnden Zweierkonstellationen, bis es für Augenblicke wieder möglich scheint, eine prekäre Balance herzustellen. Greifbare Utopie oder Ruhe vor dem Sturm? Anders zu lieben ist harte Arbeit. Denn die Welt ist nicht auf Maria, Niels und Chloë vorbereitet. Und sie selber sind es auch nicht.

von
Thomas Moritz Helm

Deutschland 2019

Deutsch, Englisch

93’ · Farbe · 2K DCP

Weltpremiere

Mit

Paula Knüpling (Maria)
Maximilian Hildebrandt (Niels)
Tala Gouveia (Chloe)
Hans Jochen Wagner (Hans)
Leonard Kunz (Julian)
Oliver Moser (Franz)
Yotam Ishay (Ben Jakubowski)
Roland Bonjour (Frederik)
Timur Isik (Chris)
Nora Decker (Martha)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Thomas Moritz Helm
Kamera
Stefan Neuberger
Montage
Elena Weihe
Sound Design
Detlef A. Schitto
Ton
Tobias Rüther
Production Design
Marlene Gartner
Kostüm
Birgit Bungum
Casting
Lisa Stutzky
Regieassistenz
Maria Ochs
Production Manager
Sabine Schmidt
Produzent
Thomas Moritz Helm

Biografie

Thomas Moritz Helm

Geboren 1979 in Bonn. Als Gripper, Beleuchter und Kameramann wirkte er an über 50 Film- und Fernsehprojekten mit. Er war Regiehospitant am Thalia Theater Hamburg, am Burgtheater Wien und am Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus, besuchte die Schauspielschule William Esper Studio in New York und studierte von 2006 bis 2012 an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg Konrad Wolf. Sein Abschlussfilm, Ein kleiner Augenblick des Glücks, wurde auf zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Festivals gezeigt und 2013 für den deutschen Kurzfilmpreis nominiert.

Filmografie

2009 In stillem Einverständnis (In Silent Agreement); Kurzfilm 2013 Ein kleiner Augenblick des Glücks (A Brief Moment of Joy); Kurzfilm 2014 Mein Vater und die Fledermaus (My Father and the Bat); Dokumentarfilm 2019 Heute oder morgen (Before We Grow Old)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion