Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama 40

Bungalow

## ## ## ## ##

Midsummer. On the way back to barracks following a manoeuvre, 19-year-old Paul stays behind unobserved at a motorway service station. When his company leaves, Paul sets off for his parents’ bungalow; his mother and father are away on holiday. He is surprised when his older brother Max and Max’s girlfriend, Lene, turn up. The trio’s carefree sojourn comes to an end when the army catches up with Paul. The brothers’ knee-jerk reaction is to revert to their old familiar roles. A sense of responsibility, the urge to rebel, and Lene, who oscillates between the two young men according to her mood, all serve to make them prisoners of this place which takes them back to their childhood, and to fill them with anger and desire.
Ulrich Köhler’s first film already explores the themes he has extensively revisited in subsequent works: disorientated people alienated from their own families, on the search for stability; and rebels prepared to risk everything to avoid getting stuck in the rut of conventional social expectations and connect instead with their true selves. An intensely laconic tale of existential turmoil.

by
Ulrich Köhler

Germany 2002

German

85’ · Colour · 35 mm

With

Lennie Burmeister (Paul)
Devid Striesow (Max)
Trine Dyrholm (Lene)
Nicole Gläser (Kerstin)
Jörg Malchow (Stefan)
Maria Hagewald (Dunja)
Frank Breitenreiter (Frank)
Steffen Münster (Teacher)
Michael Abendroth (Cigarette Man)
Frederic Neurath (Arne)
Helke Sander (Couple at the Railway Station)
Lou Castel (Couple at the Railway Station)
Walter Zimmermann (Innkeeper)
Dirk Jansen (Truck Driver)

Crew

Director
Ulrich Köhler
Screenplay
Ulrich Köhler, Henrike Goetz
Director of Photography
Patrick Orth
Camera Assistant
Ute Freund, Carol Burandt von Kameke
Editing
Gergana Vogt
Sound
Johannes Grehl
Sound Editor
Thomas Knop
Sound Mixer
Pierre Brand
Art Director
Silke Fischer
Costumes
Birgit Kilian
Make-up
Antje Holzapfel
Assistant Director
Lars Henning
Production Manager
Sabina Doerr
Location Manager
Nicolas Reichelt
Producers
Peter Stockhaus, Tobias Büchner
Commissioning Editor
Christian Cloos
Co-production
ZDF, Mainz

Biography

Ulrich Köhler

Born in Marburg, Germany in 1969, between 1989 and 1991 he studied art in Quimper in France, followed by philosophy in Hamburg and then visual communication at the University of Fine Arts Hamburg, where he received his degree in 1998. He also made his short films there. His feature films Bungalow (2002) and Montag kommen die Fenster (Windows on Monday, 2006) screened at numerous festivals and won prizes both in Germany and abroad. Schlafkrankheit (Sleeping Sickness) premiered in the 2011 Competition where it won the Silver Bear for Best Director. His film In My Room screened in the Un Certain Regard section at the 2018 Cannes Film Festival.

Filmography

2002 Bungalow; Panorama 2006 Montag kommen die Fenster; Forum 2011 Schlafkrankheit; Competition 2018 In My Room

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Peter Stockhaus Filmproduktion
www.peterstockhausfilm.de

World sales

Peter Stockhaus Filmproduktion
www.peterstockhausfilm.de

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama 40

Bungalow

## ## ## ## ##

Hochsommer. Auf dem Rückweg vom Manöver zur Kaserne bleibt der 19-jährige Paul unbemerkt an einer Raststätte zurück. Die Kompanie fährt ab, und Paul macht sich auf den Weg zum Haus seiner Eltern, die verreist sind. Dort trifft er überraschend auf seinen älteren Bruder Max und dessen Freundin Lene. Die drei verbringen eine kurze unbeschwerte Zeit, bis die Bundeswehr sich meldet. Reflexartig beginnen die beiden Brüder, sich gegenseitig in ihre alten Rollen zurückzudrängen. Verantwortungsgefühl, Aufsässigkeit und Lene, die mit ihren Launen zwischen beiden hin und her pendelt, machen sie an einem Ort der Kindheit zu Gefangenen, erfüllt von Wut und Lust.
Bereits in seinem ersten Film thematisiert Ulrich Köhler, was er in seinen späteren Werken auf unterschiedlichste Weise wieder aufgreift: Von der eigenen Familie entfremdete Menschen, die orientierungslos nach Stabilität suchen. Rebellen, die alles aufs Spiel setzen, um gesellschaftlichen Mainstream-Erwartungen nicht ins Netz zu gehen und sich mit ihrer wahrhaftigen Identität zu verbinden. Mit intensiver Lakonie erzählt er von einer tiefen existenziellen Verstörung.

von
Ulrich Köhler

Deutschland 2002

Deutsch

85’ · Farbe · 35 mm

Mit

Lennie Burmeister (Paul)
Devid Striesow (Max)
Trine Dyrholm (Lene)
Nicole Gläser (Kerstin)
Jörg Malchow (Stefan)
Maria Hagewald (Dunja)
Frank Breitenreiter (Frank)
Steffen Münster (Lehrer)
Michael Abendroth (Zigarettenmann)
Frederic Neurath (Arne)
Helke Sander (Paar am Bahnhof)
Lou Castel (Paar am Bahnhof)
Walter Zimmermann (Wirt)
Dirk Jansen (LKW-Fahrer)

Stab

Regie
Ulrich Köhler
Buch
Ulrich Köhler, Henrike Goetz
Kamera
Patrick Orth
Kameraassistenz
Ute Freund, Carol Burandt von Kameke
Montage
Gergana Vogt
Ton
Johannes Grehl
Tonschnitt
Thomas Knop
Mischung
Pierre Brand
Ausstattung
Silke Fischer
Kostüm
Birgit Kilian
Maske
Antje Holzapfel
Regieassistenz
Lars Henning
Production Manager
Sabina Doerr
Aufnahmeleitung
Nicolas Reichelt
Produzenten
Peter Stockhaus, Tobias Büchner
Redaktion
Christian Cloos
Co-Produktion
ZDF, Mainz

Biografie

Ulrich Köhler

Geboren 1969 in Marburg. Er studierte von 1989 bis 1991 Kunst in Quimper, Frankreich, anschließend in Hamburg Philosophie und später Visuelle Kommunikation an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste, wo er 1998 sein Diplom erhielt. Dort entstanden auch seine Kurzfilme. Seine Spielfilme Bungalow (2002) und Montag kommen die Fenster (2006) liefen auf zahlreichen Festivals und erhielten Preise im In- und Ausland. Schlafkrankheit feierte 2011 im Wettbewerb seine Premiere und wurde dort mit dem Silbernen Bären für die beste Regie ausgezeichnet. Sein Film In My Room lief 2018 in der Reihe Un Certain Regard der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Cannes.

Filmografie

2002 Bungalow; Panorama 2006 Montag kommen die Fenster; Forum 2011 Schlafkrankheit; Wettbewerb 2018 In My Room

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Peter Stockhaus Filmproduktion
www.peterstockhausfilm.de

Weltvertrieb

Peter Stockhaus Filmproduktion
www.peterstockhausfilm.de