Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Homage

Sous le sable

Under the Sand

Unter dem Sand

## ## ## ## ##

Englishwoman Marie teaches English literature in Paris. While vacationing at the seaside, her husband disappears without a trace. The assumption is that he has drowned while swimming. But Marie refuses to accept that Jean is dead. After 25 years of marriage, she continues to act as if he is present, despite starting a relationship with publisher Vincent at the urging of her best friend. Her daily routine is not derailed until medications are found that point to Jean having suffered from depression. When a decomposed body is found at the coast, she returns once again to the seaside … Charlotte Rampling displays fascinating vitality playing a woman intent on denying the death in her life. She gives an impressive portrayal of Marie’s inner transition, as the character has less and less strength to deny the truth, while gaining the capacity to mourn. In Sous le sable, Charlotte Rampling fully owns the type of role she would go on to play for many years – of an independent, self-confident, sexually attractive, active woman. If Il portiere di notte (The Night Porter) was the defining role of Rampling’s early career, then Sous le sable can be considered the cusp to its second act.

by
François Ozon

France / Japan 2000

French

95’ · Colour · 35 mm

Rating R6

With

Charlotte Rampling
Bruno Cremer
Jacques Nolot
Alexandra Stewart
Pierre Vernier
Andrée Tainsy
Michel Cordes

Crew

Director
François Ozon
Screenplay
François Ozon, Emmanuèle Bernheim, Marina de Van, Marcia Romano
Director of Photography
Antoine Héberlé, Jeanne Lapoirie
Montage
Laurence Bawedin
Music
Philippe Rombi
Sound
Jean-Luc Audy
Art Director
Sandrine Canaux
Costumes
Pascaline Chavanne
Producers
Olivier Delbosc, Marc Missonnier

Biography

François Ozon

Born in Paris, France in 1967, this director and screenwriter studied at La Fémis film school and is now one of the most renowned filmmakers in his country. His work has already screened in the Berlinale Competition four times, with the ensemble cast of one of his most successful films, the comedy 8 femmes, winning the Silver Bear in 2002. In 2012 he was a member of the International Jury. He has made four films with Charlotte Rampling who this year is being presented with the Honorary Golden Bear for her lifetime achievement; Sous le Sable and Swimming Pool are both screening in the Homage.

Filmography (selection)

1998 Sitcom 1999 Les amants criminels (Ein kriminelles Paar) 2000 Gouttes d’eau sur pierres brûlantes (Tropfen auf heiße Steine) · Sous le sable (Unter dem Sand) 2002 8 femmes (8 Frauen) 2003 Swimming Pool 2004 5 x 2 (5 x 2 – Fünf mal zwei) 2005 Le temps qui reste (Die Zeit die bleibt) 2009 Ricky (Ricky – Wunder geschehen) · La refuge (Rückkehr ans Meer) 2010 Potiche (Das Schmuckstück) 2012 Dans la maison (In ihrem Haus) 2013 Jeune et Jolie (Jung & Schön) 2014 Une nouvelle amie (Eine neue Freundin) 2016 Frantz 2017 L'amant double (Der andere Liebhaber) 2019 Grâce à Dieu (Gelobt sei Gott)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Hommage

Sous le sable

Under the Sand

Unter dem Sand

## ## ## ## ##

Marie ist Engländerin und lehrt Englische Literatur in Paris. Während eines Urlaubs an der See verschwindet ihr Ehemann spurlos; es ist von einem Badeunfall auszugehen. Doch Marie will Jeans Tod nicht akzeptieren. Nach 25 Jahren Ehe ist er für sie weiterhin gegenwärtig. Daran ändert auch die Liaison nichts, die sie, von ihrer besten Freundin ermutigt, mit dem Verleger Vincent eingeht. Erst Medikamentenfunde, die bei Jean eine Depression vermuten lassen, erschüttern Maries Alltagsroutine. Als man an der Küste eine Wasserleiche findet, fährt sie noch einmal ans Meer. In der Rolle einer Frau, die den Tod aus ihrem Leben aussperren will, ist Charlotte Rampling von faszinierender Vitalität. Eindrücklich stellt sie den inneren Wandel Maries dar, die immer weniger Kraft zur Verdrängung findet und dafür die Fähigkeit zu trauern gewinnt. In Sous le sable eroberte sich Charlotte Rampling das Rollenfach, das sie in den kommenden Jahren wiederholt ausfüllen sollte: das der unabhängigen, selbstbewussten, sexuell attraktiven und aktiven Frau. War Il portiere di notte (Der Nachtportier, Italien 1974) der entscheidende Film ihrer frühen Jahre, sollte es Sous le sable für ihre zweite Lebenshälfte sein.

von
François Ozon

Frankreich / Japan 2000

Französisch

95’ · Farbe · 35 mm

Altersfreigabe FSK 6

Mit

Charlotte Rampling
Bruno Cremer
Jacques Nolot
Alexandra Stewart
Pierre Vernier
Andrée Tainsy
Michel Cordes

Stab

Regie
François Ozon
Buch
François Ozon, Emmanuèle Bernheim, Marina de Van, Marcia Romano
Kamera
Antoine Héberlé, Jeanne Lapoirie
Montage
Laurence Bawedin
Musik
Philippe Rombi
Ton
Jean-Luc Audy
Ausstattung
Sandrine Canaux
Kostüm
Pascaline Chavanne
Produzenten
Olivier Delbosc, Marc Missonnier

Biografie

François Ozon

Der 1967 in Paris geborene Regisseur und Drehbuchautor zählt zu den renommiertesten Filmschaffenden seines Landes. Er studierte an der Filmhochschule La Fémis und wurde bereits viermal in den Wettbewerb der Berlinale eingeladen. Zu seinen erfolgreichsten Filmen zählt die Komödie 8 femmes, dessen Darstellerinnen-Ensemble 2002 den Silbernen Bären erhielt. 2012 gehörte er der Wettbewerbs-Jury an. Mit Charlotte Rampling, die dieses Jahr den Goldenen Ehrenbären für ihr Lebenswerk erhält, realisierte er vier Filme; Sous le Sable und Swimming Pool sind im Filmprogramm der Hommage zu sehen.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1998 Sitcom 1999 Les amants criminels (Ein kriminelles Paar) 2000 Gouttes d’eau sur pierres brûlantes (Tropfen auf heiße Steine) · Sous le sable (Unter dem Sand) 2002 8 femmes (8 Frauen) 2003 Swimming Pool 2004 5 x 2 (5 x 2 – Fünf mal zwei) 2005 Le temps qui reste (Die Zeit die bleibt) 2009 Ricky (Ricky – Wunder geschehen) · La refuge (Rückkehr ans Meer) 2010 Potiche (Das Schmuckstück) 2012 Dans la maison (In ihrem Haus) 2013 Jeune et Jolie (Jung & Schön) 2014 Une nouvelle amie (Eine neue Freundin) 2016 Frantz 2017 L'amant double (Der andere Liebhaber) 2019 Grâce à Dieu (Gelobt sei Gott)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019