Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum Expanded Exhibition

Bläue

Blueness

##

Juxtaposing images of the production sites of the pharmaceutical-chemical industry with speculations on the historical, social, and material conditions of Cyanotype photography, Blueness probes into the (gendered) politics of materiality and the (violent) historicities of its form.
The film follows a figure that proceeds through the stages of exposing and developing a Cyanotype. They revisit factories in Seveso, Italy and Basel, Switzerland that both relate directly to the history of the synthetic dye “Prussian Blue”. In the latent period, when the images are exposed but not yet developed, the figure searches to define their body as both commodity and consumer of pharmaceutical products. This body is modelled on the productive body of Fordist labor. Yet like the industrial sites that appear as remnants of an older mode of production, this body has been fundamentally reconfigured to conform to post-industrial working conditions. Subsequently, the figure aims to perform against pharmaceutical substances and prepare for a neoliberal take-over of their movements, lingering between the roles of researcher, scientist, athlete, pharmacist, patient, woman.

by
Kerstin Schroedinger

Great Britain / Germany

English, Italian

48’ · Colour & Black/White · 1-Kanal-Videoinstallation

With

Kerstin Schroedinger
Manuela Schininà

Crew

Written and directed by
Kerstin Schroedinger
Director of Photography
Andreas Voß, Andrea Thal, Oliver Husain
Editing
Kerstin Schroedinger
Music
Wibke Tiarks
Sound Design
Manuela Schininà
Producer
Kerstin Schroedinger

Biography

Kerstin Schroedinger

Kerstin Schroedinger is an artist based in Berlin working in film, video, sound, and performance. Her historiographic practice questions the means of image production, historical continuities, and ideological certainties of representation. Since 2011 she has been a member of the Cinenova Working Group of the feminist film distribution Cinenova in London. Her work has been shown at art institutions and film festivals worldwide.

Filmography

2004 Das Monument 2007 anstatt dass 2009 as found; with Mareike Bernien, 15 min. 2010 Rigid things can always be moved about · Translating the other; with Mareike Bernien, 7 min. 2011 Red, she said; with Mareike Bernien, 13 min. 2014 Rainbow's Gravity; with Mareike Bernien, Forum Expanded 2014, 33 min. 2015 Fugue 2017 Bläue

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Kerstin Schroedinger

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded Ausstellung

Bläue

Blueness

##

Bläue verbindet Bilder von Produktionsstätten der Pharma- und der Chemieindustrie mit Spekulationen zu den historischen, sozialen und materiellen Bedingungen der Cyanotypie (auch als Blaudruck bekannt).
Der Film folgt einer Figur, die alle Schritte der Herstellung einer Cyanotyphie von der Belichtung zur Entwicklung des Bildträgers durchführt. Besucht werden Fabriken im italienischen Seveso und im schweizerischen Basel, die in direktem Bezug zur Geschichte der synthetischen Farbe „Preußisch Blau“ stehen. In der Wartezeit zwischen Belichtung und Entwicklung versucht die Figur ihren Körper sowohl als Ware als auch als Konsument*in pharmazeutischer Erzeugnisse zu definieren. Dieser Körper ist dem produktiven Körper des Fordismus nachempfunden. Doch wie die Industriestätten, die als Hinterlassenschaften einer überholten Produktionsweise erscheinen, ist auch er durch die Anforderungen postindustrieller Arbeitsbedingungen von Grund auf verformt worden. Die Figur verharrt zwischen den Rollen als Wissenschaftler*in, Athlet*in, Apotheker*in, Patient*in, Frau und arbeitet gegen chemische Substanzen und die neoliberale Aneignung ihrer Bewegungen an.

von
Kerstin Schroedinger

Großbritannien / Deutschland

Englisch, Italienisch

48’ · Farbe & Schwarz-Weiß · 1-Kanal-Videoinstallation

Mit

Kerstin Schroedinger
Manuela Schininà

Stab

Regie, Buch
Kerstin Schroedinger
Kamera
Andreas Voß, Andrea Thal, Oliver Husain
Montage
Kerstin Schroedinger
Musik
Wibke Tiarks
Sound Design
Manuela Schininà
Produzentin
Kerstin Schroedinger

Biografie

Kerstin Schroedinger

Kerstin Schroedinger lebt in Berlin und arbeitet als Künstlerin in den Bereichen Film, Hörspiel, Musik und Performance mit einer historiographischen Praxis, die Produktionsmittel, historische Kontinuitäten und ideologische Gewissheiten der Repräsentation zu hinterfragen sucht. Seit 2011 ist sie Mitglied der Cinenova Working Group des feministischen Filmverleihs Cinenova in London. Ihre Arbeiten wurden international in Kunstinstitutionen und auf Filmfestivals gezeigt.

Filmografie

2004 Das Monument; 5 Min. 2007 anstatt dass; 11 Min. 2009 as found; mit Mareike Bernien, 15 Min. 2010 Rigid things can always be moved about; 35 Min. · Translating the other; mit Mareike Bernien, 7 Min. 2011 Red, she said; mit Mareike Bernien, 13 Min. 2014 Rainbow's Gravity; mit Mareike Bernien, Forum Expanded 2014, 33 Min. 2015 Fugue; 8 Min., Forum Expanded 2016 2017 Bläue

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Kerstin Schroedinger