Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama Special

Yardie

Robin Gutch (Prducer), Gina Carter (Producer), Idris Elba (Director, Executive Producer)

Moderation: Jenni Zylka

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

As a boy in Jamaica, D witnessed his brother being shot dead as he was trying to make peace between hostile gangs with the help of a mega dancehall sound system. Ten years have passed since then. It’s 1983 and D works as a drug courier and dealer in London, where his girlfriend Yvonne is now living with their child. Still bent on avenging his brother’s death, this is where he picks up the killer’s trail.
Jamaican immigrants have been shaping London’s street life and atmosphere for decades; Jamaican music dominated the city’s music scene in the eighties. Versatile British actor Idris Elba has adapted Victor Headley’s hit novel for his directorial debut in which he brings the atmosphere of this era strikingly to life. Jamaican Creole, or Patois, dancehall and reggae form the soundtrack of this epic story of revenge set in a community that is fighting for its rights, and whose propensity for violence is growing proportionally to the protagonist’s sense of despair.

by
Idris Elba

Great Britain 2018

English

101 min · Colour

With

Aml Ameen (D)
Shantol Jackson (Yvonne)
Stephen Graham (Rico)
Fraser James (Piper)
Sheldon Shepherd (King Fox)
Everaldo Creary (Jerry Dread)

Crew

Director
Idris Elba
Screenplay
Brock Norman Brock, Martin Stellman, based on the novel of the same title by Victor Headley
Director of Photography
John Conroy
Editing
Justine Wright
Music
Dickon Hinchliffe
Production Design
Damien Creagh
Costumes
James Keast
Make-up
Jojo Williams
Casting
Shaheen Baig
Assistant Director
Cordelia Hardy
Line Producer
Alice Dawson
Executive Producers
Danny Perkins, Dan MacRae, Joe Oppenheimer, Mary Burke, Ben Roberts, Hugo Heppell, Mark Herbert, Idris Elba
Producers
Gina Carter, Robin Gutch

Biography

Idris Elba

This British director, producer and actor began his career as a television actor in US series such as ‘Law & Order’ and ‘The Wire’. He has appeared in numerous film roles, including that of Nelson Mandela in Mandela: The Long Walk to Freedom. He has won several awards including a Golden Globe for his portrayal of Detective John Luther in the British crime series ‘Luther’. Yardie is his debut feature film as a director.

Filmography

2013 Playhouse Presents; Episode “The Pavement Psychologist” 2018 Yardie

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Warp Films

World sales

StudioCanal
www.studiocanal.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama Special

Yardie

Robin Gutch (Prduzent), Gina Carter (Produzentin), Idris Elba (Regisseur, Ausführender Produzent)

Moderation: Jenni Zylka

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Als Junge hat D in Jamaica mit ansehen müssen, wie sein Bruder, als er mithilfe eines bombastischen Dancehall-Soundsystems Frieden zwischen verfeindeten Gangs stiften wollte, erschossen wurde. 1983, zehn Jahre später, arbeitet D als Drogenkurier und -verkäufer in London, wo auch seine Freundin Yvonne und das gemeinsame Kind leben. Noch immer sinnt er auf Rache und nimmt die Spur des Mörders auf.
Jamaikanische Immigranten prägten das Straßenbild und die Stimmung in London über Jahrzehnte mit; in der Musikszene waren sie in den Achtzigern tonangebend. Das Regiedebüt des vielseitigen britischen Schauspielers Idris Elba, eine Adaption des erfolgreichen Romans von Victor Headley, lässt diese Atmosphäre wieder auferstehen. Die jamaikanisch-kreolische Sprache Patois, Dancehall- und Reggae-Klänge bilden dabei den Soundtrack zu einer epischen Rachegeschichte in einer um ihre Rechte kämpfenden Community, deren Gewaltbereitschaft ebenso wächst wie die Verzweiflung des Protagonisten.

von
Idris Elba

Großbritannien 2018

Englisch

101 Min · Farbe

Mit

Aml Ameen (D)
Shantol Jackson (Yvonne)
Stephen Graham (Rico)
Fraser James (Piper)
Sheldon Shepherd (King Fox)
Everaldo Creary (Jerry Dread)

Stab

Regie
Idris Elba
Buch
Brock Norman Brock, Martin Stellman, nach dem gleichnamigen Roman von Victor Headley
Kamera
John Conroy
Schnitt
Justine Wright
Musik
Dickon Hinchliffe
Production Design
Damien Creagh
Kostüm
James Keast
Maske
Jojo Williams
Casting
Shaheen Baig
Regieassistenz
Cordelia Hardy
Herstellungsleitung
Alice Dawson
Ausführende Produzenten
Danny Perkins, Dan MacRae, Joe Oppenheimer, Mary Burke, Ben Roberts, Hugo Heppell, Mark Herbert, Idris Elba
Produzenten
Gina Carter, Robin Gutch

Biografie

Idris Elba

Der britische Regisseur, Produzent und Schauspieler startete seine Karriere als Fernsehdarsteller. Er spielte unter anderem in den US-amerikanischen Serien „Law & Order“ und „The Wire“ mit und übernahm mehrere Filmrollen; so war er als Nelson Mandela im Kinofilm Mandela: The Long Walk to Freedom zu sehen. Für seine Darstellung des Detective John Luther in der britischen Krimiserie „Luther“ wurde er unter anderem mit einem Golden Globe ausgezeichnet. Yardie ist sein Spielfilmdebüt als Regisseur.

Filmografie

2013 Playhouse Presents; Episode „The Pavement Psychologist“ 2018 Yardie

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Warp Films

Weltvertrieb

StudioCanal
www.studiocanal.com