Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum

Syn

The Son

## ## ## ## ##

In 2013, Dima Ilukhin, the cousin of the film’s director and a soldier in the Russian army, died on duty in the Republic of Dagestan in the North Caucasus. He was 21 years old.
This incident marks the starting point for Abaturov’s reflection on the military. He films the training of new recruits in Siberia, as they bid farewell to their mothers and girlfriends, learn the mechanics of a Kalashnikov, or how to throw a hand grenade and administer first aid.
While his parents try to cope with their loss, Dima’s former fellow recruits have to return to battle. They too have first-hand experience of the losses caused by war. Some of them dream of their dead friend.
For their part, those hoping for new places are still trying to prove their mettle. The toughest among them try to get into the Spetsnaz, the Russian military’s special forces. Ultimately, only 34 out of 112 applicants win the right to wear the iconic red beret, after a series of gruelling tests. As they and their comrades are swallowed up by the huge belly of the aircraft supposed to transport them to the front, it’s only then that you see apprehension flash across their faces.

by
Alexander Abaturov

France / Russian Federation 2018

Russian

Documentary form
71’ · Colour

World premiere

Crew

Written and directed by
Alexander Abaturov
Director of Photography
Artiom Petrov
Editing
Luc Forveille
Sound
Alexander Kalachnikov
Producers
Rebecca Houzel, Petit à Petit Production, Marina Silvanovich, Studio IDA, Boris Carré, Siberiade

Biography

Alexander Abaturov

Born in 1984 in Novosibirsk, former Soviet Union, now Russia. After studying Communications, he became a journalist. In 2010, he earned a master’s degree from L’École documentaire in Lussas, France. Syn is his first feature-length documentary film.

Filmography

2013 Sleeping Souls; 53 min. 2018 Syn (The Son)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Petit à Petit Production
petitapetitproduction.com

Studio IDA

Siberiade

World sales

Andana Films
www.andanafilms.com/

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Syn

The Son

## ## ## ## ##

2013 starb Dima Ilukhin, Cousin des Regisseurs und Soldat der russischen Armee, im Einsatz in der nordkaukasischen Republik Dagestan. Er war 21 Jahre alt.
Das Ereignis markiert den Ausgangspunkt für Abaturovs Reflexion über das Militär. In Sibirien begleitet er die Ausbildung neuer Rekruten: Man verabschiedet sich von Müttern und Freundinnen, lernt die Funktionen einer Kalaschnikow, übt das Granatenwerfen und Erste Hilfe.
Während Dimas Eltern versuchen, die Leere zu überwinden, müssen seine ehemaligen Kameraden weiter ins Gefecht ziehen. Auch sie haben erlebt, dass der Krieg Verluste bringt. Manche träumen von dem toten Freund.
Die Anwärter auf neue Plätze hingegen sind noch dabei, sich ihre Stärke zu beweisen. Die Härtesten bewerben sich um Aufnahme in die "Speznas", die Spezialeinheiten des russischen Militärs. Von 112 Rekruten, die sich der brutalen Prüfung stellen, erhalten 34 schließlich das Recht, die ikonische rote Mütze zu tragen. Wenn sie und ihre Kameraden am Ende von einem riesigen Flugzeugbauch geschluckt werden, der sie an die Front bringen soll, dann erst sieht man, ganz kurz nur, die Besorgnis in ihren Gesichtern aufblitzen.

von
Alexander Abaturov

Frankreich / Russische Föderation 2018

Russisch

Dokumentarische Form
71’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Stab

Regie, Buch
Alexander Abaturov
Kamera
Artiom Petrov
Montage
Luc Forveille
Ton
Alexander Kalachnikov
Produzentinnen und Produzenten
Rebecca Houzel, Petit à Petit Production, Marina Silvanovich, Studio IDA, Boris Carré, Siberiade

Biografie

Alexander Abaturov

Geboren 1984 in Novosibirsk, ehemalige Sowjetunion, heute Russland. Nach einem Studium der Kommunikationswissenschaft war er zunächst als Journalist tätig. 2010 schloss er ein Filmstudium an der L’École documentaire im französischen Lussas ab. Syn ist sein erster abendfüllender Dokumentarfilm.

Filmografie

2013 Sleeping Souls; 53 Min. 2018 Syn (The Son)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Petit à Petit Production
petitapetitproduction.com

Studio IDA

Siberiade

Weltvertrieb

Andana Films
www.andanafilms.com/