Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Generation 14plus

Unicórnio

Unicorn

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

‘I don’t know what it was, Dad. I think it was the light that came through the window and lit up her face. Mom! Why do you look so beautiful?’

In an exhilarating, immersive flood of images, this mysterious drama portrays the coming of age of 13-year-old Maria, who lives in a remote rural home alone with her mother. When a young man moves into the neighbourhood with his goat herd, her life is suddenly turned upside down. As secret wishes and fears stir within Maria, she anxiously realizes that her mother seems to have gained a fresh lease on life. Maria confides only in her father, whom she visits in a somewhat surreal sanatorium. Why is he there? And why does he say that God is evil? Maria decides to take a drastic step. With its captivating visual opulence and the fairytale-like poetry of its narrative style, the film creates a space which inspires imagination and self-reflection.

by
Eduardo Nunes

Brazil 2017

Portuguese

123 min · Colour

With

Bárbara Luz (Maria)
Patrícia Pillar (Mother)
Zé Carlos Machado (Father)
Lee Taylor (Man)

Crew

Written and directed by
Eduardo Nunes, based on the novel by Hilda Hilst
Director of Photography
Mauro Pinheiro Jr.
Editor
Flávio Zettel
Music
Zé Nogueira
Sound Design
Bernardo Adeodato
Sound
Roberto Oliveira
Production Design
André Weller
Costumes
Luciana Buarque
Make-up
Adriano Manques
Assistant Director
Ana Izabel Aguiar
Production Management
Fernanda Reznik, Luciana Motta
Executive Producers
Fernanda Reznik, Izabella Faya
Producers
Izabella Faya, Fernanda Reznik
Co-producer
Andre Saddy
Co-production
Canal Brasil, Rio de Janeiro

Biography

Eduardo Nunes

Born in Niterói, Brazil in 1969, he studied at the film school of the Universidade Federal Fluminense in Rio de Janeiro and made his first short film Sopro (Breath) in 1994. He went on to direct four more shorts which together won over 30 awards at international festivals. In 2012 he was invited to be an artist in residence in London where he made a film installation inspired by the Hungarian writer Sándor Márai. His feature film debut Sudoeste premiered at the International Film Festival Rotterdam, screened in 27 countries and won a total of 23 awards.

Filmography

1994 Sopro (Breath); short film 1995 Terral (Land Wind); short film 1996 A infância da mulher barbada (The Childhood of the Barded Woman); short film 2000 Tropel; short film 2001 Reminiscência (Reminiscence); short film 2012 Sudoeste (Southwest) · Portraits of London; video installation 2017 Unicórnio (Unicorn)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

3 Tabela Filmes e Produções Artísticas
www.3tabelafilmes.com

World sales

FiGa/Br

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Generation 14plus

Unicórnio

Unicorn

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

„Ich weiß nicht, was es war, Papa. Ich denke, es war das Licht, das durch das Fenster kam und ihr Gesicht erhellte. Mama! Warum siehst du so schön aus?“

In berauschend immersiven Bildern zeichnet das rätselhafte Drama die Coming-of-Age-Geschichte der 13-jährigen Maria, die allein mit ihrer Mutter in ländlicher Abgeschiedenheit lebt. Als ein junger Mann mit seiner Ziegenherde in die Nachbarschaft zieht, gerät ihr Leben aus dem Gleichgewicht. Während in Maria verborgene Wünsche und Ängste aufkeimen, beobachtet sie besorgt, wie ihre Mutter aufblüht. Ihre Gedanken teilt Maria nur mit ihrem Vater, den sie in einer irreal anmutenden Heilanstalt besucht. Wieso ist er dort? Und warum behauptet er, dass Gott böse sei? Maria entschließt sich zu etwas Unbegreiflichem. Zwischen betörender, visueller Opulenz und der märchenhaften Poesie seiner Erzählung schafft der Film einen Raum, der Fantasie und Reflexion zugleich nährt.

von
Eduardo Nunes

Brasilien 2017

Portugiesisch

123 Min · Farbe

Mit

Bárbara Luz (Maria)
Patrícia Pillar (Mutter)
Zé Carlos Machado (Vater)
Lee Taylor (Mann)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Eduardo Nunes, nach dem Roman von Hilda Hilst
Kamera
Mauro Pinheiro Jr.
Schnitt
Flávio Zettel
Musik
Zé Nogueira
Tongestaltung
Bernardo Adeodato
Ton
Roberto Oliveira
Production Design
André Weller
Kostüm
Luciana Buarque
Maske
Adriano Manques
Regieassistenz
Ana Izabel Aguiar
Produktionsleitung
Fernanda Reznik, Luciana Motta
Ausführende Produzentinnen
Fernanda Reznik, Izabella Faya
Produzentinnen
Izabella Faya, Fernanda Reznik
Co-Produzent
Andre Saddy
Co-Produktion
Canal Brasil, Rio de Janeiro

Biografie

Eduardo Nunes

Geboren 1969 in Niterói, Brasilien. Er studierte an der Filmschule der Universidade Federal Fluminense in Rio de Janeiro und drehte 1994 seinen ersten Kurzfilm Sopro. Im Anschluss drehte er vier weitere Kurzfilme, die zusammen über 30 internationale Preise gewannen. 2012 wurde er als Artist in Residence nach London eingeladen, wo er eine Filminstallation schuf, zu der ihn der ungarische Schriftsteller Sándor Márai inspirierte. Sein Langfilmdebüt Sudoeste feierte auf dem internationalen Filmfest in Rotterdam Premiere, wurde in 27 Ländern gezeigt und gewann insgesamt 23 Preise.

Filmografie

1994 Sopro (Breath); Kurzfilm 1995 Terral (Land Wind); Kurzfilm 1996 A infância da mulher barbada (The Childhood of the Barded Woman); Kurzfilm 2000 Tropel; Kurzfilm 2001 Reminiscência (Reminiscence); Kurzfilm 2012 Sudoeste (Southwest) · Portraits of London; Videoinstallation 2017 Unicórnio (Unicorn)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

3 Tabela Filmes e Produções Artísticas
www.3tabelafilmes.com

Weltvertrieb

FiGa/Br