Berlinale: Programme


Forum Expanded

The Welfare of Tomás Ó Hallissy

## ## ## ##

Inspired by anthropological studies into the huge incidence of mental illness in rural Ireland in the 1960s and 1970s, The Welfare of Tomás Ó Hallissy revisits Paul Hocking and Mark McCarty’s 1968 production The Village. Seen through the eyes of two American anthropologists who arrive at Dún Chaoin, a small village in the west of Ireland, to study its dying culture, the film is a portrait of a society on the brink of irreversible change. It revolves around the protagonist, Tomás, a speechless 10-year-old boy, whose life spans the cusp of the old world and the new. Meanwhile the anthropologists question their own methodology as they struggle to get beyond the opaque and ritualistic social relations that define this place as the local community mistrusts and misconstrues their intentions.

by
Duncan Campbell

Ireland / Great Britain 2016

English

31 min · Black/White

With

John O'Sullivan
David Murray
Frank Bourke
Lesa Thurman
Luke Pierucci
Noel O'Donnovan
Calum Heath
Áine Ní Mhuirí

Crew

Written and directed by
Duncan Campbell
Director of Photography
Rina Yang
Editor
Duncan Campbell
Sound Design
Pete Smith
Sound
Alex O'Brien
Production Design
Til Frohlich
Costumes
Sarah Yeoman
Make-up
Patsy Giles
Casting
Sarah Jones
Assistant Director
Benjamin Crowe
Production Manager
Lisa Kelly
Producers
Patrick Campbell, Aoife McGonigal, Morgan Bushe

Biography

Duncan Campbell

Duncan Campbell, born in 1972 in Dublin, Ireland, is a video artist based in Glasgow. He trained at the University of Ulster and the Glasgow School of Art. His work is often based on intense archival research and questions how history bears on the present. In particular, he uses his films to explore how social, political, and personal narratives are constructed and relayed over time. His work has been awarded and showcased in solo and exhibitions at venues worldwide.

Filmography

2004 Fall Burns Malone Fiddles; 33 min. 2006 Oh Joan, No; 12 min. 2008 Bernadetta; 37 min. 2009 Make It New John; 50 min. 2011 Arbeit; 39 min., Forum Expanded 2012 2012 It For Others; 54 min. 2016 The Welfare of Tomás Ó Hallissy

Produced by

Nakba FilmWorks
London, Great Britain
+44 7 852840462

nakbafilmworks.com/

Fastnet Docs
Dublin, Ireland
+353 1 6394000

World sales

Nakba FilmWorks
London, Great Britain
+44 7 852840462

nakbafilmworks.com/

Berlinale: Programm


Forum Expanded

The Welfare of Tomás Ó Hallissy

## ## ## ##

Inspiriert von anthropologischen Studien über das hohe Vorkommen geistiger Erkrankungen im ländlichen Irland der 1960er- und 1970er-Jahre, schaut The Welfare of Tomás Ó Hallissy auf Paul Hockning und Mark McCartys Film The Village aus dem Jahr 1968 zurück. Zwei US-amerikanische Anthropolog*innen treffen in Dún Chaoin ein, einem kleinen Dorf im äußeren Westen Irlands. Sie wollen die aus ihrer Sicht im Aussterben begriffene Dorfkultur dokumentieren. Durch ihre Augen erzählt, zeichnet der Film ein Porträt einer Gesellschaft am Rande unwiderruflicher Umbrüche. Im Mittelpunkt steht Tomás, ein stummer 10-jähriger Junge, dessen Leben den Übergang von der alten zur neuen Welt umspannt. Währenddessen hinterfragen die Anthropolog*innen ihre Methoden. Einen Blick hinter die undurchsichtigen und ritualisierten sozialen Beziehungen zu erhaschen, die diesen Ort ausmachen, fällt ihnen schwer, da die Gemeinde ihnen und ihren Absichten mit großem Mistrauen gegenübersteht.

von
Duncan Campbell

Irland / Großbritannien 2016

Englisch

31 Min · Schwarz-Weiß

Mit

John O'Sullivan
David Murray
Frank Bourke
Lesa Thurman
Luke Pierucci
Noel O'Donnovan
Calum Heath
Áine Ní Mhuirí

Stab

Regie, Buch
Duncan Campbell
Kamera
Rina Yang
Schnitt
Duncan Campbell
Sound Design
Pete Smith
Ton
Alex O'Brien
Production Design
Til Frohlich
Kostüm
Sarah Yeoman
Maske
Patsy Giles
Casting
Sarah Jones
Regieassistenz
Benjamin Crowe
Production Manager
Lisa Kelly
Produzentinnen und Produzenten
Patrick Campbell, Aoife McGonigal, Morgan Bushe

Biografie

Duncan Campbell

Duncan Campbell, geboren 1972 in Dublin, Irland, ist Videokünstler und lebt und arbeitet in Glasgow. Er studierte an der University of Ulster und an der Glasgow School of Art. Seine künstlerische Praxis basiert meist auf intensiver Archivrecherche und hinterfragt wie Geschichte auf die Gegenwart einwirkt. Mit seinen Filmen arbeitet er heraus, wie soziale, politische und persönliche Erzählungen konstruiert und über Zeit weitergegeben werden. Seine preisgekrönten Arbeiten wurde in Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen weltweit gezeigt.

Filmografie

2004 Fall Burns Malone Fiddles; 33 Min. 2006 Oh Joan, No; 12 Min. 2008 Bernadetta; 37 Min. 2009 Make It New John; 50 Min. 2011 Arbeit; 39 Min., Forum Expanded 2012 2012 It For Others; 54 Min. 2016 The Welfare of Tomás Ó Hallissy

Produktion

Nakba FilmWorks
London, Großbritannien
+44 7 852840462

nakbafilmworks.com/

Fastnet Docs
Dublin, Irland
+353 1 6394000

Weltvertrieb

Nakba FilmWorks
London, Großbritannien
+44 7 852840462

nakbafilmworks.com/