Berlinale: Programme


Berlinale Shorts

Altas Cidades de Ossadas

High Cities of Bone

Hohe Städte aus Totengebein

## ## ## ##

Born in a slum on the edge of Lisbon, Karlon played a significantly influential role in Cape Verdean Creole rap. In this fictional film, he withdraws from the place that society assigned him to and disappears into the surrounding sugarcane fields. Director João Salaviza musters people together in order to try and convince Karlon to return to the settlement.
Salaviza refrains from lightening the darkness around Karlon, the protagonist is barely recognisable. He almost always occupies the lowest third of the frame, small in the background, out of focus or only shown from the rear. He doesn’t want to be seen, he wants out of this life. He threw away everything that connects him to it in order to stay entirely alone. He just doesn’t want.
Resistance against a system that does not leave room for those who do not wish to comply. Through the title of the film, taken from the book, “Cahiers d'un Retour au Pays Natal”, Salaviza incorporates Aimé Cesaire, founder of Négritude:
The movement which fights for the cultural sovereignty of the African, while conscious of the necessity of direct political action.

by
João Salaviza

Portugal 2017

Creole, Portuguese

19 min · Colour

With

Carlos Furtado Gomes (Karlon)
Xama Cabral (Xama)
Maria do Céu Magalhães (Maria)
Leonor Ferreira (Leonor)

Crew

Director
João Salaviza
Screenplay
João Salaviza, Renée Nader Messora, Carlos Furtado Gomes (Karlon)
Director of Photography
Vasco Viana
Sound Design
Rafael Cardoso
Sound Mixer
Xavier Thieulin
Producers
João Matos, Leonor Noivo, Luísa Homem, Susana Nobre, Tiago Hespanha, Pedro Pinho

Biography

João Salaviza

Born in Lisbon, Portugal in 1984, he studied at the Escola Superior de Teatro e Cinema in Lisbon and the Universidad del Cine in Buenos Aires. His short films Arena (Palme d'Or in Cannes), Cerro Negro (International Film Festival Rotterdam) and Rafa, which won the Golden Bear at the Berlinale in 2012, have screened at over 100 festivals worldwide and have won numerous prizes. In 2012 the Centre Pompidou in Paris dedicated a retrospective programme to his work. His feature film debut Mountain premiered in the International Critics' Week at the Venice Film Festival.

Filmography

2009 Arena; short film 2011 Strokkur; short Film 2012 Cerro Negro; short film · Rafa; Berlinale Shorts 2015 Montanha (Mountain) 2017 Altas Cidades de Ossadas (High Cities of Bone)

Produced by

Terratreme Filmes
Lissabon, Portugal
+351 21 2415754

www.terratreme.pt

World sales

Agência - Portuguese Short Film Agency
Vila do Conde, Portugal
+35 125 2646683

www.curtas.pt/agencia

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Shorts

Altas Cidades de Ossadas

High Cities of Bone

Hohe Städte aus Totengebein

## ## ## ##

Karlon, geboren in einem Slum in der Peripherie von Lissabon, hat den kapverdisch-kreolischen Rap maßgeblich mitgeprägt. In dem fiktionalen Film zieht er sich von dem ihm von der Gesellschaft zugewiesenem Platz zurück und verschwindet in den Zuckerrohrfeldern der Umgebung. Regisseur João Salaviza lässt Menschen antreten, die versuchen, Karlon von einer Rückkehr in die Siedlung zu überzeugen.
Das Karlon umgebende Dunkel hellt Salaviza nicht auf, kaum erkennt man den Protagonisten. Fast immer befindet er sich im unteren Drittel der Kadrage, klein im Hintergrund, in der Unschärfe oder wird nur von hinten gezeigt. Er will nicht gesehen werden, raus aus diesem Leben. Er hat alles weggeworfen, was ihn damit verbindet, um ganz allein zu bleiben. Er will einfach nicht.
Widerstand gegen ein System, das keine Luft lässt für die, die nicht wollen. Mit dem Titel des Films, der aus dem Buch „Cahiers d'un Retour au Pays Natal“ stammt, bezieht Salaviza den Begründer der Négritude, Aimé Cesaire, mit ein. Die Bewegung tritt für die kulturelle Souveränität der Afrikaner ein, mit dem Wissen um die Notwendigkeit direkter politischer Aktion.

von
João Salaviza

Portugal 2017

Kreolisch, Portugiesisch

19 Min · Farbe

Mit

Carlos Furtado Gomes (Karlon)
Xama Cabral (Xama)
Maria do Céu Magalhães (Maria)
Leonor Ferreira (Leonor)

Stab

Regie
João Salaviza
Buch
João Salaviza, Renée Nader Messora, Carlos Furtado Gomes (Karlon)
Kamera
Vasco Viana
Sound Design
Rafael Cardoso
Mischung
Xavier Thieulin
Produzenten
João Matos, Leonor Noivo, Luísa Homem, Susana Nobre, Tiago Hespanha, Pedro Pinho

Biografie

João Salaviza

Geboren 1984 in Lissabon. Er studierte an der Escola Superior de Teatro e Cinema in Lissabon und an der Universidad del Cine in Buenos Aires. Seine Kurzfilme Arena (Palme d'Or in Cannes), Cerro Negro (International Film Festival Rotterdam) und Rafa, 2012 mit dem Goldenen Bären der Berlinale ausgezeichnet, wurden auf über hundert Festivals weltweit gezeigt und mehrfach preisgekrönt. Sein Spielfilmdebüt Montanha feierte 2015 auf der Internationalen Kritikerwoche der Filmfestspiele von Venedig Premiere, 2017 folgte mit Atlas Cidades de Ossadas ein weiterer Besuch bei den Berlinale Shorts.

Filmografie

2009 Arena; Kurzfilm 2011 Strokkur; Kurzfilm 2012 Cerro Negro; Kurzfilm · Rafa; Berlinale Shorts 2015 Montanha (Mountain) 2017 Altas Cidades de Ossadas (High Cities of Bone); Berlinale Shorts 2018 Russa

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Terratreme Filmes
www.terratreme.pt

Weltvertrieb

Agência - Portuguese Short Film Agency
www.curtas.pt/agencia