Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Forum Expanded

Pana Ha'Geshem

The Rain is Gone

## ##

Holot is a detention center in the Israeli desert near the Egyptian border. It houses asylum-seekers from Eritrea and Sudan who can’t be sent back to their own countries, but who have no prospects in Israel either thanks to the country’s policies. Theater director Chen Alon and filmmaker Avi Mograbi decide to initiate a theater workshop with these people in the most precarious of situations.
The structured-improvisatory composition Pana Ha'Geshem was devised by Noam Enbar and performed in collaboration with the workshop participants. It takes a popular Israeli agricultural song, associated with the kibbutz movement, turning it into an expressive polyphonic chant.
The single-channel video installation was created in the framework of the documentary film Between Fences (2016) by Avi Mograbi & Chen Alon, which was presented in the Berlinale Forum in 2016.

Noam Enbar

Israel / France 2016


17 min · Colour · 1-Kanal-Videoinstallation


Awet Asheber
Dawit Tsegai
Nouraldin Musa
Liat Boltsman
Liat Shabtai
Goytom Brahne
Yonatan Yohanns Estifanos
Ybrah Menan
Liat Shabtai
Shaharit Yerushalmi


Noam Enbar
Director of Photography
Philippe Bellaiche
Noam Enbar
Noam Enbar
Tully Chen
Avi Mograbi, Serge Lalou


Noam Enbar

Noam Enbar, born in 1978 in Tel-Aviv, Israel, is a singer, composer, and performer. He is the founder of the radical post-rock band Habiluim and the klezmer-anarcho-punk ensemble Oy Division. He has written music for a number of films, theater, and dance pieces. In 2015, he founded his own ensemble, The Great Gehenna Choir, which performs his original music. Since 2012, Enbar teaches composition and choir classes at the Musrara School of Art, Jerusalem.


2016 Pana Ha'Geshem (The Rain is Gone)

Produced by

Les Films d'Ici
Paris, France
+33 1 44522323

World sales

Les Films d'Ici
Paris, France
+33 1 44522323

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Pana Ha'Geshem

The Rain is Gone

## ##

Holot ist ein Internierungslager in der israelischen Wüste nahe der ägyptischen Grenze. Dorthin werden Asylsuchende aus Eritrea und dem Sudan gebracht, die nicht in ihre Heimatländer abgeschoben werden können, denen die israelische Politik aber jegliche Perspektive in Israel verwehrt. Theaterregisseur Chen Alon und Filmemacher Avi Mograbi beschließen, mit diesen in prekärsten Umständen lebenden Menschen einen Theaterworkshop zu initiieren.
Noam Enbar entwickelte die strukturiert-improvisierte Komposition Pana Ha'Geshem, die unter Mitwirkung der Teilnehmer*innen performt wurde. Die Komposition basiert auf einem berühmten, mit der Kibbuzbewegung assoziierten, israelischen Bauernlied, das in einen expressiven polyphonen Gesang umgewandelt wurde.
Die 1-Kanal-Videoinstallation entstand im Zusammenhang mit dem Dokumentarfilm Between Fences (2016) von Avi Mograbi und Chen Alon, der 2016 im Berlinale Forum präsentiert wurde.

von
Noam Enbar

Israel / Frankreich 2016

Hebräisch

17 Min · Farbe · 1-Kanal-Videoinstallation

Mit

Awet Asheber
Dawit Tsegai
Nouraldin Musa
Liat Boltsman
Liat Shabtai
Goytom Brahne
Yonatan Yohanns Estifanos
Ybrah Menan
Liat Shabtai
Shaharit Yerushalmi

Stab

Regie
Noam Enbar
Kamera
Philippe Bellaiche
Schnitt
Noam Enbar
Musik
Noam Enbar
Ton
Tully Chen
Produzenten
Avi Mograbi, Serge Lalou

Biografie

Noam Enbar

Noam Enbar, geboren 1978 in Tel-Aviv, Israel, ist ein Sänger, Komponist und Performer. Er gründete die radikale Post-Rock Band Habiluim und das Klezmer-Anarcho-Punk Ensemble Oy Division. Er komponiert Musik für Filme, Theater und Tanzstücke. 2015 gründete er sein eigenes Ensemble, The Great Gehenna Choir, das seine Kompositionen spielt. Seit 2012 unterrichtet er Komposition und Chor an der Musrara School of Art, Jerusalem.

Filmografie

2016 Pana Ha'Geshem (The Rain is Gone)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2017

Produktion

Les Films d'Ici
www.lesfilmsdici.fr

Weltvertrieb

Les Films d'Ici
www.lesfilmsdici.fr