Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama Dokumente

Política, manual de instrucciones

Politics, instructions manual

## ## ## ## ##

In Spain in 2011 a citizens’ movement known as Movimiento 15M (15 May Movement) was founded as a reaction to the banking crisis and in protest against unbridled neoliberalism. In 2014, this movement gave birth to the Podemos party which soon after in 2015 entered parliament as the third strongest party in the country. Fernando León de Aranoa enjoyed unrestricted access to party leaders Pablo Iglesias, Íñigo Errejón and their fellow campaigners as he followed on camera the party’s journey to become a new force in Spain’s traditional two-party system. Aranoa has distilled 500 hours of material into a film that provides incisive insights into the party’s internal crises and their efforts to put an end to an ossified Left-Right dichotomy and promote transparency with regard to declining poll ratings and accusations of corruption and populism. The resulting film is an impressively honest instruction manual describing the strategies and the media that were used to mobilise a whole new electorate within the space of just one year. The documentary also shows how it was possible to galvanise the momentum of street protests to pursue more contemporary means of political participation.

by
Fernando León de Aranoa

Spain 2016

Spanish, English

Documentary form
120 min · Colour

Crew

Written and directed by
Fernando León de Aranoa
Director of Photography
Jorge Abusada
Editor
Yago Muñiz
Music
Antonio Sánchez
Sound Design
Daniel de Zayas
Producers
Jaume Roures, Fernando León de Aranoa
Executive Producers
Javier Méndez, Patricia De Muns

Biography

Fernando León de Aranoa

Born in Madrid, Spain in 1968, he worked for many years as a screenwriter before making his directorial debut with Familia (Family) which screened in the 1997 Panorama and won the Spanish Film Academy Award Goya. His films have successfully screened at international festivals including Cannes and Toronto and have won numerous awards. He is also an artist and illustrator, writes short stories and lectures at various film schools. In 2004 he founded his own production company Reposado. He last took part in the Berlinale in 2011 with Amador (Panorama).

Filmography

1996 Familia (Family); IFB Panorama 1998 Barrio (Neighborhood) 2001 Caminantes; documentary 2002 Los Lunes Al Sol (Mondays In The Sun) 2005 Princesas (Princess) 2007 Invisibles; documentary, director of the segement “Buenas Noches Ouma” 2010 Amador; IFB Panorama 2015 Un Día Perfecto (A Perfect Day) 2016 Política, manual de instrucciones (Politics, instructions manual)

Produced by

Mediaproduccion
Barcelona, Spain
+34 91 5127830

World sales

Cinetic Media
New York, USA
+1 212 2047979

www.cineticmedia.com

Berlinale: Programm


Panorama Dokumente

Política, manual de instrucciones

Politics, instructions manual

## ## ## ## ##

Als Reaktion auf die Bankenkrise und Protest gegen den ungezügelten Neoliberalismus formierte sich 2011 in Spanien die Bürgerbewegung Movimiento 15M (Bewegung 15. Mai), aus der im Frühjahr 2014 die Partei Podemos hervorging, die bereits 2015 als drittstärkste Kraft ins Parlament einziehen konnte. Fernando León de Aranoa, als Spielfilmregisseur bereits mehrfach zu Gast im Panorama, begleitete den Weg der Partei als einer neuen Kraft in Spaniens traditionellem Zweiparteiensystem – bei uneingeschränktem Zugang zu den Anführern der Bewegung Pablo Iglesias, Íñigo Errejón und ihren Mitstreiter*innen. 500 Stunden Filmmaterial verdichtet Aranoa zu genauen Einblicken in interne Krisen, die Bemühungen um Auflösung einer erstarrten Links-Rechts-Dichotomie und den offenen Umgang mit sinkenden Umfragewerten, Korruptions- und Populismusvorwürfen. Einer Gebrauchsanweisung ähnlich zeigt der Film auf beeindruckend gradlinige Art, mit welchen Strategien und medialen Mitteln innerhalb von nur einem Jahr eine neue Wählerschaft mobilisiert und die Kraft der Straße dazu genutzt werden konnte, zeitgemäßere Wege der politischen Mitbestimmung zu gestalten.

von
Fernando León de Aranoa

Spanien 2016

Spanisch, Englisch

Dokumentarische Form
120 Min · Farbe

Stab

Regie, Buch
Fernando León de Aranoa
Kamera
Jorge Abusada
Schnitt
Yago Muñiz
Musik
Antonio Sánchez
Sound Design
Daniel de Zayas
Produzenten
Jaume Roures, Fernando León de Aranoa
Ausführende Produzenten
Javier Méndez, Patricia De Muns

Biografie

Fernando León de Aranoa

Geboren 1968 in Madrid. Er arbeitete viele Jahre als Drehbuchautor und legte dann mit Familia sein Regiedebüt vor, das 1997 im Panorama gezeigt wurde und für das er mit dem spanischen Filmpreis Goya ausgezeichnet wurde. Seine Filme liefen erfolgreich auf internationalen Festivals, unter anderem in Cannes und Toronto, und wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Aronoa ist auch Maler und Illustrator, er schreibt Kurzgeschichten und Erzählungen und unterrichtet an verschiedenen Filmschulen. 2004 gründete er seine eigenen Produktionsfirma Reposado. Zuletzt war er 2011 mit Amador zu Gast im Panorama.

Filmografie

1996 Familia (Family); IFB Panorama 1998 Barrio (Neighborhood) 2001 Caminantes; Dokumentarfilm 2002 Los Lunes Al Sol (Mondays In The Sun) 2005 Princesas (Princess) 2007 Invisibles; Dokumentarfilm, Regie des Segments „Buenas Noches Ouma“ 2010 Amador; IFB Panorama 2015 Un Día Perfecto (A Perfect Day) 2016 Política, manual de instrucciones (Politics, instructions manual)

Produktion

Mediaproduccion
Barcelona, Spanien
+34 91 5127830

Weltvertrieb

Cinetic Media
New York, USA
+1 212 2047979

www.cineticmedia.com