Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama Dokumente

Tahqiq fel djenna

Investigating Paradise

## ## ## ## ## ##

Young Algerian journalist Nedjma is investigating Islamic accounts of paradise. She is particularly interested in the descriptions used by Salafi preachers to recruit young Algerian men as jihadists. She and her colleague Mustapha find a number of disturbing, richly embellished video sermons and decide to explore the phenomenon in more detail. Travelling through the country, she has conversations with numerous people including astute intellectuals, naïve young men, enlightened religious scholars and political activists. It becomes clear that globalisation has contributed to what has now become an unbridled market for religion. Paradise has become a desirable commodity, expensively promoted by Wahhabis who are engaged in a struggle to impose theirs as the correct reading of the Koran, namely: sex and drugs are forbidden on earth but in heaven there are women and there is wine. Interweaving dramatised black-and-white scenes with documentary interviews, Merzak Allouache, a French director with an Algerian background, creates a multi-layered analysis of the dangers that emanate from Salafism and Salafi interpretations of the Koran.

by
Merzak Allouache

France / Algeria 2017

Arabic, French

Documentary form
135 min · Black/White

Crew

Director
Merzak Allouache
Screenplay
Merzak Allouache, Bahia Allouache
Director of Photography
Hocine Hadj Ali
Editor
Bahia Allouache
Music
Yahia Bouchaala
Sound
Amine Teggar
Assistant Director
Amine Kabbès
Producers
Bahia Allouache, Merzak Allouache

Biography

Merzak Allouache

Born in Algeria in 1944, he is a director and screenwriter who studied at the Institut National du Cinéma in Algiers and then at L'Institut des hautes études cinématographiques (IDHEC) in Paris. Since his debut film Omar Gatlato he has been directing films in both France and Algeria. His work has screened at numerous international festivals.

Filmography (selection)

1976 Omar Gatlato 1978 Moughamarat Batal 1983 L'Homme Qui Regardait les Fenêtres 1986 Un Amour à Paris 1993 Bab El Oued City 1995 Salut Cousin! 2000 L’autre Monde 2003 Chouchou 2005 Bab El Web 2009 Harragas 2010 Tata Bakhta; TV movie 2012 El-Taïb (The Repentant) 2013 Esstouh (The Rooftops) 2015 Madame Courage 2017 Tahqiq Fel Djenna (Investigating Paradise)

Produced by

Les. Asphofilms.
Paris, France
+33 6 25301443

Baya Films
Algier, Algeria
+213 557 532494

World sales

Les. Asphofilms.
Paris, France
+33 6 25301443

Berlinale: Programm


Panorama Dokumente

Tahqiq fel djenna

Investigating Paradise

## ## ## ## ## ##

Die junge algerische Journalistin Nedjma stellt Recherchen zum Bild vom Paradies im Islam an. Besonders interessiert sie sich für die plastischen Schilderungen des Paradieses, das salafistische Prediger entwerfen, um junge Männer in Algerien für den Dschihad anzuwerben. Zusammen mit ihrem Kollegen Mustapha findet sie verstörend blumig ausgeschmückte Videopredigten und entscheidet sich, das Phänomen genauer zu untersuchen. Sie reist durchs Land und führt Gespräche mit einer Vielzahl von Menschen, darunter scharfsinnige Intellektuelle, naive junge Männer, aufgeklärte religiöse Gelehrte und politische Aktivist*innen. Es wird deutlich, dass die Globalisierung zur Entwicklung eines entfesselten Marktes der Religionen beigetragen hat. Das Paradies wird zum begehrten Konsumprodukt, mit viel Geld beworben von Wahhabiten in einem Machtkampf um die Deutungshoheit über den Koran: Auf Erden sind Sex und Drogen verboten, aber im Himmel gibt es Frauen und Wein. Regisseur Merzak Allouache, selbst Algerier, verknüpft inszenierte Szenen in Schwarz-Weiß mit dokumentarischen Interviews. So entsteht eine vielschichtige Analyse der Gefahren, die vom Salafismus und seinem Koranverständnis ausgehen.

von
Merzak Allouache

Frankreich / Algerien 2017

Arabisch, Französisch

Dokumentarische Form
135 Min · Schwarz-Weiß

Stab

Regie
Merzak Allouache
Buch
Merzak Allouache, Bahia Allouache
Kamera
Hocine Hadj Ali
Schnitt
Bahia Allouache
Musik
Yahia Bouchaala
Ton
Amine Teggar
Regieassistenz
Amine Kabbès
Produzenten
Bahia Allouache, Merzak Allouache

Biografie

Merzak Allouache

Geboren 1944 in Algerien. Der Regisseur und Drehbuchautor studierte am Institut National du Cinéma in Algier und an der Filmhochschule IDHEC in Paris. Seit seinem Debütfilm Omar Gatlato bewegt er sich mit seinen filmischen Arbeiten zwischen Frankreich und Algerien. Seine Filme wurden auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals präsentiert.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1976 Omar Gatlato 1978 Moughamarat Batal 1983 L'Homme Qui Regardait les Fenêtres 1986 Un Amour à Paris 1993 Bab El Oued City 1995 Salut Cousin! 2000 L’autre Monde 2003 Chouchou 2005 Bab El Web 2009 Harragas 2010 Tata Bakhta; TV Film 2012 El-Taïb (The Repentant) 2013 Esstouh (The Rooftops) 2015 Madame Courage 2017 Tahqiq Fel Djenna (Investigating Paradise)

Produktion

Les. Asphofilms.
Paris, Frankreich
+33 6 25301443

Baya Films
Algier, Algerien
+213 557 532494

Weltvertrieb

Les. Asphofilms.
Paris, Frankreich
+33 6 25301443