Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

Awards

Feb 13, 2015:
Berlinale 2015: Crystal Bears and the Awards by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education) in Generation 14plus

Flocken, Prins, A Confession, Nelly

The members of the Youth Jury in Generation 14plus

Leila Albrecht
Jan Hendrik Blanke
Alina Neichel
Maya Viola Oppitz
Lotta Schwerk
David Siegmund-Schultze
Fabian Volkers

give the following awards:

Crystal Bear for the Best Film: Flocken (Flocking)
by Beata Gårdeler, Sweden 2015
The film which struck us the most was one which succeeds in continuously maintaining its oppressive atmosphere. This film gives us a precise and intense experience of the mechanisms of progressive social exclusion, triggered by an accusation. It excels in its portrayal of the role of social networks, where anonymity can lead to the unchecked build-up of aggression. A great cast, gripping dialog and unexpected developments combine to create an extraordinary work.

Special Mention: Prins (Prince)
by Sam de Jong, Netherlands 2015
We would like to take this opportunity to highlight a film with a perky, dynamic and colourful appearance. Aesthetically composed images lead us into the world of a protagonist who is torn between his desire for appreciation and his determination to do the right thing. The self-ironic treatment of stereotypes, the creative cinematography and the stirring soundtrack all grant this movie its cult appeal.

Crystal Bear for the Best Short Film: A Confession
by Petros Silvestros, Great Britain 2015
With clear, monumental images the winning short film stresses the relationship between authoritarian sway and helplessness, erupting into violence. Within a limited amount of shots the film develops an extraordinary tension and intensity. Years of silence and suppression ultimately culminate in a nightmare scenario, which left us stunned and shocked at the same time.

Special Mention Short Film: Nelly
by Chris Raiber, Austria 2014
Loss, transition, the hereafter: With its compelling imagery this short film draws, in a poetic and surreal way, the state between life and death. Although we were directly captured by the puzzling composition of images, in the end it was the smart turn, which makes the film so extraordinary and left us captivated long after the screening.

The Diary of a Teenage Girl, Nena, Coach, Tuolla puolen

The members of the International Jury Generation 14plus

Sophie Hyde
Alix Madigan-Yorkin
Marten Rabarts

give the following awards:

The Grand Prix of the Generation 14plus International Jury for the best feature-length film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education): The Diary of a Teenage Girl
by Marielle Heller, USA 2014
With its vibrant cinematic language, including flawless production design, this film reveals an authentic and unique woman discovering her own artistic voice and power, remarkably portrayed by a stunning newcomer. For the superlative characters brought to life by a brilliant ensemble and their director, as well as the uncompromising rejection of conventional morality in favor of human complexity the Grand Prix for the best feature goes to The Diary of a Teenage Girl by Marielle Heller.

Special Mention: Nena
by Saskia Diesing, Netherlands / Germany 2014
In this film, the evocation of specific period and place comments powerfully on the controversial issue of assisted death, reminding us of who finally bears responsibility if the law does not. With its dark ironic tone and compelling performance of a self-determining central character who traverses a difficult personal terrain to not only understand but embrace a painful choice.

Special Prize of the Generation 14plus International Jury for the best short film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education): Coach
by Ben Adler, France 2014
For its tonal mastery in portraying the casual brutality of male relationships, a nuanced script and pitch perfect performances, culminating powerfully in a moment of insight for its teenage protagonist, the jury awards a film which surprised and captivated us.

Special Mention: Tuolla puolen (Reunion)
by Iddo Soskolne and Janne Reinikainen, Finland 2015
Using ambiguity and cheeky humor to deal with grief, the international jury applauds the visual dexterity and light touch of this film. For its originality and craft, as well as its loving portrayal of sibling reconciliation the special mention goes to: Tuolla puolen.

Award ceremony and screening of the winning film tonight at 7.30 p.m. at Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Cinema 1.


Press Office
February 13, 2015

Download Press Release, PDF (159 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

Preise und Ehrungen

13.02.2015:
Berlinale 2015: Gläserne Bären und Preise der Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung bei Generation 14plus

Flocken, Prins, A Confession, Nelly

Die Mitglieder der Generation 14plus Jugendjury

Leila Albrecht
Jan Hendrik Blanke
Alina Neichel
Maya Viola Oppitz
Lotta Schwerk
David Siegmund-Schultze
Fabian Volkers

vergeben die folgenden Preise:

Gläserner Bär für den Besten Film: Flocken (Flocking)
von Beata Gårdeler, Schweden 2015
Am tiefsten beeindruckt hat uns ein Film, der seine bedrückende Spannung durchgängig hält. Eine Beschuldigung setzt eine voranschreitende Ausgrenzung in Gang, deren Mechanismen der Film präzise und intensiv erfahrbar macht. Überzeugend stellt er dabei die Rolle der Social Networks dar, in denen die Anonymität zu einem ungehemmten Aufbau von Aggressionen führt. Die unerwartete Entwicklung der Geschichte, fesselnde Dialoge und das großartige Schauspielensemble schaffen ein grandioses Gesamtwerk.

Lobende Erwähnung: Prins (Prince)
von Sam de Jong, Niederlande 2015
Hervorheben möchten wir einen Beitrag, der frech, dynamisch und voller Farben daherkommt. In ästhetisch komponierten Bildern führt er uns in die Welt eines Protagonisten, der hin- und hergerissen ist zwischen dem Wunsch nach Anerkennung und dem Willen, das Richtige zu tun. Der selbstironische Umgang mit Stereotypen, die kreative Kameraführung und die mitreißende Musik verleihen dem Film Kultcharakter.

Gläserner Bär für den Besten Kurzfilm: A Confession
von Petros Silvestros, Großbritannien 2015
Durch klare, monumentale Bilder erzeugt der Siegerfilm ein Spannungsverhältnis zwischen autoritärer Macht und sich in Gewalt entladender Ohnmacht. Mit wenigen Motiven schafft es der Film, eine enorme Spannung und Brisanz aufzubauen. Jahrelanges Schweigen, Verdrängen und Unterdrücken gipfeln schließlich in einem Schreckensszenario, das uns gefesselt und schockiert zurückließ.

Lobende Erwähnung: Nelly
von Chris Raiber, Österreich 2014
Verlust, Übergang, Jenseits: Mit seiner fesselnden Symbolik zeichnet dieser Kurzfilm auf poetische und surreale Weise einen Zustand zwischen Leben und Tod. Obgleich uns die rätselhafte Komposition der Bilder sofort in ihren Bann zog, war es vor allem die raffinierte Wendung, die den Film so außergewöhnlich macht und uns noch lange beschäftigte.

The Diary of a Teenage Girl, Nena, Coach, Tuolla puolen

Die Mitglieder der Internationalen Jury Generation 14plus

Sophie Hyde
Alix Madigan-Yorkin
Marten Rabarts

vergeben die folgenden Preise:

Großer Preis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus für den besten Langfilm, im Wert von € 7.500, gestiftet von der Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung: The Diary of a Teenage Girl
von Marielle Heller, USA 2014
Mit seiner pulsierenden Filmsprache, verbunden mit einem makellosen Produktionsdesign, portraitiert dieser bemerkenswerte Debütfilm eine authentische und einzigartige junge Frau, die ihre eigene künstlerische Stimme und Kraft entdeckt. Für die herausragenden Charaktere, die durch eine brillantes Ensemble und deren Regisseurin ins Leben gerufen wurden, sowie die kompromisslose Ablehnung von gängigen Moralvorstellungen im Lichte menschlicher Komplexität, geht der Große Preis für den besten Langfilm an The Diary of a Teenage Girl von Marielle Heller.

Lobende Erwähnung: Nena (Viel mehr geht nicht)
von Saskia Diesing, Niederlande / Deutschland 2014
Angesiedelt in einem besonderen räumlichen und zeitlichen Setting kommentiert dieser Film kraftvoll das kontroverse Thema der Sterbehilfe und macht uns klar, wer am Ende die Verantwortung trägt, wenn Recht und Gesetze nicht mehr greifen. Wegen seiner schwarz-ironischen Farbe und der fesselnden Darbietung einer selbstbestimmten Hauptdarstellerin, die schwieriges persönliches Terrain betritt und dabei nicht nur eine schmerzvolle Entscheidung zu verstehen, sondern auch zu akzeptieren lernt, geht die Lobende Erwähnung an diesen Spielfilm.

Spezialpreis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus für den besten Kurzfilm, im Wert von € 2.500, gestiftet von der Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung: Coach
von Ben Adler, Frankreich 2014
Für das klangliche Meisterwerk eines Portraits über die beiläufige Brutalität in männlichen Beziehungen. Für ein nuanciertes Drehbuch und fehlerfreie Performance, die kraftvoll in einen Augenblick der Erkenntnis seines jugendlichen Protagonisten mündet, ehrt die Internationale Jury einen Film, der sowohl überrascht als auch fesselt.

Lobende Erwähnung: Tuolla puolen (Reunion)
von Iddo Soskolne und Janne Reinikainen, Finnland 2015
Mit Doppeldeutigkeit und frechem Humor begegnet er der Trauer. Die Internationale Jury ehrt den Film für seine visuellen Finessen und dessen Leichtigkeit. Wegen seiner Originalität und Kunstfertigkeit sowie der liebevollen Darstellung einer Versöhnung zweier Geschwister, geht die Lobende Erwähnung an den Kurzfilm Tuolla puolen (Reunion) von Iddo Soskolne und Janne Reinikainen.

Preisverleihung und Vorführung des Preisträgerfilms heute um 19:30 Uhr im Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Kino 1.


Presseabteilung
13. Februar 2015

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (234 KB)