Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

Additional Information

May 28, 2014:
Berlinale Mourns the Loss of Helma Sanders-Brahms

On May 27, 2014, German director, screenwriter and producer Helma Sanders-Brahms died after a long illness. She was one of the most important representatives of German post-war film. Her cinematic oeuvre includes 16 fictional films and seven documentaries.

Eight of her films were screened in the programme of the Berlin International Film Festival. In 1980 the fictional film Deutschland, bleiche Mutter (Germany, Pale Mother) celebrated its world premiere in the Competition of the Berlinale. Today it ranks among the classics of world cinema. In February 2014, the reconstructed and digitally restored original version of the film was showcased once again in the Berlinale Classics series.

In 1997, Helma Sanders-Brahms presented Mein Herz – niemandem (My Heart Is Mine Alone) hors concours in the Competition section. Between 1982 and 2014 she also showed films at the Berlinale in the Forum and Retrospective sections, as well as in the series New German Films and German Cinema series.

Under former Festival Director Moritz de Hadeln, Helma Sanders-Brahms was also a member of the advisory selection committee of the Berlin International Film Festival.

Helma Sanders-Brahms consistently explored political and social issues in her films. Characteristic for her works is how she artistically approached topics like feminism and women’s lib, immigrant workers and German history. Unter dem Pflaster liegt der Strand (Under the Beach’s Cobbles, 1975) is considered as one of the key films about societal upheaval and the emancipation movement in the years following 1968.

“Helma Sanders-Brahms was a radical and committed filmmaker who had a lasting impact on German cinema. Helma was a tremendous director,” declares Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick.


Press Office
May 28,2014

Download Press Release, PDF (132 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

Zusätzliches

28.05.2014:
Die Berlinale trauert um Helma Sanders-Brahms

Die deutsche Regisseurin, Drehbuchautorin und Produzentin Helma Sanders-Brahms ist nach langer Krankheit am 27. Mai 2014 gestorben. Sie gehört zu den wichtigsten VertreterInnen des deutschen Nachkriegskinos. Ihr filmisches Werk umfasst 16 Spielfilme und sieben Dokumentarfilme.

Allein im Programm der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin wurden acht ihrer Filme präsentiert: 1980 feierte der Spielfilm Deutschland, bleiche Mutter seine Weltpremiere im Wettbewerb der Berlinale. Inzwischen gilt er als Klassiker des Weltkinos und im Februar 2014 wurde die wiederhergestellte und digital restaurierte Originalfassung als eines der Highlights der Berlinale Classics wiederaufgeführt.

Außer Konkurrenz im Wettbewerb zeigte Helma Sanders-Brahms 1997 Mein Herz – niemandem. Zwischen 1982 und 2014 war sie außerdem mit Filmen bei der Berlinale im Forum, der Retrospektive sowie den Reihen Neue Deutsche Filme und German Cinema präsent.

Unter dem ehemaligen Festivaldirektor Moritz de Hadeln war sie zudem Mitglied der beratenden Auswahlkommission der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin.

Helma Sanders-Brahms setzte sich in ihren Filmen mit politischen und sozialen Fragen auseinander. Die künstlerische Annährung an Themen des Feminismus und der weiblichen Emanzipation, der Gastarbeiter und der deutschen Geschichte prägen ihr Werk. Unter dem Pflaster liegt der Strand (1975) wurde zu einem der zentralen Filme über den gesellschaftlichen Aufbruch und die Emanzipationsbewegung nach 1968.

„Helma Sanders-Brahms war eine radikale und engagierte Filmemacherin, die das deutsche Kino nachhaltig geprägt hat. Helma war eine große Regisseurin“, sagt Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick.


Presseabteilung
28.05.2014

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (133 KB)