Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2013

Additional Information

Feb 07, 2013:
Loyalty Pays Off. Sponsors at the 63rd Berlinale

In 2013, the Festival is celebrating “big” anniversaries with ten companies. L’ORÉAL PARiS, for instance, has been a Principle Partner of the Berlinale for 15 years. This underscores the Berlinale’s attractiveness as a platform for sponsors. New to the Berlinale family are Samsung as a Third Partner, and Doremi and DVS as Suppliers. For the first time, Canon will also support the Berlinale Talent Campus as a Principle Partner.

“We would like to thank State Minister of State for Cultural and Media Affairs Bernd Neumann and Germany’s Ministry for Culture (BKM) for their unfailing support. Furthermore relations with our partners from business and industry have also developed wonderfully. In addition to financial support, there are a number of initiatives focussing on content that enhance the Festival”, says Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick.

L’ORÉAL PARiS

To celebrate the 15th anniversary of its partnership with the Berlinale, L’ORÉAL PARiS will be welcoming acting legend Jane Fonda and Germany’s new L’ORÉAL PARiS ambassador Heike Makatsch to the Red Carpet at the opening of the Festival.
As the Berlinale’s official cosmetics specialist, L’ORÉAL PARiS will help the stars find the perfect look for the Festival. For the world of film meets the world of beauty in this long-lasting partnership. The faces of L’ORÉAL PARiS include many icons of film, such as Julianne Moore (since January 2013), Milla Jovovich, Gerard Butler and Freida Pinto.
In the exclusive Berlinale VIP Club, a team of L’ORÉAL PARiS beauty experts will style the stars for their Red Carpet appearances. And Festival-goers will again have the chance to get the latest “Berlinale look”, free of charge, at the L’ORÉAL PARiS Make-up Studio at Potsdamer Platz.

ZDF

As the Berlinale’s main media partner, ZDF will again be producing all the events staged at the Berlinale Palast – from the Opening Gala, the Shooting Stars Awards and presentation of the Honorary Golden Bears, to the closing Award Ceremony of the International Jury. ZDF is also responsible for making TV footage of these events available to many national and international television networks.
The opening gala of the Berlinale 2013 will be transmitted live by 3sat, ZDF’s partner station, beginning at 7.20 pm on February 7, 2013, during the programme “Kulturzeit extra”. 3sat will also televise the Berlinale’s highpoint: the presentation of the Golden and Silver Bears in a special live broadcast that starts at 6.55 pm on February 16, 2013.
In the ZDF Lounge at the Grand Hyatt Berlin’s “mesa” restaurant, various get-togethers and events for the film industry will be held daily.

BMW

Once again the Berlinale’s exclusive automobile partner is providing the entire fleet of vehicles for the Festival and the Berlinale Talent Campus. Besides top-class sedans, BMW will again delight the public at the Red Carpet with a selection of extraordinary vehicles, such as the elegant Rolls Royce "Ghost" and “Phantom”, or the new electric scooter; a special highlight will be BMW’s Concept 4 Series Coupé.
BMW, which according to the Dow Jones Sustainability Index is the world’s most sustainable carmaker, is also well connected in the world of film. In the BMW Golden Bear Lounge at the heart of the Berlinale Press Centre, BMW will welcome filmmakers and their stars, as well as Festival guests and representatives of the media.
On February 8, 2013, BMW will also be inviting guests to their glamorous Festival Night at Humboldt Carré.

HUGO BOSS

For the tenth time, Hugo Boss, one of the world’s leading fashion houses, will be setting up an exclusive showroom for the actors and directors of Competition films and the International Jury.
Moreover, for the Berlinale’s popular merchandising collection, Hugo Boss has produced sweatshirts, T-shirts, scarves and caps; new to the collection are baby socks and bath towels. For each edition of the Festival, Hugo Boss also designs what has become a highly coveted gift for VIP guests: an exclusive cashmere scarf in the latest Berlinale look.

TESIRO

Tesiro, a leading Chinese manufacturer of luxury items, will be setting up its Jewellery Lease Suite as a special service for prominent Berlinale guests. Here Festival VIPs may borrow selected pieces of jewellery from the exquisite Berlinale Collection for splendid Red Carpet appearances.
During the Festival, Tesiro will also be setting up a special press lounge for Chinese media representatives. Thanks to Tesiro’s support, well-known Chinese actress Ni Ni (the leading lady in Zhang Yimou’s The Flowers of War, Competition 2012) will again be able to attend the Berlinale.
For the fifth time, Tesiro is the partner and sponsor of the European Shooting Stars Awards that honour Europe’s outstanding new acting talents.

ENTEGA

Green energy provider Entega supports the Berlinale in its attempt to improve its CO2 levels. Since 2011 measures have been taken to reduce CO2 emissions. By switching to green electricity, 70 tons of CO2 are eliminated annually. This represents twelve per cent of the total emissions of Berlinale operations.
With the exception of emissions resulting from the travels of accredited professionals and guests, Entega is assisting the Berlinale in offsetting unavoidable CO2 emissions.
Visitors to the Berlinale may also contribute to reducing the Festival’s carbon footprint. By purchasing a certificate online, they can individually compensate for the CO2 emissions caused by their journey to Berlin.

GLASHÜTTE ORIGINAL

With a long tradition in watchmaking, Glashütte Original invites select guests and representatives of the media to the exclusive Glashütte Original Lounge on the 24th floor of the Kollhoff Building. Here they may conduct interviews, and hold small receptions or individual work meetings.
Endowed with 15,000 euros by Glashütte Original, the “Made in Germany – Perspective Fellowship” will again be awarded within the scope of Perspektive Deutsches Kino in 2013. This year’s jury members are actress Nicolette Krebitz, director Hans-Christian Schmid and producer Heino Deckert.
The winner will be announced at the award ceremony, which will take place during the opening of the Perspektive at the CinemaxX on February 8, 2013. With the support of Glashütte Original, Perspektive Deutsches Kino is also continuing its “Made in Germany – Talking about Film” discussion series.

Third Partners in 2013: Arri Film & TV Services, Barco, French-German Youth Office (FGYO), GWFF, Moët & Chandon, Kinoton, rbb, Samsung, TV Movie.

The Best First Feature Award has been endowed with 50,000 euros by the “Gesellschaft zur Verwertung von Film- und Fernsehrechten” (GWFF), a society for safeguarding film and television rights. The members of the 2013 jury are: Oren Moverman, Lucy Walker and Taika Waititi.

Since 2004, the Perspektive Deutsches Kino section has awarded the “FGYO-Award Dialogue en perspective”. In 2013 the jury will be headed by Emily Atef. This year the award is for the first time endowed with 5,000 euros donated by the French-German Youth Office (FGYO).

For the Berlinale 2013, Samsung has launched the “Samsung Smartfilm Award”. Six short films whose directors have been nominated by the Berlinale will first be presented to the public at Babylon Mitte at 10.45 am on February 9. Afterwards, the films will be uploaded to www.samsung.de/berlinale, where viewers may vote for their favourite.

Section Partners in 2013: Canon (new Principle Partner of the Berlinale Talent Campus); IFA (host of the EFM Industry Debates); WMF (Culinary Cinema).

Suppliers in 2013: Berlin Partner, BerlinPlakat, Cerruti Baleri, CineStar Cubix, Colt, Deutsches Weininstitut (DWI), Dolby, Doremi, DVS, Haus Rabenhorst, Nikon, TNT Express, TOP-Ix, Viva con Agua, Wall.

The Berlinale Cameras are donated each year by the renowned, Düsseldorf-based, goldsmith Georg Hornemann. In 2013 they are being awarded to Isabella Rossellini and Rosa von Praunheim.


Press Office
February 7, 2013

Download Press Release, PDF (31 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2013

Zusätzliches

07.02.2013:
Treue zahlt sich aus. Sponsoren auf der 63. Berlinale

2013 feiert das Festival mit gleich zehn Unternehmen einen runden Geburtstag. L’ORÉAL PARiS ist bereits seit 15 Jahren Hauptpartner der Berlinale. Dies unterstreicht die Attraktivität der Berlinale-Plattform für Sponsoren. Neu in der Berlinale-Familie sind Samsung als Drittpartner sowie Doremi und DVS als Supplier. Canon unterstützt den Berlinale Talent Campus erstmals als Hauptpartner.

„Wir bedanken uns für die beständige Unterstützung durch Kulturstaatsminister Bernd Neumann und das BKM. Aber auch das Verhältnis zu unseren Partnern aus der Wirtschaft hat sich toll entwickelt. Neben der finanziellen Unterstützung gibt es inzwischen eine Vielzahl von inhaltlichen Initiativen, die das Festival bereichern“, sagt Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick.

L’ORÉAL PARiS

Anlässlich des 15-jährigen Jubiläums der Partnerschaft mit der Berlinale heißt L’ORÉAL PARiS die Schauspiellegende Jane Fonda und die neue deutsche L’ORÉAL PARiS-Botschafterin Heike Makatsch auf dem Roten Teppich zur Eröffnung der Berlinale willkommen.
Der offizielle Kosmetikexperte der Berlinale sorgt für einen makellosen Festivalauftritt der Stars. In der bewährten Partnerschaft treffen die Welt des Films und der Schönheit aufeinander. Zu den Gesichtern von L’ORÉAL PARiS zählen unter anderen Filmikonen wie Julianne Moore (seit Januar 2013), Milla Jovovich, Gerard Butler und Freida Pinto.
Im exklusiven Berlinale VIP-Club werden die Stars vom Visagisten-Team von L’ORÉAL PARiS für ihren Auftritt auf dem Roten Teppich gestylt. Auch das Berlinale-Publikum hat die Möglichkeit, sich im L’ORÉAL PARiS Make-up Studio auf dem Potsdamer Platz im aktuellen „Berlinale Look“ kostenlos schminken zu lassen.

ZDF

Der Hauptmedienpartner der Berlinale inszeniert sämtliche Bühnenshows im Berlinale Palast - von der Berlinale-Eröffnung über den Shooting Stars Award und die Verleihung des Ehrenbären bis zur Preisverleihung durch die Internationale Jury. Als Poolführer stellt das ZDF die Weitergabe von TV-Bildern an die zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Sender sicher.
Die feierliche Eröffnung der Berlinale 2013 wird vom ZDF-Partnersender 3sat am 7. Februar 2013 ab 19:20 Uhr im Rahmen einer „Kulturzeit extra“-Sendung live übertragen. Vom Höhepunkt der Berlinale, der Preisverleihungszeremonie mit der Verleihung des Goldenen und der Silbernen Bären, berichtet 3sat am 16. Februar 2013 ab 18:55 Uhr ebenfalls in einer Live-Sondersendung.
In der ZDF-Lounge im „mesa“ des Grand Hyatt Berlin finden täglich Branchentreffs und Veranstaltungen statt.

BMW

Der exklusive Automobilpartner der Berlinale stellt die gesamte Fahrzeugflotte für die Berlinale und den Berlinale Talent Campus. BMW setzt neben hochwertigen Limousinen zur Freude des Publikums auch wieder besondere Fahrzeuge am Roten Teppich ein, wie z.B. die eleganten Rolls-Royce "Ghost" und "Phantom" oder den neuen E-Scooter und als Highlight das BMW Concept 4er Coupé.
Der laut Dow Jones Sustainability Index weltweit nachhaltigste Autobauer ist auch in der Welt des Films bestens vernetzt. In der BMW Golden Bear Lounge im Herzen des Pressezentrums der Berlinale ist BMW Gastgeber für Filmschaffende, Festivalgäste und Medienvertreter.
Darüber hinaus lädt BMW am 8. Februar 2013 zur glamourösen Festival Night im Humboldt Carré ein.

HUGO BOSS

Bereits zum 10. Mal richtet Hugo Boss, einer der weltweit führenden Modekonzerne, für die Schauspieler und Regisseure der Wettbewerbsfilme und die Internationale Jury einen exklusiven Showroom ein.
Darüber hinaus produziert Hugo Boss Sweatshirts, T-Shirts, Schals, Mützen und in diesem Jahr neu auch Babysöckchen und Badetücher für das beliebte Berlinale-Merchandising. Als begehrtes VIP-Gastgeschenk wird für jede Festivaledition ein exklusiver Kaschmirschal im neuen Berlinale Look gefertigt.

TESIRO

Der chinesische Luxusgüterkonzern Tesiro richtet eine Jewellery Lease Suite als Service für prominente Berlinale-Gäste ein. Dort können die VIP-Gäste des Festivals erlesenen Schmuck aus der exklusiven Berlinale-Kollektion für einen perfekten Auftritt auf dem Roten Teppich leihen.
Für chinesische Medienvertreter stellt Tesiro zum Festival eine eigene Press Lounge zur Verfügung. Die bekannte chinesische Schauspielerin Ni Ni (Hauptdarstellerin in Zhang Yimous The Flowers of War, der 2012 im Berlinale Wettbewerb lief) wird dank der Unterstützung von Tesiro erneut die Berlinale besuchen können.
Tesiro ist bereits zum fünften Mal Partner und Preisstifter des European Shooting Stars Award, der die besten europäischen Schauspieltalente auszeichnet.

ENTEGA

Der Ökostromanbieter Entega unterstützt die Berlinale nachhaltig auf dem Weg zu einer besseren CO2-Bilanz. Seit 2011 werden Maßnahmen zur CO2-Reduktion umgesetzt. Durch die Umstellung auf Ökostrom werden pro Jahr rund 70 Tonnen CO2 eingespart. Das entspricht 12% der Emissionen des Firmenbetriebs Berlinale.
Die unvermeidbaren CO2-Emissionen der Berlinale werden – mit Ausnahme der Reisetätigkeiten der Akkreditierten und Gäste – mit Hilfe von Entega kompensiert.
Auch Festivalbesucher können dazu beitragen, den CO2-Fußabdruck des Events Berlinale zu verringern. Im Internet können sie die durch ihre Anreise verursachten CO2-Emissionen durch den Erwerb eines Zertifikats individuell kompensieren.

GLASHÜTTE ORIGINAL

Die traditionsreiche Uhrenmanufaktur Glashütte Original lädt ausgewählte Gäste und Medienvertreter für Interviews, kleine Empfänge und individuelle Arbeitstreffen, in die exklusive Glashütte Original Lounge im 24. Stockwerk des Kollhoff-Gebäudes ein.
Der von Glashütte Original mit 15.000 € dotierte „Made in Germany – Förderpreis Perspektive“ innerhalb der Perspektive Deutsches Kino wird 2013 erneut vergeben. Die Juroren für 2013 sind die Schauspielerin Nicolette Krebitz, der Regisseur Hans-Christian Schmid und der Produzent Heino Deckert.
Die Bekanntgabe des Gewinners und die Preisverleihung finden im Rahmen der Perspektive-Eröffnung am 8. Februar 2013 im CinemaxX statt. Die Perspektive Deutsches Kino setzt ihre Gesprächsreihe „Made in Germany – Reden über Film“ mit Unterstützung von Glashütte Original fort.

Drittpartner 2013: Arri Film & TV Services, Barco, Deutsch-Französisches Jugendwerk (DFJW), GWFF, Moët & Chandon, Kinoton, rbb, Samsung, TV Movie.

Die Gesellschaft zur Verwertung von Film- und Fernsehrechten (GWFF) stiftet den mit 50.000 € dotierten „Preis Bester Erstlingsfilm“. Die Jury 2013 besteht aus: Oren Moverman, Lucy Walker und Taika Waititi.

In der Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino wird seit 2004 der „DFJW-Preis Dialogue en perspective" verliehen - 2013 unter dem Juryvorsitz von Emily Atef. Der Preis wird in diesem Jahr erstmalig vom Deutsch-Französischen Jugendwerk (DFJW) mit 5.000 € dotiert.

Samsung vergibt anlässlich der Berlinale 2013 erstmals den „Samsung Smartfilm Award“. Die sechs Kurzfilme, der durch die Berlinale nominierten Regisseure, werden am 9. Februar 2013 um 22:45 Uhr im Babylon Mitte erstmals der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert und anschließend zur Abstimmung unter www.samsung.de/berlinale veröffentlicht.

Sektionspartner 2013: Canon (erstmals Hauptpartner des Berlinale Talent Campus); IFA (Host der EFM Industry Debates); WMF (Kulinarisches Kino).

Supplier 2013: Berlin Partner, BerlinPlakat, Cerruti Baleri, CineStar Cubix, Colt, Deutsches Weininstitut (DWI), Dolby, Doremi, DVS, Haus Rabenhorst, Nikon, TNT Express, TOP-Ix, Viva con Agua, Wall.

Die Berlinale Kameras werden vom renommierten Düsseldorfer Goldschmiedekünstler Georg Hornemann gestiftet und gehen 2013 an Isabella Rossellini und Rosa von Praunheim.


Presseabteilung
7. Februar 2013

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (31 KB)