Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2013

Panorama

Nov 06, 2012:
DEFA Foundation’s Newly Created Heiner Carow Prize to Be Awarded at the Berlinale

Starting in 2013, the DEFA Foundation, which is seated in Berlin, will be awarding the newly created Heiner Carow Prize during the Berlin International Film Festival. The prize will go to a German fictional, documentary or essay film from the Panorama section. A three-member jury will select the winning film which will receive 5,000 euros.

The DEFA Foundation has set up the prize in memory of film director Heiner Carow (1929-1997) who made many films at the DEFA Studios in Babelsberg. These works include Sie nannten ihn Amigo (They Called Him Amigo,1959), Die Russen kommen (The Russians Are Coming,1968), Die Legende von Paul und Paula (The Legend of Paul and Paula, 1973), Ikarus (Icarus, 1976), Bis dass der Tod Euch scheidet (Until Death Do Us Part, 1979) and Coming Out (1989), among others. In February 1990, Carow won a Silver Bear for Coming Out in the Berlinale Competition.

Dieter Kosslick, director of the Berlinale, comments: “I see the prize as an important link between the past and the present. Heiner Carow was a director who made politically and aesthetically bold films, socially engaged and critical works that often drew large audiences. The prize has been named after a very worthy man. As a repeated guest of the Berlinale, Carow also knew how to make films that appealed to international audiences.”

Ralf Schenk, chairman of the DEFA Foundation, remarks: “With the Heiner Carow Prize, the DEFA Foundation is fulfilling its mission to promote new German cinema and support young directors. We are delighted to be represented with this new prize at the Berlinale.”

Founded in 1998, the DEFA Foundation manages and preserves DEFA film stock as part of Germany’s cultural heritage, and makes it accessible to the public in many different ways.

The Heiner Carow Prize will further enhance the list of prizes awarded at the Berlinale by independent juries in the name of external organizations and/or institutions which are independent of the Festival.



Press Office
November 6, 2012

Download Press Release, PDF (27 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2013

Panorama

06.11.2012:
Neu geschaffener Heiner-Carow-Preis der DEFA-Stiftung auf der Berlinale

Die in Berlin ansässige DEFA-Stiftung verleiht ab 2013 während der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin den neu geschaffenen Heiner-Carow-Preis. Ausgezeichnet wird ein deutscher Spiel-, Dokumentar- oder Essayfilm aus der Sektion Panorama. Der Preis ist mit 5.000,- Euro dotiert. Über die Vergabe entscheidet eine dreiköpfige Jury.

Mit dem Preis erinnert die DEFA-Stiftung an den Filmregisseur Heiner Carow (1929-1997), der in den Babelsberger DEFA-Studios unter anderem Filme wie Sie nannten ihn Amigo (1959), Die Russen kommen (1968), Die Legende von Paul und Paula (1973), Ikarus (1976), Bis dass der Tod Euch scheidet (1979) und Coming out (1989) inszenierte. Für Coming Out erhielt er im Februar 1990 den Silbernen Bären im Berlinale Wettbewerb.

Dieter Kosslick, Direktor der Berlinale: „Ich werte den Preis als ein wichtiges Bindeglied zwischen Geschichte und Gegenwart. Mit Heiner Carow, einem Regisseur, der politisch und ästhetisch wagemutige, sozial engagierte und gesellschaftskritische Arbeiten drehte und damit oft ein großes Publikum erreichte, trägt der Preis einen würdigen Namen. Als mehrfacher Gast der Berlinale hat Carow auch ein internationales Publikum zu begeistern gewusst.“

Ralf Schenk, Vorstand der DEFA-Stiftung: „Mit dem Heiner-Carow-Preis kommt die DEFA-Stiftung ihrem Auftrag als Förderer neuer deutscher Filmkunst nach und trägt zur Unterstützung jüngerer Regisseurinnen und Regisseure bei. Wir freuen uns, mit dem neu geschaffenen Preis auf der Berlinale vertreten zu sein.“

Die 1998 gegründete DEFA-Stiftung pflegt den DEFA-Filmstock als Teil des nationalen Kulturerbes und macht ihn der Öffentlichkeit auf vielfältige Weise zugänglich.

Der Heiner-Carow-Preis ergänzt die Berlinale-Preise unabhängiger Jurys, die ihre Preise im Namen externer, vom Festival unabhängiger Organisationen und Institutionen vergeben.

Presseabteilung
6. November 2012

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (21 KB)