Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2012

Additional Information

Jan 31, 2012:
Starting signal for the new Berlinale initiative Berlinale Residency

The Berlinale is expanding its portfolio with an additional initiative and extending a four-month invitation to six filmmakers and their new projects to the creative metropolis of Berlin in autumn 2012. The new international fellowship programme, Berlinale Residency, will help filmmakers to complete their scripts successfully, as well as to develop the audience potential of the films together with their producers in a “Script to Market” seminar. Working in close contact with individually selected mentors from the Nipkow Programm and international market experts, the filmmakers can take a decisive step toward placing their next film project on the way to a successful theatrical release. Directors who have already celebrated a feature film success at a renowned international film festival can apply for the four-month Berlinale Residency.

“The Berlinale Residency is a logical progression of the previous Berlinale initiatives,” explains Festival Director Dieter Kosslick. “The fellowship serves as a follow-up project for filmmakers who already had a feature in the official programme of the festival, who were selected with projects in the Berlinale Co-Production Market or Berlinale Talent Campus, or who were supported through the World Cinema Fund. However, we are also looking forward to receiving other filmmakers from around the world, whom the programme will entice to Berlin.”

Kirsten Niehuus, Managing Director of film funding at the Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg said: “We were particularly impressed that the Berlinale Residency not only practises traditional story development, but also works on the projects in close relationship to the market and with corresponding experts from the industry. Audience orientation and effective analysis are more important today than ever before.”

The first call for entries for the Berlinale Residency, which will begin in September 2012, starts at the opening of the Berlinale on February 9, 2012.

The six selected projects (feature and documentary films and cross-media projects) will be worked on from September to December. Afterwards, they will be presented, in order to find additional partners for financing and – where appropriate – co-production. On offer as initial presentation platforms are the Berlinale Co-Production Market and the Guadalajara International Film Festival, which takes place in March and along with its affiliated Ibero American Coproduction Meeting is a partner of the Berlinale Residency. Depending on the project, further presentations at co-production markets in Buenos Aires, Durban or Sarajevo are being considered.

The Berlinale Residency is an initiative of the Berlin International Film Festival, a business division of the Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media upon a decision of the German Bundestag, the Nipkow Programm and the Guadalajara International Film Festival, in cooperation with MEDIA Mundus programme of the European Union and Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg.


Press Office
January 31, 2012

Download Press Release, PDF (30 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2012

Zusätzliches

31.01.2012:
Startschuss für die neue Berlinale-Initiative Berlinale Residency

Die Berlinale erweitert ihr Portfolio um eine weitere Förderinitiative und lädt ab Herbst 2012 sechs Filmemacher mit ihren neuen Projekten für vier Monate in die Kreativmetropole Berlin ein. Das neue internationale Stipendiatenprogramm Berlinale Residency wird Filmemacher dabei unterstützen, ihr Drehbuch erfolgreich fertig zu stellen und in einem „Script to Market“-Seminar das Publikumspotential gemeinsam mit den Produzenten der Filme zu erarbeiten. Im engen Kontakt mit individuell ausgewählten Mentoren des Nipkow-Programms und internationalen Marktexperten können sie dabei ihr Projekt auf dem Weg vom Drehbuch zum Kinoerfolg einen entscheidenden Schritt voranbringen. Für die viermonatige Berlinale Residency können sich Regisseure bewerben, die bereits einen ersten Langfilm-Erfolg auf einem renommierten internationalen Filmfestival feiern konnten.

„Die Berlinale Residency ist eine konsequente Weiterentwicklung der bisherigen Berlinale-Initiativen“, erklärt Berlinale-Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick. „Das Stipendium bietet sich als Folgeprojekt für Filmemacher an, die bereits im offiziellen Programm des Festivals vertreten waren, mit Langfilmprojekten im Berlinale Co-Production Market oder Berlinale Talent Campus ausgewählt oder durch den World Cinema Fund gefördert wurden. Wir freuen uns aber auch auf weitere Filmemacher aus aller Welt, die das Programm nach Berlin locken wird.“

Kirsten Niehuus, Geschäftsführerin Filmförderung des Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, dazu: „Uns als Förderer hat vor allem überzeugt, dass bei der Berlinale Residency nicht nur traditionelle Stoffentwicklung betrieben wird, sondern dass die Arbeit an den Projekten in enger Bindung zum Markt und mit entsprechenden Experten aus der Praxis stattfindet. Publikumsaus-richtung und eine erfolgreiche Auswertung sind heute wichtiger denn je.“

Der erste Call for Entries für die Berlinale Residency, die im September 2012 beginnen wird, startet zum Festivalbeginn der Berlinale am 9. Februar 2012.

An den sechs ausgewählten Projekten (lange Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme und Crossmedia Projekte) wird von September bis Dezember gearbeitet. Anschließend werden sie vorgestellt, um wichtige weitere Partner für die Finanzierung und gegebenenfalls für eine Koproduktion zu finden. Als Präsentationsplattformen bieten sich zunächst der Berlinale Co-Production-Market sowie das im März stattfindende Internationale Filmfestival in Guadalajara/Mexiko an, das mit seinem angeschlossenen Ibero American Coproduction Meeting Partner der Berlinale Residency ist. Je nach Projekt sind weitere Präsentationen bei den Koproduktionsmärkten in Buenos Aires, Durban oder Sarajevo angedacht.

Die Berlinale Residency ist eine Initiative der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, gefördert vom Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages, dem Nipkow Programm und dem Internationalen Filmfestival Guadalajara, in Kooperation mit dem MEDIA Mundus Programm der Europäischen Union und dem Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg.


Presseabteilung
31. Januar 2012

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (31 KB)