Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Tote Schwule - lebende Lesben

Dead Gay Men and Living Lesbians

## ## ##

DEAD GAY MEN AND LIVING LESBIANS

In his documentary Rosa von Praunheim creates the vision of a subculture ruled by women that is also a reassessment of the history of homosexuality and its oppression. As a result of the Holocaust and later, Aids, the male homosexual community has sustained bitter losses and, according to Praunheim, lesbian women have now placed themselves at the head of the so-called queer movement.
The female protagonists in the film represent two different generations; they also incorporate the past and present status of homosexuals in society. Berlin-based Turkish DJ Ipec moves assuredly through the club scene; journalist Manuela Kay publishes a lesbian magazine, “L-Mag”, and Laura and Silke Radosh have founded a family and belong to a lesbian mother-and-toddler group. Actor and cabaret artiste Maren Kroymann is another forward looking protagonist. She played a pastor’s wife in a successful television series names “Oh Gott, Herr Pfarrer” (Oh God, Reverend) before calmly coming out shortly afterwards.
The male protagonists on the other hand all belong to a generation that experienced the Third Reich and Germany at its most repressive point in his­to­ry. Praunheim makes use of material he himself filmed of his now deceased protagonists in order to create a series of compelling portraits. Walter Schwarze and Albrecht Becker were both imprisoned during the Nazi era. One of the men suffered from depression and was almost broken by the experience; the other, a self-confessed masochist, enjoyed his life in prison. Entertainer Joe Luga remembers the post-war era. As a cabaret sin­ger he once performed in women’s clothes before German troops on the Russian front – but it wasn’t until Adenauer’s government came to power that he found himself behind bars.
Production notes

Germany 2007, 87 min

by

Rosa von Praunheim

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Tote Schwule - lebende Lesben

Dead Gay Men and Living Lesbians

## ## ##

TOTE SCHWULE – LEBENDE LESBEN

In seinem Dokumentarfilm entwirft Rosa von Praunheim die Vision einer von Frauen regierten Subkultur und damit eine Geschichte der Homo­sexua­lität und ihrer Unterdrückung, die er neu gewichtet: Während die ho­mo­sexuellen Männer in Deutschland erst durch den Holocaust und später durch Aids herbe Verluste hinnehmen mussten, setzten sich Praunheim zufolge die lesbischen Frauen mittlerweile an die Spitze der sogenannten Queer-Bewegung.
Die weiblichen Protagonisten im Film entstammen zwei Generationen und stehen für Gegenwart und Zukunft der Homosexuellen in der Ge­sell­schaft: Die in Berlin lebende Türkin DJ Ipec, die sich souverän in der Clubszene bewegt, die Journalistin Manuela Kay, die das Lesbenmagazin „L-Mag“ herausgibt, und die Familiengründerinnen Laura und Silke Radosh, die mit ihrem Baby eine lesbische Krabbelgruppe besuchen. Auch die Schau­­spielerin und Kabarettistin Maren Kroymann zählt zu den in die Zu­kunft weisenden Protagonisten. Sie war in der Erfolgsserie „Oh Gott, Herr Pfarrer“ als Pastorengattin bekanntgeworden, um sich kurze Zeit später dann souverän zu outen.
Die männlichen Protagonisten dagegen gehören alle zu der einen Ge­ne­ration, die das Dritte Reich und Deutschland am repressivsten Punkt der Geschichte erlebte. Hier greift von Praunheim auf selbstgedrehtes Material seiner inzwischen verstorbenen Helden zurück, das er zu intensiven Por­träts verdichtet. Walter Schwarze und Albrecht Becker waren in der Nazizeit interniert – der eine ein Melancholiker, der fast an seinem Schicksal zerbrach, der andere bekennender Masochist, der sein Leben im Knast genoss. Auf die Nachkriegszeit verweist der Entertainer Joe Luga. Als Chansonnier hatte er die Truppen an der Ostfront noch in Frauenkleidern unterhalten und kam erst unter der Regierung Adenauer ins Gefängnis.
Produktionsmitteilung

Deutschland 2007, 87 Min

von

Rosa von Praunheim