Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Berlinale Special

Cuban Memories: Un dia con Fidel

Cuban Memories: A Day With Fidel

##

CUBAN MEMORIES

Gianni Minà's journalistic preoccupation with the Cuban revolution and its Máximo Líder began with a 16-hour interview, conducted with Fidel Castro on 26.6.1987 that started at 2 p.m. on a Sunday afternoon and went on until 5 a.m. the next morning. Since then, Minà has released a series of documentaries on Cuba. The historical value of Minà's films can best be measured by the fact that Castro has only ever given three authorised interviews on camera - one conducted by Oliver Stone in 2002 for his film, COMANDANTE (shown in the Berlinale's Panorama section in 2003) and two by Gianni Minà. The filmmaker has now turned his material into two documentaries.
UN DIA CON FIDEL is based on the interview conducted in 1987. The conversation between Castro and Minà begins at the Cuban Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology Center (CIGB), where Castro philosophises about the 'new human being', and ends in Castro's private rooms, where, seated in a leather armchair replete with footstool, he discusses his literary predilections and his friendship with Gabriel García Márquez.
FIDEL CUENTA EL CHE describes the relationship between Castro and Che - an association that was close and yet fraught with tension. Castro met Che in Mexico during the preparations for the Cuban revolution. Che wanted to put his medical knowledge to good use by helping the revolutionaries. Remembering Che, Castro praises his courageous and decent nature. Both men dreamed of liberating all of Latin America. Towards the end of the film, Castro gives his analysis of how Che Guevara came to be caught and executed by Bolivian soldiers on 8.10.1967.

Italy 1987 / 2007, 90 min

by

Gianni Miná

World Sales

Adriana Chiesa Enterprises SRL

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Special

Cuban Memories: Un dia con Fidel

Cuban Memories: A Day With Fidel

##

KUBANISCHE ERINNERUNGEN

Ein 16-Stunden-Interview mit Fidel Castro, geführt vom 26.6.1987, einem Sonntagnachmittag, ab 14 Uhr bis zum folgenden Montagmorgen 5 Uhr, steht am Beginn von Gianni Minàs journalistischer Beschäftigung mit der kubanischen Revolution und ihrem Máximo Líder. Seither veröffentlichte Minà eine Reihe von Kuba-Dokumentationen. Der zeithistorische Wert seiner Filme lässt sich auch aus dem Umstand ermessen, dass es überhaupt nur drei autorisierte Filminterviews mit Castro gibt: eins, das Oliver Stone 2002 für seinen Film COMANDANTE (IFB-Panorama 2003) führte, und zwei von Gianni Minà. Dieses Material verdichtete der Regisseur jetzt zu zwei Dokumentarfilmen.
UN DIA CON FIDEL liegt das Interview von 1987 zugrunde. Der Dialog zwischen Castro und Minà beginnt im kubanischen Institut für Gentechnik und Biotechnologie (CIGB), wo Castro über den "Neuen Menschen" philosophiert, und endet in Castros Privaträumen, wo er in seinem Lesesessel mit Fußbank über seine literarischen Vorlieben und seine Freundschaft zu Gabriel García Márquez spricht.
FIDEL CUENTA EL CHE beschreibt die ebenso enge wie spannungsreiche Beziehung zwischen Castro und Che Guevara. Bei den Vorbereitungen auf die kubanische Revolution lernten sich Castro und Che in Mexiko kennen. Der wollte den Revolutionären mit seinem medizinischen Wissen helfen, fiel Castro aber schon bald wegen seines Muts und seiner Anständigkeit auf. Beide träumten davon, ganz Lateinamerika zu befreien. Am Ende spricht Castro darüber, wie es aus seiner Sicht zur Gefangennahme und Hinrichtung Che Guevaras durch bolivianische Soldaten am 8.10.1967 kam.

Italien 1987 / 2007, 90 Min

von

Gianni Miná

Weltvertrieb

Adriana Chiesa Enterprises SRL