Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Von einem der auszog - Wim Wenders' frühe Jahre

One Who Set Forth - Wim Wenders' Early Years

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

ONE WHO SET FORTH - WIM WENDERS' EARLY YEARS

"I am my own history", is how the character Kamikaze responds to the question "who are you?" in Wim Wenders' KINGS OF THE ROAD. Drawing parallels between his early films and his personal biography, this documentary traces Wim Wender's own history, focussing on the director's life prior to his leaving Germany for the USA after his international breakthrough with THE AMERICAN FRIEND (1976/77).
In intimate conversations, Wim Wenders talks about his sheltered upbringing in post-war Oberhausen. The film follows him on a journey into the past that takes him to Paris, where he lived as a young painter and made his decision to become a filmmaker. He recounts his experiences, successes and failures as a film student on the way to becoming a director. He also conveys the attitudes and the euphoric mood among the first intake of students at Munich's newly founded film school.
Apart from Wenders himself, some of his most important fellow-travellers also have their say, including Peter Handke, Robby Müller, Rüdiger Vogler, Bruno Ganz and Lisa Kreuzer. As they remember, they discuss some of the fundamental, recurring themes of Wenders' films - such as the search for identity, friendship and communication. These exponents also discuss their own personal experiences of Wenders - on both private and professional levels. Excerpts from Wenders' early works illustrate how, time and again, the filmmaker was portraying people he knew and experiences that were authentic. This is just one of the ways in which this documentary sheds new light on the early films of Wim Wenders.

Germany 2006, 100 min

by

Marcel Wehn

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Von einem der auszog - Wim Wenders' frühe Jahre

One Who Set Forth - Wim Wenders' Early Years

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

VON EINEM DER AUSZOG - WIM WENDERS' FRÜHE JAHRE

"Ich bin meine Geschichte", antwortet Kamikaze in Wim Wenders' IM LAUF DER ZEIT auf die Frage "Wer bist du?". Dieser Dokumentarfilm spürt der Geschichte von Wim Wenders nach und stellt eine Verbindung zwischen dessen früher Biografie und seinem Werk her. Im Fokus steht das Leben des Regisseurs bis zu seinem Weggang in die USA nach seinem internationalen Durchbruch mit DER AMERIKANISCHE FREUND (1976/77).
In persönlichen Gesprächen erzählt Wim Wenders von seinem behüteten Elternhaus im Oberhausen der Nachkriegszeit. Man begleitet ihn auf dieser Reise in die Vergangenheit nach Paris, wo er als junger Maler lebte und den Entschluss fasste, Filmemacher zu werden. Das Lebensgefühl und die Aufbruchstimmung unter den Studenten des ersten Jahrgangs an der Filmhochschule in München werden nachvollziehbar.
Neben Wim Wenders selbst kommen unter anderem Peter Handke, Robby Müller, Rüdiger Vogler, Bruno Ganz und Lisa Kreuzer als einige seiner wichtigsten Wegbegleiter zu Wort. In ihren Erinnerungen sprechen sie über die wiederkehrenden Grundthemen in Wenders' Filmen. Es geht um Identitätssuche, Einsamkeit, Freundschaft und Kommunikation. Ebenso zur Sprache kommen ganz persönliche Erfahrungen in der privaten und beruflichen Beziehung zu Wenders. Ausschnitte aus seinen frühen Filmen verdeutlichen, dass Wenders immer wieder authentische Erlebnisse und Menschen aus seinem eigenen Umfeld zum Thema gemacht hat. Auch dadurch vermittelt der Film einen ganz neuen Blick auf die frühen Filme von Wim Wenders.

Deutschland 2006, 100 Min

von

Marcel Wehn