Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Huhwaehaji Anah

No Regret

## ## ##

NO REGRET

In his feature film debut Korean director Leesong Hee-il tells the story of a gay love affair that draws as much inspiration from the modern melodramas of Asian queer cinema as it does from the social realism of Charles Dickens' novels.
Su-min has grown up at an orphanage in the country. When he comes to Seoul to study design he encounters a world that is completely alien to him. At first he finds a job at a factory, only to lose it swiftly as a result of redundancies. Before long, Su-min finds himself working as a rent boy at a gay bar.
Among his admirers is Jae-min, the son of a wealthy family, who does everything in his power to win Su-min's heart and, naturally, his physical devotion. Jae-min's father is a factory owner. His family is very conservative and his relatives would certainly not be able to come to terms with Jaemin's sexual persuasion.
Su-min finally gives in to his admirer's urging and an intensely passionate affair begins. But the young men's happiness is short-lived. Finally, the pressure that Jae-min's family exerts upon him turns a blissful relationship into unbearable suffering and their romance ends in tragedy.

Republic of Korea (South Korea) 2006, 114 min

by

Leesong Hee-il

with

Lee Han
Lee Yeong-hoon
Hwang Choon-ha
Kim Jeong-hwa
Lee Seung-cheol

World Sales

Fortissimo Films

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Huhwaehaji Anah

No Regret

## ## ##

OHNE REUE

In seinem Spielfilmdebüt erzählt der koreanische Regisseur Leesong Hee-il eine schwule Liebesgeschichte, die von den modernen Melodramen des asiatischen Queer Cinema womöglich ebenso stark inspiriert worden ist wie von sozialrealistischen Entwicklungsromanen à la Charles Dickens.
Su-min ist in einem Waisenhaus auf dem Lande aufgewachsen. Als er nun nach Seoul kommt, um hier Kunstdesign zu studieren, ist dies für ihn eine ganz fremde Welt. Er findet zunächst einen Job in einer Fabrik, verliert ihn je doch auch ebenso rasch wieder durch Entlassung. Und es dauert gar nicht lange, da arbeitet Su-min als Strichjunge in einer Schwulenbar.
Zu seinen Verehrern dort gehört auch Jae-min, ein Sohn aus reichem Hause, der alles Mögliche unternimmt, um Su-mins Herz - und natürlich auch seine physische Hingabe - zu gewinnen. Jae-min ist der Sohn des Fabrikbesitzers und Abkömmling einer sehr konservativen Familie; mit seiner sexuellen Orientierung mögen sich seine Angehörigen in keiner Weise abfinden.
Als Su-min dem Drängen seines Verehrers endlich nachgibt, ist dies zunächst der Beginn einer intensiven Leidenschaft. Doch das Glück der beiden jungen Männer ist nur von kurzer Dauer. Nicht zuletzt aufgrund des familiären Drucks, der auf Jae-min lastet, verwandelt sich eine glückliche Liebe in eine seelische Qual - und die Romanze schließlich in eine Tragödie.

Republik Korea 2006, 114 Min

von

Leesong Hee-il

mit

Lee Han
Lee Yeong-hoon
Hwang Choon-ha
Kim Jeong-hwa
Lee Seung-cheol

Weltvertrieb

Fortissimo Films