Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Retrospective

Die 3-Groschen-Oper

THREEPENNY OPERA

“One Sunday morning / Lies a body, just oozin’ life / Someone’s sneaking ‘round the corner / Tell me, could that someone be Mack the Knife…” On 19 February 1931, DIE 3-GROSCHEN-OPER was premiered with great aplomb in the Atrium Cinema in Berlin. A new print, struck from the original camera negative, has now been released to commemorate the 75th jubilee of this premiere; the current print has the same, virtually square format (1:1.19) of early sound cinema.
The film, “loosely based on Brecht”, and “with Weill’s music”, was shot from 19 September to 15 November 1930 at Efa Studios in Cicero Street in Berlin’s Halensee district and in the Zeppelin Hall in Staaken on the outskirts of the city. Prior to the film’s screening, the public were kept in suspense by a hefty dispute. Brecht and Weill filed suits against the company, Nero Film, for breach of copyright, and the censorship authorities attacked the film for its use of “bordello ballads”, fearing that the rest of the world would come to regard “all Germans as being morally degenerate.”
In 1931, Rudolf Arnheim wrote in the “Weltbühne” that all discussion about the film had been characterised by these legal disputes and that, as a result, “many people were not aware of what a marvellous achievement the film is. The charming sweetness of Kurt Weill’s music; the aristocratic dancer Rudolf Forster, who sports his bowler hat and walking cane as if they were the insignia of his acting profession; the lithesome, gliding camerawork, turning the scene of the narrative into a soundless gyration, lending it a highly successful, fabulous irreality; the playful, dizzying perspectives on barred and ghostly rooms; the frightening staircases and fantastically complex views through windows; the ironic kitsch of the full moon and the mournful love songs; the painterly brashness of the beggar’s shop; the delicate (…) inoffensive grace by which the film ‘coarsens and corrupts’ – one wouldn’t want to miss out on all that!”

Germany (through 1945) 1931, 113 min

by

G.W. Pabst

with

Rudolf Forster
Carola Neher
Reinhold Schünzel

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Retrospektive

Die 3-Groschen-Oper

DIE 3-GROSCHEN-OPER

„An nem schönen blauen Sonntag / Liegt ein toter Mann am Strand / Und ein Mensch geht um die Ecke / Den man Mackie Messer nennt…“ Am 19. Februar 1931 wurde DIE 3-GROSCHEN-OPER im Kino Atrium in Berlin feierlich uraufgeführt. Zum 75. Jahrestag der Uraufführung liegt der Film in einer vom Kameranegativ gezogenen neuen Kopie vor, die auch das fast quadratische Bildformat (1:1.19) des frühen Tonfilms berücksichtigt.
Gedreht wurde der Film „frei nach Brecht“ und mit der „Musik von Weill“ vom 19. September bis 15. November 1930 in den Efa-Studios in der Cicerostraße in Halensee und in der Zeppelin-Halle in Staaken, Berlin. Schon vor der Aufführung hielten Streitigkeiten um den Film die Öffentlichkeit in Atem. Brecht und Weill prozessierten mit der Nero-Film um die Autorenrechte. Die Zensurbehörden führten Attacken gegen die „Bordellballade“ und fürchteten, der Weltmarkt könne „das ganze deutsche Volk für sittlich vollkommen verwahrlost halten“.
Rudolf Arnheim schrieb 1931 in der „Weltbühne“, dass die juristischen Auseinandersetzungen die Diskussionen um den Film bestimmt hätten, „und viele wissen nicht, was für eine wunderschöne Arbeit da geleistet worden ist. Die charmante Süße von Kurt Weills Musik; der adlige Tänzer Rudolf Forster, der Melone und Spazierstöckchen wie Insignien der Schauspielkunst trägt; die geschmeidig gleitende Kamera, die den Schauplatz der Handlung in lautlose Drehung versetzt und ihm dadurch aufs Glücklichste eine märchenhafte Unwirklichkeit verleiht, das benebelnde Perspektivenspiel gespenstisch vergitterter Innenräume, beängstigender Treppen, traumhaft komplizierter Fensterdurchblicke; der ironische Kitsch des Vollmondes und klagender Liebeslieder; die malerische Frechheit der Bettlerbörse; die zierliche, (…) nicht antastbare Anmut, mit der hier ,verrohend und entsittlichend’ gewirkt wird – man lasse sich das nicht entgehen!“

Deutschland (bis 1945) 1931, 113 Min

von

G.W. Pabst

mit

Rudolf Forster
Carola Neher
Reinhold Schünzel