Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Berlinale Special

La tigre e la neve

The Tiger And The Snow

Der Tiger und der Schnee

Roberto Benigni (Director/Actor)
Nicoletta Braschi (Actress)

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

THE TIGER AND THE SNOW

Rome in 2003, shortly before American troops invaded Iraq. Poet and university lecturer Attilo De Giovanni lives in an ivory tower. His latest anthology of poems – “The Tiger and the Snow” – has recently been published and has been well-received by critics and readers alike. This sensitive poet is rarely affected by the banalities of everyday life and at night his dreams are full of Vittoria, the woman he would like to marry. In real life, however, the woman of his dreams is simply not interested. Attilo follows her, pleads with her and throws himself at her feet – but the more he tries to win her heart, the more adamant is her rebuff.
Vittoria is also a writer. She is currently working on a biography of the famous Iraqi poet, Fuad, who has been living in Paris for many years but who plans to return to Baghdad to be with his fellow Iraqis when war breaks out. Attilo once met the poet with Vittoria when he came to Rome.
One day Attilo receives a phone call from Baghdad. It’s Fuad. He has dreadful news. Vittoria has been badly wounded in one of the first British and American bombing raids and is dying. Attilo doesn’t hesitate even for a mo­ment. He moves heaven and earth to be allowed to travel to Iraq with a delegation of Red Cross employees. With great good luck and dogged persistence he manages to make it to Vittoria’s bedside. She is lying unattended, in a hospital with only the most piffling facilities and equipment at its disposal. If she is to survive, she needs medication that cannot be obtained in Baghdad.
Refusing to give up hope, Attilo scours the ruins and the rubble of the war zone in desperate search of a pharmacy. Unable to find a single intact drug store in the entire city, he sets off instead to find an chemist able to prepare the medication. But then Attilo falls into the hands of the Americans…

Italy 2005, 113 min

by

Roberto Benigni

with

Roberto Benigni
Nicoletta Braschi
Jean Reno
Tom Waits

World Sales

Focus Features International

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Special

La tigre e la neve

The Tiger And The Snow

Der Tiger und der Schnee

Roberto Benigni (Regisseur/Schauspieler)
Nicoletta Braschi (Schauspielerin)

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

DER TIGER UND DER SCHNEE

Rom im Jahr 2003, kurz vor dem Einmarsch amerikanischer Truppen in den Irak. Der Dichter und Universitätsdozent Attilo De Giovanni ist ein Bewohner des Elfenbeinturms. Vor kurzem ist sein jüngster Gedichtband erschienen, „Der Tiger und der Schnee“, und sowohl bei der Kritik wie bei der Leserschaft auf positive Resonanz gestoßen. Banalitäten des Alltags erreichen den subtilen Poeten kaum; nachts träumt er von Vittoria, der Frau, die er heiraten möchte. Doch im wahren Leben will die Frau seiner Träume nichts von ihm wissen. Attilo stellt ihr nach, er beschwört sie, er wirft sich ihr zu Füßen – doch je mehr er sich um sie bemüht, umso standhafter weist sie ihn ab.
Vittoria ist ebenfalls schriftstellerisch tätig. Zurzeit arbeitet sie an einer Biografie des bekannten irakischen Dichters Fuad, der seit vielen Jahren in Paris lebt, nun aber die Rückkehr nach Bagdad plant. Wenn der Krieg ausbricht, will er an der Seite seines Volkes stehen. Gemeinsam mit Vittoria hat Attilo ihn einmal in Rom kennen gelernt.
Eines Tages erreicht Attilo ein Anruf aus Bagdad. Am Apparat ist Fuad. Er hat schlimme Neuigkeiten. Bei einem der ersten Bombenangriffe der Amerikaner und Briten ist Vittoria schwer verletzt worden; sie liegt im Sterben. Attilo zögert keine Sekunde: Er setzt Himmel und Hölle in Bewegung und reist mit einer Delegation des Roten Kreuzes in den Irak. Mit viel Glück und Dickköpfigkeit gelangt er an Vittorias Krankenbett. Gänzlich unversorgt liegt sie in einem ärmlich ausgestatteten Krankenhaus. Wenn sie überleben soll, braucht sie ein bestimmtes Medikament, das in Bagdad aber nicht erhältlich ist.
Attilo aber gibt die Hoffnung nicht auf. Durch Trümmerlandschaften und Bombenhagel irrend, macht er sich auf die Suche nach einer Apotheke. Und als er in der ganzen Stadt keine intakte findet, nach einem Alchemisten, der das Präparat herstellen kann. Doch dann fällt Attilo den Amerikanern in die Hände…

Italien 2005, 113 Min

von

Roberto Benigni

mit

Roberto Benigni
Nicoletta Braschi
Jean Reno
Tom Waits

Weltvertrieb

Focus Features International