Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Meninas

Teen Mothers

Mädchen

TEEN MOTHERS

On her 13th birthday Evelin realises that she is pregnant. The child’s father is her 22-year-old boyfriend who has recently stopped working for dealers in Rocinha, Rio de Janeiro’s largest favela. Evelin is surprised to learn that he is looking forward to becoming a father – she had expected a different reaction from him.
Luana, 15, never once contemplated having an abortion when she found out that she was pregnant. Her father died when she was very young and she has been living with her four younger sisters and her mother in a household of women. As a young girl she was obliged to help her mother raise the younger children. Of late, she’s often pondered what it would be like to have a child that “belongs to her alone.”
Edilene did not plan her pregnancy but did nothing to avoid getting pregnant. The same applies to her mother and so, mother and daughter now find themselves pregnant at the same time. Edilene is expecting a son from Alex, with whom she is very much in love. But Alex is a womaniser, and 15-year-old Joice is also expecting a child from him. Naturally, this love triangle is a real drama for Edilene, who is just 14.
Director Sandra Werneck has spent three years capturing on camera the everyday lives of these three young girls.

Brazil 2005, 71 min

by

Sandra Werneck, Gisela Camara

World Sales

Grupo Novo De Cinema e TV GNCTV

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Meninas

Teen Mothers

Mädchen

MINDERJÄHRIGE MÜTTER

An ihrem 13. Geburtstag bemerkt Evelin, dass sie schwanger ist. Geschwängert hat sie ihr 22 Jahre alter Freund, der erst vor kurzem aufgehört hat, für die Dealer in Rocinha, der größten Favela in Rio de Janeiro, zu arbeiten. An­ders als Evelin es von ihm erwartet hätte, freut er sich darauf, Vater zu werden.
Die Möglichkeit einer Abtreibung hat auch die 15 Jahre alte Luana nicht in Erwägung gezogen, als sie von ihrer Schwangerschaft erfuhr. Ihr Vater ist gestorben, als sie noch sehr jung war. Seither lebt sie mit vier jüngeren Schwestern und ihrer Mutter in einem reinen Frauenhaushalt. Schon als Kind musste sie ihrer Mutter helfen, die jüngeren Mädchen großzuziehen. In letzter Zeit hat sie häufiger mal daran gedacht, ein Baby zu bekommen, „das ihr alleine gehört“.
Edilene hat ihre Schwangerschaft nicht geplant, aber auch nichts unternommen, um sie zu vermeiden. Das Gleiche gilt für ihre Mutter, so dass Mutter und Tochter nun gleichzeitig schwanger sind. Edilene erwartet einen Sohn von Alex, den sie sehr liebt. Alex aber ist ein Don Juan – auch die 15 Jahre alte Joice erwartet ein Kind von ihm. Edilene, die 14 ist, empfindet dieses Beziehungsdreieck natürlich als Drama.
Die Regisseurin Sandra Werneck hat die drei jungen Mädchen ein Jahr lang mit der Kamera durch ihren Alltag begleitet.

Brasilien 2005, 71 Min

von

Sandra Werneck, Gisela Camara

Weltvertrieb

Grupo Novo De Cinema e TV GNCTV