Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2005

Retrospective

Nov 15, 2004:
The Berlinale Retrospective 2005: “Production Design & Film”

Whether sets are lavish and opulent, or reticent and plain – production design determines a film’s look and atmosphere. It shapes what is visually typical for a film.

Entitled “Schauplätze – Drehorte – Spielräume. Production Design & Film“ (“Settings – Locations – Scenes. Production Design & Film”), the Retrospective of the 55th Berlin International Film Festival (February 10 – 20, 2005) will be dedicated to the profession and impact of production design.

“Production designers are much more than just set builders”, Berlinale director Dieter Kosslick comments on the Retrospective 2005. “They are genuine artists who substantially influence the overall appearance of a film. At first glance the effects are often not evident, yet their work is of utmost importance for communicating dramatic action.” Production designers supply the visual key for the mood and story of a film. They bring out individual emotions and social conditions as well as accentuate what is mysterious or menacing.

The Retrospective of the Berlinale 2005 will be structured around five topics that reveal various mechanisms and aspects of production design. The series will encompass 45 international films from the past 65 years. Stanley Kubrick’s films, so formative for style, have been reserved a special place in the programme.

The topic of “Interiors” is devoted to inner worlds and private realms. A compelling example for this was created by Rolf Zehetbauer for Rainer Werner Fassbinder’s film Die Sehnsucht der Veronika Voss (Veronika Voss, FRG, 1981/82). And in the interior designed for Mike Nichols’ film Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (USA, 1966), Richard Sylbert succeeded in exposing the inner conflicts of the academic couple Taylor/Burton.

Under the heading “Transit”, films will be presented in which cinematic space has become a metaphor. In Ingmar Bergman’s film Tystnaden (The Silence, Sweden, 1962/63), production designer P. A. Lundgren created permeable spaces, and so made the “silence” so relevant in the film audible and estrangement visible. In 2001: A Space Odyssey (Great Britain/USA, 1965–68) Stanley Kubrick’s view on humanity’s development found a counterpart in the production designs of Ernest Archer, Harry Lange and Anthony Masters.

The section “Power” will include films such as Gattaca (USA, 1997) by Andrew Niccol. In it Jan Roelfs has subtly succeeded in reflecting via the architecture and design what is so threatening about totalitarian structures. In the sets for Billy Wilder’s masterpiece The Apartment (USA, 1960), Alexandre Trauner translated a world of hierarchies and dependencies into three-dimensional space.

The space lying between reality and illusion becomes apparent in the category “Stage”. For instance, in E la nave va (And the Ship Sails On, Italy/France, 1983), Dante Ferretti created an artificial sea out of sheets of plastic because Federico Fellini had not wanted a “real sea” in his film. In K. Efimov’s constructions, Grigori Alexandrov’s comedy Vesna (Spring, USSR, 1947) becomes life’s double – and life, the film’s double.

In “Labyrinths”, films will be screened which exhibit an interplay between narrative structures and spatial constellations. Endless corridors and bewildering spatial arrangements turn into mazes. Such is the case, for example, in Stanley Kubrick’s film The Shining (Great Britain/USA, 1978–80), for which Roy Walker was the production designer. A labyrinthine form can also be encountered in Bernardo Bertolucci’s Strategia del ragno (The Spider’s Stratagem, Italy, 1969/70), a reflection on betrayal and guilt for which production designer Maria Paola Maino found a beguiling location.

Curated by Ralph Eue, the Retrospective of the 55th Berlin International Film Festival is being organized by the Filmmuseum Berlin – Deutsche Kinemathek under the supervision of director Hans Helmut Prinzler. Screenings will be held at the CinemaxX at Potsdamer Platz. A book on the Retrospective is being published in German by Bertz + Fischer Verlag, Berlin: “Schauplätze – Drehorte – Spielräume. Production Design & Film”. Lectures and discussions are to accompany the programme at the Filmmuseum Berlin. Moreover, from February 10 to June 19, 2005, the exhibition “Moving Spaces” will be on display.

The Deutsches Filmmuseum in Frankfurt/Main will present its exhibition “Stanley Kubrick” at the Martin-Gropius-Bau in Berlin from January 19 to April 11, 2005. Further synergies can be expected to arise during the Berlinale Talent Campus which will also be focusing on the topic of production design.

Press Office

November 15, 2004

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2005

Retrospektive

15.11.2004:
Berlinale-Retrospektive 2005 „Production Design & Film“

Ob verschwenderisch und opulent ausgestattete Sets oder zurückhaltend und schlicht gestaltete Räume – Production Design bestimmt den Look und die Atmosphäre eines Films und gibt dem visuell Typischen seine Gestalt.

Die Retrospektive der 55. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin (10.–20.02.2005) widmet sich unter dem Titel „Schauplätze – Drehorte – Spielräume. Production Design & Film“ der Wirkung und dem Metier des Production Designs.

„Production Designer sind weit mehr als nur Kulissenbauer“, kommentiert Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick die Retrospektive 2005. „Sie sind genuine Künstler, die das Gesamtbild eines Films wesentlich beeinflussen. Die Wirkung ihrer Arbeit ist auf den ersten Blick oft unterschwellig, doch für die Vermittlung der dramatischen Handlung sehr wichtig.“ Production Designer liefern den visuellen Schlüssel für die Stimmung und Geschichte eines Films. Die Ausstattung kann individuelle Gefühle ebenso wie gesellschaftliche Verhältnisse zum Ausdruck bringen oder das Rätselhafte und Bedrohliche einer Handlung akzentuieren.

Die Retrospektive der Berlinale 2005 ist gegliedert in fünf thematische Bereiche, die verschiedene Aspekte der Wirkungsweise von Production Design zeigen. Die Filmreihe umfasst 45 internationale Filme aus den vergangenen 65 Jahren. Dabei wird den stilbildenden Filmen Stanley Kubricks ein besonderer Platz eingeräumt.

Die Rubrik „Interiors“ widmet sich Innenwelten und privaten Räumen. Diese hat zum Beispiel Rolf Zehetbauer für Rainer Werner Fassbinders Film Die Sehnsucht der Veronika Voss (BRD, 1981/82) eindringlich in Szene gesetzt. Und Richard Sylbert gelingt es, mit der Gestaltung des Interieurs in Mike Nichols’ Film Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? ( Wer hat Angst vor Virginia Woolf?, USA, 1966) innere Konflikte des Akademikerpaars Taylor/Burton sichtbar zu machen.

Unter der Überschrift „Transit“ werden Filme gezeigt, in denen der filmische Raum zur Metapher wird: Der Production Designer P.A. Lundgren gestaltete in Ingmar Bergmans Film Tystnaden (Das Schweigen, Schweden, 1962/63) durchlässige Räume, die das thematisierte „Schweigen” hörbar machen, Entfremdung visualisieren. In 2001: A Space Odyssey (2001: Odyssee im Weltraum, Großbritannien/USA, 1965–68) findet Stanley Kubricks Blick auf die Entwicklung der Menschheit im Production Design von Ernest Archer, Harry Lange und Anthony Masters seine Entsprechung.

Der Abschnitt „Macht“ zeigt unter anderem Gattaca (Gattaca, USA, 1997) von Andrew Niccol. In diesem Film ist es Jan Roelfs auf subtile Weise gelungen, das Bedrohliche totalitärer Strukturen in Architektur und Design zu spiegeln. Für Billy Wilders Meisterwerk The Apartment (Das Appartement, USA, 1960) hat Alexandre Trauner mit seinen Bauten eine Welt der Hierarchien und Abhängigkeiten räumlich übersetzt.

Der Zwischen-Raum von Realität und Illusion wird im Bereich „Bühne“ sichtbar. Für E la nave va (Fellinis Schiff der Träume, Italien/Frankreich, 1983) etwa kreierte Dante Ferretti ein artifizielles Meer aus riesigen Plastikplanen, weil Federico Fellini in seinem Film kein „echtes Meer“ haben wollte. In den Bauten K. Efimows wird Grigorij Alexandrows Komödie Wesna (Der Frühling, UdSSR, 1947) zum Double des Lebens und das Leben zum Double des Films.

Die Rubrik „Labyrinth“ versammelt Filme, die ein Wechselspiel von Erzählstruktur und Raumkonstellation präsentieren. Endlose Flure und verwirrende Raumabfolgen werden zum Irrgarten. So zum Beispiel in Stanley Kubricks Film The Shining (Shining, Großbritannien/USA, 1978–80), für den Roy Walker das Production Design entworfen hat. Die labyrinthische Form findet sich aber auch in Bernardo Bertoluccis Strategia del ragno (Die Strategie der Spinne, Italien, 1969/70), einer Reflexion über Verrat und Schuld, für die die Production Designerin Maria Paola Maino einen betörenden Drehort ausfindig machte.

Die von Ralph Eue kuratierte Retrospektive der 55. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin wird vom Filmmuseum Berlin – Deutsche Kinemathek verantwortet. Leiter der Retrospektive ist Hans Helmut Prinzler. Die Filmvorführungen finden im CinemaxX am Potsdamer Platz statt. Zur Retrospektive erscheint im Berliner Bertz + Fischer Verlag die Publikation „Schauplätze – Drehorte – Spielräume. Production Design & Film“. Im Filmmuseum Berlin gibt es begleitende Vorträge und Diskussionen. Außerdem wird dort vom 10. Februar bis zum 19. Juni 2005 die Ausstellung „Bewegte Räume“ gezeigt.

Das Deutsche Filmmuseum Frankfurt am Main präsentiert vom 19. Januar bis zum 11. April 2005 im Martin-Gropius-Bau die Ausstellung „Stanley Kubrick“. Zusätzliche Synergien ergeben sich mit dem Berlinale Talent Campus, der sich ebenfalls dem Thema Production Design widmet.

Presseabteilung

15. November 2004