Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Kyo no dekigoto

A Day On The Planet

A DAY ON THE PLANET

Just like his earlier work, GO, Isao Yukisada’s latest film is another youth drama. Based on a novel by Tomoka Shibasaki, who western readers might well describe as a pop writer, Yukisada’s ensemble film brings together the cream of Japan’s up and coming young actors.
Masamichi is about to take up post-graduate studies; he has invited six friends for a farewell dinner and so the group come together to spend the evening in his apartment. All of his friends are students; they include Nakazawa, a budding filmmaker who is about to embark upon his first film project; Masamichi’s enchanting girlfriend, Maki and his best friend, Kate, who spends the whole evening ogling Kawachi. This pretty, gamine young girl succeeds in intimidating the young man completely. One reason for this is the fact that she ignores Masamichi’s other guests, the rather down-at-heel Nishiyama and the pretty much off-the-wall Sakamoto.
The group eat and drink, managing to polish off quite a few bottles. But the night is still young. On the television news they hear reports of a stranded whale and a man stuck between two buildings. It’s an ordinary evening in which nothing in particular occurs and yet, there’s so much happening. Capturing a series of brief yet valuable moments in time, the film portrays the kind of trivial events that are somehow so important for life on this planet.

Japan 2003, 110 min

by

Isao Yukisada

with

Rena Tanaka
Satoshi Tsumabuki
Ayumi Ito
Shuji Kashiwabara

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Kyo no dekigoto

A Day On The Planet

EIN TAG AUF DEM PLANETEN

Wie GO, der von einem jungen Koreaner in Japan erzählt, behandelt auch die neue Arbeit von Isao Yukisada ein jugendspezifisches Thema. Dabei führt sein Ensemblefilm – der auf einem Roman von Tomoka Shibasaki basiert, die man hier zu Lande wohl eine „Pop-Autorin“ nennen würde – die erste Garde japanischer Nachwuchsschauspieler zusammen.
Masamichi wird in Kürze ein Graduiertenstudium beginnen. Zuvor hat er sechs Freunde zum Essen eingeladen. Gemeinsam verbringen sie den Abend in seiner neuen Wohnung in Kyoto. Alle sind sie wie er Studenten: Nakazawa, ein angehender Filmemacher, der gerade sein erstes Projekt ins Auge fasst; seine bezaubernde Freundin Maki und sein bester Freund Kate, der den ganzen Abend lang nur Augen für Kawachi hat. Das hübsche, jungenhafte Mädchen schüchtert den armen Kerl ganz schön ein, auch weil sie die anderen Freunde von Masamichi völlig ignoriert: den ziemlich heruntergekommenen Nishiyama und den reichlich abgehobenen Sakamoto.
Man isst und trinkt, ein paar Flaschen werden geleert, aber die Nacht ist noch jung. Die Fernsehnachrichten bringen Meldungen von einem gestrandeten Wal und einem Mann, der zwischen zwei Gebäuden festklemmt. Es ist ein ganz normaler Abend, an dem nichts Besonderes passiert und doch gleichzeitig so viel: Es sind kurze, kostbare Momente, ganz trivial und doch bezeichnend für das Leben auf diesem Planeten.

Japan 2003, 110 Min

von

Isao Yukisada

mit

Rena Tanaka
Satoshi Tsumabuki
Ayumi Ito
Shuji Kashiwabara