Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

End Of The Century - The Story Of The Ramones

END OF THE CENTURY

Joey Ramone would never have dreamed that one day a street would be named after him. And yet this is precisely what occurred in December 2003, when, two years after Joey’s death, the junction at Second Street and Bowery was indeed named after the front man of the world’s first punk band. The aforementioned junction is not far from CBGB’s, the club where the Ramones’ career began.
This film is another monument to the band. In a mixture of original archive footage and interviews with band members, friends and fans, the documentary recalls this band from Queens, New York who, clad in black leather jackets and with the legendary “three chords” of their song, one, two, three, four, succeeded in putting the rock ‘n’ roll back into the ossified rock music of the time. The Ramones’ rise to stardom on the New York underground scene during the mid-seventies was as fast and furious as their songs and – Gabba Gabba Hey – knew no bounds: legend has it that the Ramones conquered Great Britain on 4 July (!), 1976. It is also said that the audience at their first gig in London included just about all the musicians who were later to become members of The Clash, The Sex Pistols and The Damned as well as Chrissie Hynde of The Pretenders.
The band’s intense ups were followed by downs of equal intensity. For this reason, this portrait necessarily tackles such issues as drugs and alcohol; it also examines the band’s arguments and their exploitation at the hands of the music industry. In fact, END OF THE CENTURY strives to be as faithful in recounting this aspect of the Ramones’ story as the band’s music was honest. Hey, Ho, let’s go!

USA 2003, 97 min

by

Jim Fields, Michael Gramaglia

World Sales

Films Transit International

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

End Of The Century - The Story Of The Ramones

END OF THE CENTURY

Das hätte sich Joey Ramone wohl kaum träumen lassen – dass einmal eine Straße nach ihm benannt werden würde. Und doch ist es Anfang Dezember 2003 passiert: Zwei Jahre nach seinem Tod wurde in New York die Straßenkreuzung Second Street/Bowery nach dem Frontmann der ersten Punkband der Welt benannt – ganz in der Nähe des CBGB’s, des Musikclubs, in dem die Karriere der Ramones begann.
Der Film setzt ihnen ein weiteres Denkmal. In zeitgenössischen Originalaufnahmen und Interviews mit Bandmitgliedern, Freunden und Fans erinnert er an die aus dem New Yorker Queens stammende Band, die mit schwarzen Lederjacken und berühmt gewordenen „drei Akkorden“ der erstarrten Rockmusik – one, two, three, four – den Rock’n’Roll zurückgab. Ähnlich rasant wie ihre Stücke waren, wurden sie Mitte der 70er Jahre Stars des New Yorker Underground und – Gabba Gabba Hey – weit darüber hinaus: Die Legende besagt, dass die Ramones am 4. Juli (!) 1976 Großbritannien eroberten. Bei ihrem ersten Londoner Auftritt sollen spätere Mitglieder der Clash, der Sex Pistols, der Damned und Chrissie Hynde von den Pretenders zugegen gewesen sein.
Den heftigen Ups folgten heftige Downs: Notgedrungen handelt das filmische Porträt der Band auch von Alkohol und Drogen, von Streit und Ausbeutung im Musikgeschäft. Darin ist er ebenso ehrlich wie die Musik der Ramones immer war. Hey, Ho, let’s go!

USA 2003, 97 Min

von

Jim Fields, Michael Gramaglia

Weltvertrieb

Films Transit International