Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Berlinale Special

Le Sacre du Printemps

LE SACRE DU PRINTEMPS

Igor Stravinsky’s “Le Sacre du printemps” was inspired by prehistoric rituals as well as by a dance performed for the Slavic god, Yarilo. In his silent film, director Oliver Herrmann transposes the story to the realm of Santeria – one of the few archaic religions still practised in the world today. In Herrmann’s version of “Sacre”, the material world is represented as an emotionally impoverished metropolis and the spiritual world is symbolised by a tropical island where Santeria rituals are still performed.
God is a black woman. In her kitchen she is busy preparing another one of her experiments, in this case, the creation of the three main characters:
Dr Bardot, a brain surgeon who feels terrorised by the chaos and dirt of the world around him; Esther, a woman consumed by grief following the death of her husband and Lucia, a young girl abused by her father who seeks revenge in an act of self-destruction.
The hands of god place Esther, Lucia and Dr Bardot in the same city in order to observe how they live. All three share the same fate: at the point when their maniacal obsessions reach their peak, they suddenly find themselves whisked away to a house by the ocean on a tropical island, where black albinos, dwarfs and transvestites prepare them for a ritual that will heal them of their fears. Meanwhile, god watches the result of her experiment through her kitchen window …
The music for this silent film was performed and recorded by the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Sir Simon Rattle, who will also conduct a live performance of the work at the film’s premiere at Berlin’s Philharmonic Hall.

Germany / Switzerland 2003, 38 min

by

Oliver Herrmann

with

Sophie Semin
Ariadna del Carmen
Robert Hunger-Bühler

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Special

Le Sacre du Printemps

LE SACRE DU PRINTEMPS

Strawinskys Inspiration für „Le Sacre du Printemps“ waren prähistorische Rituale und Tänze für den slawischen Gott Yarilo. Der Regisseur Oliver Herrmann transferiert in seinem Stummfilm die Handlung in die Welt der Santeria, eine der wenigen noch heute praktizierten archaischen Religionen. In Herrmanns Film wird die materielle Welt als eine gefühlskalte Großstadt dargestellt. Die spirituelle Welt hingegen wird durch eine tropische Insel symbolisiert, auf der Santeria-Rituale praktiziert werden.
Gott ist eine schwarze Frau. In ihrer Küche bereitet sich ein neues Experiment vor – die Schöpfung der drei Protagonisten: Dr. Bardot, ein genialischer Hirnchirurg, der sich vom Chaos und Schmutz der Welt terrorisiert fühlt; Esther, die sich in der Trauer um ihren toten Mann selbst verliert; und Lucia, ein Mädchen, das, von seinem Vater missbraucht, in einem Akt der Selbstzerstörung Rache sucht. Die Hand Gottes setzt Lucia, Esther und
Dr. Bardot in einer Stadt aus und beobachtet sie in ihrem Leben. Magisch werden sie von einer tropischen Insel angezogen. Dort werden sie von Zwergen, Albinos und Transvestiten auf ein Ritual vorbereitet, das sie reinigen und von ihren Zwängen befreien soll.
Bei seiner Uraufführung wird der Stummfilm live von den Berliner Philharmoniker unter Leitung von Sir Simon Rattle begleitet.

Deutschland / Schweiz 2003, 38 Min

von

Oliver Herrmann

mit

Sophie Semin
Ariadna del Carmen
Robert Hunger-Bühler