Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Nienasycenie

Insatiability

Die Unersättlichkeit

Wiktor Grodecki (Regisseur)
Cezary Pazura (Schauspieler & Produzent)
Miroslav Caslavka (Schauspieler)
Michal Lewandowski (Schauspieler)
Leszek Mozdzer (Musik)
David Svec (Regieassistenz)
Moderation: Stephen Locke

## ## ##

INSATIABILITY

The creative output of Polish writer Stanilslaw Ignacy Witkiewicz (1885–1939) comprises novels, stories, stage plays, paintings and photographs and represents something of an avant-garde Gesamtkunstwerk. Like his semi-autobiographical novel, ”622 Downfalls of Bungo or the Demonic Woman“, his 1930 work „Insatiability“ tells the story of the fateful influence of a ”demonic woman“.
”Insatiability“ is set in Europe in the near future. Whilst the old continent is busy trying to defend its identity in the face of an onslaught by the Chinese, 18-year-old Genezip is in the throes of discovering his own identity – in sexual, social and even metaphysical terms. Whilst his father, an autocratic brewery owner, lies on his deathbed, Genezip comes under the sway of a dominating, red-haired Russian princess named Irina di Ticonderoga, who was once his father’s mistress. However, Genezip loses his innocence not to her but to an avant-garde composer named Putricides Tengier, a homosexual with a hunchback, who uses philosophical arguments to seduce the poor boy whilst he protects him from attack by a pack of howling wolves during a nocturnal encounter.
At his father’s behest, Genezip puts himself under the command of Commander KocmoŒluchowicz, who is trying to defend Poland against the ”Chinks“. However, from this point on, Genezip’s fate is sealed, for, once in the capital, the young man with an authority fixation soon becomes acquainted with life in the modern metropolis. Already fragile and uptight as a result of his previous sexual encounters, the young man now surrenders himself with masochistic zeal to his commander, in whom he sees a substitute father, and to a Russian actress named Persy, who far exceeds her predecessor both in terms of her domineering character and her demoniacal personality.

Poland / Czech Republic 2003, 125 min

by

Wiktor Grodecki

with

Michal Lewandowski
Cezary Pazura
Katarzyna Gniewkowska
Weronika Marczuk-Pazura
Leon Niemczyk

World Sales

Sting Productions

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Nienasycenie

Insatiability

Die Unersättlichkeit

Wiktor Grodecki (Regisseur)
Cezary Pazura (Schauspieler & Produzent)
Miroslav Caslavka (Schauspieler)
Michal Lewandowski (Schauspieler)
Leszek Mozdzer (Musik)
David Svec (Regieassistenz)
Moderation: Stephen Locke

## ## ##

UNERSÄTTLICHKEIT

Der polnische Autor Stanislaw Ignacy Witkiewicz (1885–1939) hat mit Romanen, Erzählungen, Theaterstücken, Bildern und Fotografien ein avantgardistisches Gesamtkunstwerk hinterlassen. Wie sein autobiografischer Roman „622 Abstürze Bungos“ erzählt auch „Unersättlichkeit“ (1930) vom unheilvollen Einfluss einer „dämonischen Frau“.
„Unersättlichkeit“ spielt in einem Europa der nahen Zukunft. Während
der alte Kontinent sich gegen die Eroberung durch die Chinesen behauptet, muss der 18 Jahre junge Genezip seine Identität – in sexueller, sozialer und metaphysischer Hinsicht – erst noch entdecken. Als sein Vater, ein herrischer Brauereibesitzer, auf dem Sterbebett liegt, gerät Genezip unter den Einfluss einer russischen Prinzessin: Irina di Ticonderoga, rothaarig und dominant, die frühere Mätresse seines Vaters. Seine Unschuld verliert Genezip allerdings an den avantgardistischen Komponisten Putricides Tengier, einen buckligen Homosexuellen, der den armen Jungen mit philosophischen Argumenten verführt, während er ihn bei einer nächtlichen Begegnung gleichzeitig vor einem Angriff heulender Wölfe beschützt.
Als sich Genezip auf Geheiß seines Vaters dem Kommandeur KocmoŒluchowicz unterstellt, der Polen gegen die „Schlitzaugen“ verteidigt, nimmt das Verhängnis seinen Lauf. Denn in der Hauptstadt macht der junge, autoritätsfixierte Soldat Bekanntschaft mit dem modernen Großstadtleben. Von diversen sexuellen Begegnungen seelisch angeknackst, ergibt er sich mit masochistischer Lust schließlich ganz dem Kommandeur, in dem er einen Ersatzvater findet, und der russischen Schauspielerin Persy, die ihre Vorgängerin an Dominanz und Dämonie noch übertrifft.

Polen / Tschechische Republik 2003, 125 Min

von

Wiktor Grodecki

mit

Michal Lewandowski
Cezary Pazura
Katarzyna Gniewkowska
Weronika Marczuk-Pazura
Leon Niemczyk

Weltvertrieb

Sting Productions