Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Digna hasta el último aliento

Digna...Worthy To Her Final Breath

DIGNA . . . WORTHY TO HER FINAL BREATH

On 19 October, 2001, attorney-at-law Digna Ochoa y Plácido was found shot dead in her legal office in Mexico City. Her murderers left a letter announcing that, should they decide to continue their activities, the same fate would befall other members of the independent human rights organisation for which Digna Ochoa y Plácido worked.
The murder of this popular legal expert sent shockwaves of indignation throughout the world, particularly since it was widely believed that her death could have been avoided. After all, Digna Ochoa y Plácido had already received a number of dead threats and had even been attacked several times since 1995. In August, 1999, two unknown assailants forced her into a car in Mexico City where she was beaten and threatened with death should she make the attack public. In autumn of the same year, three men broke into her house, tied her up and interrogated her for several hours about her work, which, at the time included the defence of a number of imprisoned Zapatists.
When the newly-elected President, Vicente Fox, took up his office at the end of the year 2000, he declared his intention of greatly improving the human rights situation in Mexico – and yet the authorities continued to turn a blind eye to the case of Digna Ochoa y Plácido . . .
In his film, Felipe Cazals interviews over 60 contemporaries of Digne Ochoa y Plácido, including criminologists, human rights activists and lawyers who have themselves received death threats. We also hear from members of the clergy, police officers, politicians, political experts and members of the military, as well as Digna Ochoa y Plácido’s own family and friends. Their comments help to clarify the background of a crime for which nobody has so far been tried before a court of law.

Mexico 2003, 117 min

by

Felipe Cazals

World Sales

IMCINE - Instituto Mexicano de Cinematografía

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Digna hasta el último aliento

Digna...Worthy To Her Final Breath

DIGNA . . . WÜRDIG BIS ZUM LETZTEN ATEMZUG

Am 19. Oktober 2001 wurde die Rechtsanwältin Digna Ochoa y Plácido erschossen in ihrer Anwaltskanzlei in Mexico City aufgefunden. Ihre Mörder hinterließen einen Brief, in dem sie ankündigten, dass auch anderen Mitgliedern der unabhängigen Menschenrechtsorganisation, für die Digna Ochoa tätig war, dieses Schicksal drohe, sollten sie ihre Arbeit fortsetzen.
Der Mord an der populären Juristin sorgte weltweit für Empörung, muss man doch davon ausgehen, dass er hätte verhindert werden können. Schließlich war Digna Ochoa y Plácido schon seit 1995 mehrmals bedroht und angegriffen worden. Im August 1999 hatten zwei unbekannte Männer sie in Mexico City in ein Auto gezwängt, geschlagen und mit dem Tode bedroht für den Fall, dass sie die Entführung an die Öffentlichkeit bringe. Im Herbst des gleichen Jahres waren drei Männer in ihr Haus eingedrungen, hatten sie gefesselt und sie über mehrere Stunden zu ihrer Arbeit befragt, zu der unter anderem die Verteidigung zapatistischer Häftlinge gehörte.
Als Ende 2000 der neu gewählte Staatspräsident Vicente Fox sein Amt antrat, erklärte er, die Menschenrechtssituation in Mexiko entscheidend verbessern zu wollen. Doch im Fall von Digna Ochoa y Plácido verschlossen die Behörden weiterhin die Augen . . .
Mehr als 60 Zeitzeugen kommen in Felipe Cazals’ Film zu Wort: Kriminologen und Journalisten, Menschenrechtsaktivisten und Rechtsanwälte, die selbst Morddrohungen erhalten haben, Angehörige der Kirche, Polizisten und Politiker, Politologen und Militärs, Freunde und Verwandte von Digna Ochoa y Plácido. Ihre Aussagen klären über die Hintergründe eines Verbrechens auf, für das sich bis heute niemand vor Gericht verantworten musste.

Mexiko 2003, 117 Min

von

Felipe Cazals

Weltvertrieb

IMCINE - Instituto Mexicano de Cinematografía