Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Die Mitte

The Center

## ##

THE CENTER

The geographical centre of Europe lies somewhere between North Cape, Greece, Portugal and Russia. But if you ask people where it is, one person will say he has no idea, another is convinced that it’s in Essen, a third happens to be on holiday; for a fourth person it’s right at the crux of the matter, while a fifth person is still looking for the proper point of view.
Polish filmmaker Stanislaw Mucha is still looking, too. He and his film crew take off on a lively odyssey until they find just what they’re looking for: over a dozen towns all claiming to be the “centre” of Europe. The people of Austria’s Braunau am Inn are allegedly at the heart of Europe, as are the population of Krahule in Slovakia. In the Polish town of Piþatek, someone swears that the centre has somehow disappeared. And in the western Ukrainian town of Rachiv, which has officially been the centre of Europe since 1887, we run into the last remaining Hasid, buying a newspaper called “Centre of Europe”.
This film follows a trail of errors, presumptions and bizarre self-assertions. It casts a particular light on eccentrics and visionaries, local patriots and continental utopians. Mucha shows how the growing struggle for survival on the part of those living both outside Europe’s old borders and inside the new ones is met with an even greater composure and sense of humour.
The people who live in these respective “centres” are the ones who determine our view of Europe. No centre is actually the centre and yet, every centre is the hub of the universe …

Germany 2003, 90 min

by

Stanislaw Mucha

World Sales

Telepool GmbH München - Head Office -

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Die Mitte

The Center

## ##

DIE MITTE

Irgendwo zwischen Nordkap, Griechenland, Portugal und Russland muss er liegen, der geografische Mittelpunkt Europas. Danach gefragt, sagt einer, er wisse überhaupt nichts, ein anderer weiß, der ist in Essen, ein Dritter ist gerade in Urlaub, für einen Vierten ist die geografische Mitte dort begraben, wo der Hund liegt, und ein Fünfter sucht noch den richtigen Standpunkt.
Der polnische Filmemacher Stanislaw Mucha hat sich auf die Suche begeben. Mit seiner Crew ist er unterwegs auf einer kurzweiligen Odyssee kreuz und quer durch den Kontinent und wird fündig – gleich zwölf Mal. Zwölf Orte, die den Anspruch erheben, das Zentrum Europas zu sein. Im österreichischen Braunau am Inn wird es genauso vermutet wie im slowakischen Krahule, und im polnischen Piþatek wird die Mitte vermisst. Im westukrainischen Rachiv ist sie seit 1887 amtlich, während sich der letzte
Chassidim seine Zeitung kauft, Titel: „Mitte Europas“.
Der Film folgt den Spuren von Irrtümern, Anmaßungen und skurriler Selbstbehauptung. Er wirft Schlaglichter auf Spinner und Visionäre, Lokalpatrioten und Kontinentalutopisten. Mucha erzählt davon, wie jenseits der alten EU-Grenzen, inmitten der neuen, die Existenzprobleme wachsen, mit ihnen jedoch auch Gelassenheit und Humor der Bewohner.
Die Menschen bestimmen die Betrachtung von Europa. Keine Mitte liegt wirklich im Zentrum, aber jede ist der Nabel der Welt . . .

Deutschland 2003, 90 Min

von

Stanislaw Mucha

Weltvertrieb

Telepool GmbH München - Head Office -