Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Awards

Dec 17, 2002:
Homage and a Golden Bear for Anouk Aimée

The Homage of the 53rd Berlin International Film Festival will be dedicated to the international star of French cinema Anouk Aimée. At the invitation of Festival Director Dieter Kosslick, Anouk Aimée will be a guest of honour at the Berlinale and receive a Golden Bear for Lifetime Achievement on February 13, 2003

Anouk Aimée made her film debut at the age of 13. She went on to work with many celebrated directors of European and International cinema. She has performed in films by Federico Fellini, Jacques Demy, Marco Bellocchio, Claude Lelouch, Bernardo Bertolucci, Sidney Lumet, George Cukor, Vittorio de Sica, Robert Altman amongst others. Her co-stars have included such outstanding performers as Marcello Mastroianni, Jean-Louis Trintignant, Omar Sharif, Gérard Philippe, Michel Piccoli, Yves Montand, Dirk Bogarde and Charles Aznavour. To date, Anouk Aimée's filmography covers almost 70 films.

"Anouk Aimée is one of the great European stars to whom we owe so many unforgettable moments on the screen. With a distinctive combination of melancholy and passion, she has demonstrated her splendid acting skills in countless films", Dieter Kosslick stated on announcement of the tribute.

The Berlinale Homage will present a selection of ten of her films. They will focus primarily on the 70s, when Anouk Aimée became a screen icon. She will be awarded her Golden Bear for Lifetime Achievement at the screening of Lola on February 13 at the Berlinale-Palast.

Her breakthrough as an actress came with Les amants de Vérone (1949), Modigliani (1958), La Dolce Vita (1960), Lola (1961) and Eight and a Half (1963). She achieved fame in Claude Lelouch's love serenade A Man and a Woman (1966), which was awarded an Oscar and a Palme d'Or and for which Aimée received a Golden Globe, a British Award of Best actress and an Oscar nomination. She received the Best actress award at the Festival of Cannes for Salto nel Vuoto (1980). Hollywood had discovered this European talent and she performed in Sidney Lumet's psychodrama The Appointment (1968) and George Cukor's Justine (1969).

For many years romantic roles and the portrayal of melancholy, enigmatic women were her trademark. Fellini's La Dolce Vita (1960), André Delvaux's One Night...A Train (1968), Jacques Demy's US production The Model Shop (1968) and George Cukor's Justine (1969) also present Anouk Aimée as a taciturn, vulnerable beauty. Yet she demonstrated her versatility as an actress in films like Fellini's Eight and a Half (1963), Elie Chouraqui's Mon premier amour (1978), Marco Bellocchio's Leap into the Void (1979), Bernardo Bertolucci's La Tragedia di un uomo ridicolo (1981), Claude Lelouch's Viva la vie (1984), Skolimovski's Success is the Best Revenge, Claude Lelouch's Un homme et une femme: 20 ans déjà (1987), Prêt-à-Porter (1994) by Robert Altman, Alexandre Arcady's Dis-moi oui (1994) with Jean-Hugues Anglade and Luciano Tovoli's Le général de l'armée morte (1983) together with Michel Piccoli and Marcello Mastroianni.

In the year 1999 Anouk Aimèe acted in Une pour toutes under the direction of Claude Lelouch and in 2002 in Marceline Loriden-Iven's La petite prairie aux bouleaux. In addition to the large number of films, from 1995 to 1997 she played on stage in Love Letters by A. R. Gurney with Jean-Louis Trintignant and Bruno Cremer. This year France honoured its star with a César for her life's work.

The Homage to Anouk Aimée is being conceived and organized by the Filmmuseum Berlin - Deutsche Kinemathek.

December 17, 2002

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Preise und Ehrungen

17.12.2002:
Hommage und Goldener Ehrenbär für Anouk Aimée

Anouk Aimée, dem internationalen Star des französischen Kinos, ist die Hommage der 53. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin 2003 gewidmet. Auf Einladung des Festivaldirektors Dieter Kosslick wird Anouk Aimée Ehrengast des Festivals sein und am 13. Februar 2003 mit einem Goldenen Bären für ihr Lebenswerk ausgezeichnet.

Anouk Aimée gab bereits mit 13 Jahren ihr Film-Debüt. Sie hat mit den bedeutendsten Regisseuren des europäischen und internationalen Kinos gearbeitet: Federico Fellini, Jacques Demy, Marco Bellocchio, Claude Lelouch, Bernardo Bertolucci, Sidney Lumet, George Cukor, Vittorio de Sica, Robert Altman u. v. a.. Zu ihren Filmpartnern zählten Marcello Mastroianni, Jean-Louis Trintignant, Omar Sharif, Gérard Philippe, Michel Piccoli, Yves Montand, Dirk Bogarde und Charles Aznavour. Anouk Aimées Filmographie umfasst bis heute fast 70 Filme.

"Anouk Aimée gehört zu den großen europäischen Stars, denen wir unvergessliche Kinomomente verdanken. Mit ihrem unverwechselbaren Spiel von Melancholie und Leidenschaft hat sie in zahlreichen Filmen ihr großes schauspielerisches Können gezeigt", kommentiert Dieter Kosslick die Ehrung.

Die Berlinale-Hommage wird eine Auswahl von zehn ihrer Filme präsentieren und konzentriert sich vor allem auf die 70er Jahre, in denen Anouk Aimée zu einer Ikone des Kinos wurde. Die Verleihung des Goldenen Ehrenbären für ihre Karriere wird anlässlich der Vorführung von Lola am 13. Februar im Berlinale-Palast stattfinden.

Ihren künstlerischen Durchbruch hatte Anouk Aimée mit Les amants de Vérone (1949), Modigliani (1958), La Dolce Vita (1960), Lola (1961) und Achteinhalb (1963). Weltruhm erlangte Aimée durch Claude Lelouchs Liebesserenade Ein Mann und eine Frau (1966), der einen Oscar und die Goldene Palme erhielt, und für den Aimée mit dem Golden Globe und dem Britischen Filmpreis als beste Schauspielerin ausgezeichnet wurde, sowie eine Oscar-Nominierung bekam. Für den Film Salto nel Vuoto (1980) wurde sie beim Festival in Cannes als beste Schauspielerin geehrt. Hollywood entdeckte das europäische Talent, und so spielte sie in Sidney Lumets Psychodrama Ein Hauch von Sinnlichkeit (1968) und George Cukors Justine (1969).

Lange Zeit gehörten romantische Rollen und die Darstellung melancholisch-rätselhafter Frauen-Figuren zu ihrem Markenzeichen. Auch Fellinis La Dolce Vita (1960), André Delvauxs Un soir, un train (1968), Jacques Demys US-Produktion Das Fotomodell (1968) oder George Cukors Justine (1969) zeigen Anouk Aimée als verschlossene, verletzliche Schönheit. Ihre schauspielerische Wandelbarkeit zeigte sie u. a. in Fellinis Achteinhalb (1963), Elie Chouraquis Meine erste Liebe (1978), Marco Bellocchios Der Sprung ins Leere (1979), Bernardo Bertoluccis La Tragedia di un uomo ridicolo (1981), Claude Lelouchs Viva la vie - Es lebe das Leben (1984), Skolimovskis Success is the Best Revenge, Claude Lelouchs Un homme et une femme: 20 ans déjà (1987), Robert Altmans Prêt-à-Porter, Alexandre Arcadys Dis-moi oui (1994) mit Jean-Hugues Anglade und Luciano Tovolis Le général de l'armée morte (1983) an der Seite von Michel Piccoli und Marcello Mastroianni.

Im Jahr 1999 spielte Anouk Aimée unter der Regie von Claude Lelouch in Une pour toutes und 2002 in Marceline Loriden-Ivens La petite prairie aux bouleaux. Zusätzlich zu ihren zahlreichen Filmen war sie von 1995 bis 1997 auch auf der Theaterbühne zu bewundern, neben Jean-Louis Trintignant und Bruno Cremer in dem Stück Love Letters von A. R. Gurney. Frankreich hat seinen Star in diesem Jahr mit dem César für ihr Lebenswerk ausgezeichnet.

Die Hommage an Anouk Aimée wird vom Filmmuseum Berlin - Deutsche Kinemathek verantwortet.

17. Dezember 2002