Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Kinderfilmfest

Dec 18, 2002:
A Powerful Kinderfilmfest at the Berlinale 2003

The Kinderfilmfest programme for the Berlinale 2003, according to its new director Thomas Hailer, promises to be both diversified and extraordinary. Beginning this year, the films are again to be selected by a committee whose members include Thomas Hailer, assistant director Maryanne Redpath, actress Beate Jensen and script consultant Beate Völcker. With over 200 full-length feature and short films, a powerful range of international works is up for selection for the 26th Kinderfilmfest (Feb. 7 –16, 2003). And as the year draws to an end, seven titles for the programme are certain.

Hailer says, "it is striking how films from all round the globe are focusing ever more intently on children’s real lives. The trend for fantastic stories is unbroken, but they are increasingly related to true-to-life situations.” In a time of great upheaval and general insecurity, some questions seem to be more urgent than others: Where do I belong? And what can I still believe in?

In the Canadian film SAINT MONICA by Terrance Odette, a girl finds surprising answers. Driven by her desire to become an angel, she discovers a totally unknown world only a few blocks away. She achieves her goal after much effort and in a way she would never have imagined possible.

With hilarious humor and ease, Japanese director Yuji Nakae depicts a chaotic but functioning family in HOTEL HIBISCUS. At the heart of the film is nine-year-old Mieko, who masters her rather difficult life boldly and fearlessly.

In overpowering images, DONG SUNG (The Little Monk) by South Korean director Joo Kyung-Jung portrays how a nine-year-old Buddhist monk seeks warmth and security. He judges the rigid routine of monastery life by deeply human standards. And so the boy comes into conflict with his surroundings and has to make an important decision all on his own.

Arto Koskinen’s KAHLEKUNINGAS (The Handcuff King), a Finnish film, takes the audience back into the Seventies. Two boys strike up a friendship that defies all barriers and which is tested many times over, right up until the end. With the power of their imaginations and enormous strength of will, they succeed in living out their dreams, overcoming all barriers and doubts.

ELINA - SOM JAG INTE FANNS (Elina) is Finnish director Klaus Härö’s first full-length feature. At the Kinderfilmfest 2000 his short film NATTFLYKT was awarded a Special Mention by the children’s jury. This Swedish-Finnish co-production captivates the audience with its terrific imagery and the actors’ outstanding performances.

MISS ENTEBBE examines the ever escalating conflict between Israelis and Palestinians. Set against the Entebbe airplane hijacking in 1976, a group of children becomes involved in a dangerous adventure that quickly develops a life of its own and suddenly becomes deadly serious. With guts and breathtaking suspense, ignoring all taboos, the young Israeli director Omri Levy explores possibilities for ending the vicious spiral of violence.

The German entry DER ZEHNTE SOMMER (The Tenth Summer) will have its world premiere at the Kinderfilmfest. Tenderly and with a great love for detail, director Jörg Grünler tells the story of Kalli, who in the claustrophobic atmosphere of a small town in the Fifties burdens himself with more secrets than a child can possibly bear.

The complete Kinderfilmfest programme will be announced in January.

December 18, 2002

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Kinderfilmfest

18.12.2002:
Starkes Kinderfilmfest bei der Berlinale 2003

Ein vielfältiges und außergewöhnliches Programm verspricht Thomas Hailer, neuer Leiter des Kinderfilmfests der Berlinale, für das Festival 2003. Die Auswahl der Filme wird seit diesem Jahr wieder von einem Gremium, bestehend aus Thomas Hailer, seiner Stellvertreterin Maryanne Redpath, der Schauspielerin Beate Jensen sowie der Dramaturgin Beate Völcker, getroffen.

Mit über 200 Spielfilmen und Kurzfilmen steht ein starkes internationales Angebot für das 26. Kinderfilmfest (7.-16.02.2003) zur Auswahl. Sieben Titel wurden bereits vor Jahresende für das Programm bestätigt.

"Auffällig ist", so Hailer, "dass Filme rund um den Globus verstärkt den realen Alltag der Kinder als Thema aufgreifen. Der Trend zu phantastischen Stoffen bleibt ungebrochen, sie stehen aber immer mehr in realen Bezügen." In einer Zeit von großen Umbrüchen und allgemeiner Verunsicherung scheinen einige Fragen drängender zu werden: Wo gehöre ich hin? Und was kann ich noch glauben?

In dem kanadischen Film SAINT MONICA von Terrance Odette findet ein Mädchen überraschende Antworten. Angetrieben von dem Wunsch, ein Engel zu werden, entdeckt sie, nur wenige Straßenblöcke entfernt, eine völlig unbekannte Welt. Ihr Ziel erreicht sie nach vielen Mühen und auf eine Weise, die sie sich wohl nie hätte träumen lassen.

Mit umwerfender Komik und Leichtigkeit zeichnet der japanische Regisseur Yuji Nakae in HOTEL HIBISCUS das Bild einer chaotischen, aber dennoch funktionierenden Familie. Im Zentrum steht die 9-jährige Mieko, die respektlos und ohne Angst ihr gar nicht immer leichtes Leben meistert.

DONG SUNG von dem südkoreanischen Regisseur Joo Kyung-Jung erzählt in überwältigenden Bildern von der Suche eines neunjährigen buddhistischen Mönches nach Nähe und Geborgenheit. Das strenge Reglement des Klosterlebens misst er an zutiefst menschlichen Maßstäben. Dadurch gerät er mit seinem Umfeld in Konflikt und muss ganz auf sich gestellt eine wichtige Entscheidung treffen.

Der finnische Film KAHLEKUNINGAS von Arto Koskinen führt das Publikum zurück in die Siebziger Jahre. Zwei Jungen schließen eine grenzüberschreitende Freundschaft, die bis zum Schluss immer wieder harten Prüfungen ausgesetzt ist. Mit der Kraft der Phantasie und enormer Willensstärke gelingt es ihnen, ihre Träume über Grenzen und Vorbehalte hinweg zu leben.

ELINA - SOM JAG INTE FANNS ist das Spielfilmdebut des finnischen Regisseurs Klaus Härö, der für seinen Kurzfilm NATTFLYKT bereits beim Kinderfilmfest 2000 eine Lobende Erwähnung der Kinderjury erhalten hat. Die schwedisch-finnische Koproduktion besticht durch eine beeindruckende Bildsprache und herausragende Leistungen der Darsteller.

MISS ENTEBBE beleuchtet den immer wieder eskalierenden Konflikt zwischen Israelis und Palästinensern. Vor dem Hintergrund der Flugzeugentführung von Entebbe im Jahr 1976 verwickelt sich eine Gruppe von Kindern in ein riskantes Abenteuer, das sich schnell verselbständigt und in bedrohlichen Ernst umschlägt. Mutig, tabulos und mit atemraubender Spannung forscht der junge israelische Regisseur Omri Levy nach Möglichkeiten, die Spirale der Gewalt zu durchbrechen.

Als deutscher Beitrag wird DER ZEHNTE SOMMER seine Welturaufführung beim Kinderfilmfest haben. Behutsam und mit viel Liebe zum Detail erzählt Regisseur Jörg Grünler die Geschichte von Kalli, der sich im Kleinstadtmief der Fünfziger Jahre mehr Geheimnisse aufbürdet, als ein Kind eigentlich verkraften kann.

Das gesamte Programm des Kinderfilmfests wird im Januar feststehen.

18. Dezember 2002