Berlinale: Yearbook


4th Berlin International Film Festival
June 18 - 29, 1954

"Remember how it was last year? Black crepe banners waving above the Berlinale flag, the shots of the June Uprising still ringing in the loudspeakers, and many guests had cancelled their visits. This time, there were more visitors than anyone had expected, and along Kurfürstendamm life was flowing as it had not done since the end of the war. Singles of both sexes and all ages crowded in around the big hotels, breaking through police lines...; and when they wished to see their favorite star, Gina Lollobrigida, at her window, they shouted in chorus, bringing back eery memories..."

(Zeitgeist and history in an article by Hugo Hartung for the "Deutsche Zeitung".)

Sophia Loren, Yvonne de Carlo, Gina Lollobrigdia (1954)
Sophia Loren, Yvonne de Carlo, Gina Lollobrigida

A year of the stars

Richard Widmark, Jean Marais, Curd Jürgens, Vittorio de Sica, Yvonne de Carlo, the young Sophia Loren, and above all Gina Lollobrigida – the audience couldn’t get enough of them. The image of the festival was dominated by crowded in front of the Berlinale hotels and venues. The audience’s yearning for the stars and its cavalier way of expressing its enthusiasm becomes a trademark of the Berlinale.

Once again the Bears are awarded by the audience. This time “actor’s films” are a big hit. Again several films go unnoticed, that are discovered later by international critics, including Magnificent Obsession by Douglas Sirk and Akira Kurosawa’s Ikiru. They don’t seem to fit into the festival hype – but even Rummelplatz der Liebe | Circus of Love, a German-American co-production made by Kurt Neumann, was a failure with the audience and was booed mercilessly by 25,000 spectators at its premiere at the Waldbühne outdoor arena.

The failure of German films again that year was accompanied by debates about the lack of participation of the German film industry in the festival preparations. In hindsight, it appears to have been a political aim of the Senate to keep control over the festival. SPIO (German producer’s association) published a letter of protest, after none of its representatives are asked to join the working committee. While the complaint was conceded, at the same time decision-making power was shifted to a second body, the advisory board, in which the Senate had the ultimate say.

The festival's status remains precarious

The ambition of the political players failed to materialize in the form of stable finances for the festival. On the contrary, during the run-up to the Berlinale, there were once again debates about budget cuts and all kinds of protests and memoranda from Alfred Bauer were necessary to secure a somewhat adequate budget – which iwas finally covered in large by the Federal Government, which approved a short-term subsidy of 100,000 deutschmarks.

Posters at the East-West border (1954)
Berlinale posters along the border to East Berlin.

At the first glance it is difficult to understand the circumstances the Berlinale found itself in. Undoubtedly, the vague institutional and financial security of the Berlinale was largely due the uncertain political status of Berlin. The overt participation of the German Federal Government in the organisation and direction of the festival could be seen as damaging the “neutrality” of Berlin and led to high-level political problems. The governments of the GDR and Soviet Union kept a close eye on whether and in which form the Berlinale was financed by the Bonn government and whether the festival was “politically instrumentalised”.

In fact both sides were responsible for the decades-long absence of Eastern European films from the Berlinale. Officially, the Berlin Senate had made a fundamental decision not to invite films from the Eastern Bloc to the festival; but even when different rapprochement efforts were made by the western side, these were briskly dismissed again and again by the Eastern countries, who pointed to the diplomatic status of Berlin and the infringement of neutrality through the partial financial backing of the film festival by the Federal Government.

Berlinale: Chronik


4. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
18. - 29. Juni 1954

„Wie war es doch im Vorjahr? Trauerflöre über den Berlinale-Fahnen, die Schüsse des Juni-Aufstands in den Lautsprechern, viele Gäste hatten abgesagt. Diesmal kamen weit mehr als erwartet wurden, und über den Kurfürstendamm flutete das Leben wie nie seit Kriegsende. Backfische beiderlei Geschlechts und jeden Alters umlagern die großen Hotels, durchbrechen Polizeiketten,... und wenn sie den Publikumsliebling der Festspiele, Gina Lollobrigida, im Sprechchor am Fenster zu sehen wünschen, steigen sonderbare Erinnerungen auf ...“

(Geschichte und Zeitgeschichte in einem Artikel von Hugo Hartung für die „Deutsche Zeitung“.)

Sophia Loren, Yvonne de Carlo, Gina Lollobrigida

Ein Jahr der Stars

Richard Widmark, Jean Marais, Curd Jürgens, Vittorio de Sica, Yvonne de Carlo, die junge Sophia Loren und vor allem und über allen: Gina Lollobrigida, von der das Publikum kaum genug bekommen konnte. Publikumsaufläufe vor den Berlinale-Hotels und Spielstätten prägen das Bild des Festivals in diesem Jahr. Die Lust des Publikums auf die Stars und seine ungenierte Art, Begeisterung zu zeigen, werden zu Markenzeichen der Berlinale.

Wieder werden die Bären vom Publikum vergeben, Diesmal machen Schauspielerfilme das Rennen. Erneut bleiben einige Filme unbeachtet, die erst nachträglich von der internationalen Kritik entdeckt werden: Magnificent Obsession von Douglas Sirk und Akira Kurosawas Ikiru gehören dazu. Sie passen nicht in den Festivalrummel. Aber auch Rummelplatz der Liebe, eine von Kurt Neumann inszenierte deutsch-amerikanische Koproduktion, fällt beim Publikum durch und wird vor 25.000 Zuschauern bei der Premiere in der Waldbühne gnadenlos ausgepfiffen.

Flankiert wird der Misserfolg der deutschen Filme auch dieses Jahr von den Streitigkeiten um die mangelnde Beteiligung der deutschen Filmbranche an der Vorbereitung des Festivals. Rückblickend erscheint es als ein politisches Ziel des Senats, die Kontrolle über das Festival nicht aus der Hand zu geben. Die SPIO formuliert ein Protestschreiben, nachdem keiner ihrer Vertreter in den Arbeitsausschuss berufen wurde. Dieser Beschwerde wird dann zwar nachgegeben, im gleichen Zug wird die Entscheidungsbefugnis jedoch auf den Beirat, das zweite Gremium, verlagert, in dem weiterhin die Vertreter des Senats das Sagen haben.

Der prekäre Status des Festivals

Der Ehrgeiz der politischen Seite zahlt sich jedoch für das Festival keineswegs in stabilen Finanzierungszusagen aus. Im Gegenteil: Auch 1954 wird im Vorfeld der Berlinale wieder über Etatkürzungen debattiert und sind allerlei Proteste und Memoranden Alfred Bauers vonnöten, um der Berlinale ein einigermaßen solides Budget zu erhalten – für das letztlich zu wesentlichen Teilen der Bund aufkommt, der einen kurzfristigen Zuschuss von 100.000 DM bewilligt.

Berlinale-Plakate an der Sektorengrenze nach Ost-Berlin.

Die verschiedenen Absichten und Hintergründe lassen sich heute auf den ersten Blick schwer nachvollziehen. Nicht unwesentlich für die bemerkenswert vage institutionelle und finanzielle Absicherung der Filmfestspiele war zweifellos der politische Status Berlins. Eine allzu offensichtliche Beteiligung des Bundes an der Organisation und Ausrichtung des Festivals hätte die „Neutralität“ Berlins verletzt und politische Irritationen auf höchster Ebene zur Folge gehabt. Tatsächlich beobachteten vor allem die Regierungen der DDR und der Sowjetunion sehr genau, ob und in welcher Weise die Berlinale von der Bonner Regierung finanziert und möglicherweise „politisch instrumentalisiert“ würde.

Die jahrzehntelange Absenz von osteuropäischen Filmen von der Berlinale war von beiden Seiten verantwortet: offiziell gab es auf Seiten des Senats die Grundsatzentscheidung, keine Filme aus den Ländern des Ostblocks zum Festival einzuladen; aber auch als es später von westlicher Seite verschiedentlich Bemühungen der Annäherung gab, wurden diese seitens des Ostblocks immer wieder brüskiert - mit dem Hinweis auf den diplomatischen Status Berlins und die Verletzung der Neutralität qua Teilfinanzierung der Filmfestspiele durch die Bundesregierung.