Additional Information

Apr 25, 2020
The Berlinale Congratulates the Winners of the German Film Award

Helena Zengel and Albrecht Schuch in Systemsprenger (System Crasher) by Nora Fingscheidt.

"We congratulate all winners of the German Film Award 2020! In these challenging times shaped by the coronavirus, it is particularly encouraging to witness what an excellent contribution films once again make to our culture. Indeed, we believe in the creative power and the magic of cinema, and we wish to express our solidarity with the entire industry. Accordingly, we congratulate the German Film Academy and the film award team on the truly commendable award ceremony which was conducted under very demanding conditions", commented the Berlinale director duo Mariette Rissenbeek and Carlo Chatrian.

The following Berlinale films were among the winners:

Systemsprenger | System Crasher (Director: Nora Fingscheidt) - Berlinale Competition 2019
Best Feature Film in Gold: Peter Hartwig, Jonas Weydemann, Jakob D. Weydemann (producers)
Best Director: Nora Fingscheidt
Best Screenplay: Nora Fingscheidt
Best Actress: Helena Zengel
Best Actor: Albrecht Schuch
Best Supporting Actress: Gabriela Maria Schmeide
Best Editing: Stephan Bechinger, Julia Kovalenko
Best Sound: Corinna Zink, Jonathan Schorr, Dominik Leube, Oscar Stiebitz, Gregor Bonse

Berlin Alexanderplatz (Director: Burhan Qurbani) - Berlinale Competition 2020
Best Feature Film in Silver: Leif Alexis, Jochen Laube, Fabian Maubach (producers)
Best Supporting Actor: Albrecht Schuch
Best Cinematography: Yoshi Heimrath
Best Production Design: Silke Buhr
Best Film Score: Dascha Dauenhauer

Born in Evin (Director: Maryam Zaree) - Perspektive Deutsches Kino 2019
Best Documentary: Alex Tondowski, Ira Tondowski (producers)

Press Office
April 25, 2020