Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2011

Competition

Dec 06, 2010:
Coen Brothers’ True Grit to Open the 61st Berlinale

Jeff Bridges and Hailee Steinfeld in True Grid

The 61st Berlin International Film Festival will open with True Grit by Academy Award winners Joel and Ethan Coen at the Berlinale Palast on February 10, 2011.

“Joel and Ethan Coen stand for first-rate American independent cinema. With their penchant for irony, and off-the-wall characters and stories they have repeatedly captivated audiences,” comments Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick. “True Grit is a wonderful way to kick off the Berlinale 2011.”

After Blood Simple (1984), their sensational debut film, the Coen brothers have had many big hits with the critics and audiences. These include Fargo (1996, Oscar for Best Original Screenplay), No Country for Old Men (2007, three Oscars, in the categories Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Picture and Best Directing), Burn after Reading (2008) and, most recently, A Serious Man (2009).

With Jeff Bridges the famous directing duo presented their brilliant comedy The Big Lebowski at the Berlinale Competition in 1998. Now they are returning to Berlin with a Western drama. True Grit features Academy Award winners Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart) and Matt Damon (The Bourne Ultimatum), Hollywood star Josh Brolin (Wall Street) as well as the young American newcomer Hailee Steinfeld.

This re-interpretation of the Western classic True Grit (with John Wayne) from 1969 tells the story of 14-year-old Mattie (Hailee Steinfeld) who sets out to find the man who murdered her father. Since the authorities won’t help her, she hires the tough marshal “Rooster” Cogburn (Jeff Bridges) who, together with her and Texas Ranger LaBoeuf (Matt Damon), picks up the trail of the killer (Josh Brolin).

True Grit will screen as an international premiere out of competition at the 61st Berlin International Film Festival.

Paramount, the film’s distributor, will be releasing True Grit to German cinemas on February 24, 2011.

Press Office

December 8, 2010

Download Press Release (38 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2011

Wettbewerb

06.12.2010:
True Grit der Coen-Brüder eröffnet die 61. Berlinale

Jeff Bridges und Hailee Steinfeld in True Grid

Mit True Grit der Oscar-Preisträger Joel und Ethan Coen werden am 10. Februar 2011 im Berlinale Palast die 61. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin eröffnet.

„Joel und Ethan Coen stehen für erstklassiges amerikanisches Independent-Kino. Mit ihrem Faible für Ironie, schräge Charaktere und Geschichten haben sie immer wieder das Publikum begeistert“, sagt Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick. “True Grit ist ein schöner Kinoauftakt für die Berlinale 2011.“

Nach ihrem aufsehenerregenden Debüt Blood Simple (1984) feierten die Coen-Brüder mit Filmen wie Fargo (1996, Oscar für das Beste Original-Drehbuch), No Country for Old Men (2007, drei Oscars in den Kategorien Bestes adaptiertes Drehbuch, Bester Film und Beste Regie), Burn after Reading (2008) und zuletzt A Serious Man (2009) internationale Erfolge bei Kritikern und Publikum.

Das berühmte Regie-Duo – sowie Darsteller Jeff Bridges - hatten 1998 bereits die fulminante Filmkomödie The Big Lebowski im Berlinale-Wettbewerb präsentiert. Nun kehren sie mit einem Westerndrama nach Berlin zurück. In True Grit brillieren die Oscarpreisträger Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart) und Matt Damon (Das Bourne Ultimatum), Hollywoodstar Josh Brolin (Wall Street) sowie die junge amerikanische Newcomerin Hailee Steinfeld in den Hauptrollen.

Die Neuinterpretation des Westernklassikers Der Marshall (mit John Wayne) von 1969 erzählt die Geschichte der 14-jährigen Mattie (Hailee Steinfeld), die den Mörder ihres Vaters finden will. Da ihr die Behörden dabei nicht helfen wollen, heuert sie den raubeinigen Marshall „Rooster“ Cogburn (Jeff Bridges) an, der zusammen mit ihr und dem Texas Ranger LaBoeuf (Matt Damon) die Spur des flüchtigen Mörders (Josh Brolin) aufnimmt.

True Grit wird als internationale Premiere außer Konkurrenz im Wettbewerb der 61. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin präsentiert.

Der Verleih Paramount wird True Grit am 24. Februar 2011 in die deutschen Kinos bringen.

Presseabteilung

8. Dezember 2010

Download Pressemitteilung (28 KB)