Berlinale: Juries


Juries 2009

International Jury

Tilda Swinton (© Sandro Kopp)

Tilda Swinton (United Kingdom)

Jury President and Academy Award winner Tilda Swinton is one of her generation’s most sought-after performers. She gave her film debut in Derek Jarman’s Caravaggio which won a Silver Bear at the 1986 Berlinale. Since her international breakthrough with Orlando she has alternated with ease between European arthouse films and big Hollywood productions. Until Jarman’s death she appeared in all of his films. Her film portrait of him was shown in the Panorama at the 2008 Berlinale. In 2008 she received an Academy Award for best supporting actress in the thriller Michael Clayton.

Isabel Coixet (© Daniel Riera Compte)

Isabel Coixet (Spain)

The award-winning Spanish writer and director Isabel Coixet has been a guest with her films at numerous international festivals, including four times at the Berlinale: 1995 in the Panorama with Things I Never Told You, 2003 in the Competition with My Life Without Me, 2007 in the Panorama with the compilation documentary Invisibles and 2008 with the moving bestseller interpretation Elegy. Isabel Coixet is currently realizing the romantic thriller Map Of The Sounds Of Tokyo.

Gaston Kaboré

Gaston Kaboré (Burkina)

Gaston Kaboré is one of the most important people in his country’s film scene. Following his studies in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso) and Paris his feature film Wend Kuuni marked a breakthrough for African cinema in 1982. He combines the skills of screenwriter, director and producer and has realized numerous documentary films. In 1997 he received the Pan-African Film Festival (FESPACO) Award for his historical drama Buud Yam. In 2005 he founded the Imagine Film School in Ouagadougou which trains new filmmakers in Burkina Faso.

Henning Mankell (© Daniel Riera Compte)

Henning Mankell (Sweden)

The award-winning, bestselling author Henning Mankell is especially famous for his Inspector Wallander mysteries which have been published in 38 languages. The highly productive author and theatre director focuses on political and social themes, but he is also acclaimed as a writer of children’s books and plays. Mankell lives alternately in Sweden and Mosambique where he works as director of the “Teatro Avenida”.

Christoph Schlingensief (© Hörnemann)

Christoph Schlingensief (Germany)

Christoph Schlingensief, a leading personality in Germany’s cultural scene, is renowned as a film, theatre and opera director, radio play writer and artist. His works repeatedly challenge the frontier between politics and art and provoke public debate. As a filmmaker he first became known between 1989 and 1992 with what is known as his German Trilogy (including The German Chainsaw Massacre). His opera productions include “Parsifal” (Bayreuth 2004), „The Flying Dutchman“ (Manaus 2007), „Jeanne d’Arc“ (Berlin 2008) and „Eine Kirche der Angst vor dem Fremden in mir“ (Duisburg 2008).

Wayne Wang

Wayne Wang (USA)

Hong-Kong-born director Wayne Wang has lived and worked in the USA since his youth. In many of his films he confronts American society with the world of Chinese immigrants, as in the bestseller adaptation The Joy Luck Club (1993). His arthouse film Smoke (Silver Bear at the Berlinale 1995) brought him major success in Europe as well. His latest film A Thousand Years Of Good Prayers received several festival awards.

Alice Waters (© Platon)

Alice Waters (USA)

As a keen film aficionado, food activist, author and star chef Alice Waters named her legendary restaurant in Berkeley Chez Panisse after one of Marcel Pagnol’s film characters. Alice Waters, vice president of Slow Food International, works in the renowned Pacific Film Archive in Berkeley and for various film festivals. She also has collaborated on projects such as the documentary Werner Herzog Eats His Shoe. The multiple award-winning gastronomy expert recently joined the California Hall of Fame.

Best First Feature Jury

Hannah Herzsprung (© Joachim Gern / dfd)

Hannah Herzsprung (Germany)

Born in Hamburg in 1981, actress Hannah Herzsprung has received much acclaim from both critics and audiences for her powerful performances – e.g., as prison inmate and talented pianist in the award-winning drama Vier Minuten (Four Minutes) by Chris Krauss; or as Florina, the rebellious girl next door, in Das wahre Leben (Life Actually) by Alain Gsponer. She won the Bavarian Film Award as Best Young Actress for her role in Vier Minuten in 2006. This was followed in 2007 by the German Film Award as Best Supporting Actress for her performance in Das wahre Leben.

In-Ah Lee

In-Ah Lee (Germany)

For many years In-Ah Lee was collaborating with Wim Wenders. In 2006 she produced The Way I Spent the End of the World for Romanian director Catalin Mitulescu. At present In-Ah Lee is involved in projects for greenskyfilms, a production company based in Cologne and Los Angeles. Here she is responsible especially for international co-productions and independent films.

Rafi Pitts

Raffi Pitts (Iran)

Born in Teheran, director Rafi Pitts now lives in France and is a leading representative of contemporary Iranian cinema. His feature film debut The Fifth Season, filmed in his native Iran, was an international festival success. In 2006 Rafi Pitts presented the drama It’s Winter in the Berlinale Competition. He is currently working on his fifth feature film, The Hunter.

International Short Film Jury

Khavn de la Cruz

Khavn De La Cruz (Philippines)

With more than 70 short films and features, this director is one of his country’s most important underground digital filmmakers. De La Cruz, who participated in the Berlinale Talent Campus 2005, is also a writer and musician, as well as director of the Philippine MOV International Digital Film Festival. With his production company Filmless Films, he has made many works, including Mondomanila: Institute of Poets, a surreal cinematic reflection on Philippine society.

Arta Dobroshi

Arta Dobroshi (Kosovo)

With her role in the screen drama Lorna’s Silence (winner of Best Screenplay at the 2008 Cannes Film Festival), this young actress achieved her international breakthrough and a nomination for the 2008 European Film Awards. Born in Pristina, Arta Dobroshi has played many stage roles in her country, as well as a leading role in the prize-winning German-Albanian production Magic Eye (2005), a film about the situation in Albania in 1997, when it was rocked by unrest.

Lars Henrik Gass

Dr. Lars Henrik Gass (Germany)

Lars Henrik Gass studied literature and theatre. Since 1997, he has been director of the renowned International Short Film Festival Oberhausen. Until 2007, he was also a member of the German Short Film Award jury. He has written many essays on photography and film, and teaches at a number of universities and academies. In 2001, Gass published his book “Das ortlose Kino. Über Marguerite Duras”.

Honorary Awards of the Festival

The recipients of honorary awards are not chosen by a jury but by the festival director.

Children's Jury Generation Kplus

A Children's Jury with members aged 11 to 14 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation Kplus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director. The Generation Kplus Children's Jury 2009: Aaron Altaras, Merve Avdic, Cara Beume, Karoline Gugisch, Jan Hensel, Luca-Els Mauritz, Judith Rinklebe, Tilli Ripp, Jannik Szwaczka, Lara Torp, Daniel Zimmermann.

Youth Jury Generation 14plus

A Youth Jury with members aged 14 to 18 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation 14plus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director. The Generation 14plus Youth Jury 2009: Leo Bruckmann, Lulu Grimm, Frida Grubba, Moritz Kleine, Isabelle Moog, Maurits Schön, Joëlle Weber.

Generation Kplus International Jury

The International Jury of the Generation Kplus competition awards the Grand Prix of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (German Child Support Organisation) worth 7,500 Euros, to the Best Feature Film. The charity's special prize, which has a value of 2,500 Euros, is awarded to the Best Short Film.

Members of the Generation Kplus International Jury 2009 are: producer Roshanak Behesht Nedjad (Football under Cover, Full Metal Village, Havanna Mi Amor), director Dana Nechushtan (Dunja & Desie), director, producer and programme director Greg Childs, Petr Koliha, festival director of the Zlín International Film Festival for Children and Youth, as well as director Stephen Lance.

Berlinale: Jurys


Jurys 2009

Internationale Jury

Tilda Swinton (© Sandro Kopp)

Tilda Swinton (Großbritannien)

Jury-Präsidentin und Oscarpreisträgerin Tilda Swinton gehört zu den gefragtesten Schauspielerinnen. Ihr Filmdebüt gab sie in Derek Jarmans Caravaggio, der 1986 auf der Berlinale einen Silbernen Bären gewann. Seit ihrem internationalen Durchbruch mit Orlando wechselt sie mühelos das Rollenfach zwischen europäischen Arthouse-Filmen und großen Hollywood-Produktionen. Bis zu Jarmans Tod trat sie in jedem seiner Filme auf und widmete ihm ein filmisches Porträt, das 2008 im Panorama der Berlinale lief. Für den Thriller Michael Clayton erhielt sie 2008 einen Oscar als Beste Nebendarstellerin.

Isabel Coixet (© Daniel Riera Compte)

Isabel Coixet (Spanien)

Die preisgekrönte spanische Autorin und Regisseurin Isabel Coixet war mit ihren Filmen schon auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals zu Gast, darunter viermal auf der Berlinale: 1995 im Panorama mit Was ich Dir noch nie erzählt habe, 2003 im Wettbewerb mit Mein Leben ohne mich, 2007 im Panorama mit der Kompilations-Doku Invisibles sowie 2008 mit der berührenden Bestsellerverfilmung Elegy. Derzeit realisiert Isabel Coixet den romantischen Thriller Map Of The Sounds Of Tokyo.

Gaston Kaboré

Gaston Kaboré (Burkina Faso)

Gaston Kaboré zählt zu den wichtigsten Persönlichkeiten der Filmszene seiner Heimat. Nach dem Studium in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso) und Paris war sein Spielfilm Wend Kuuni 1982 ein Durchbruch für das afrikanische Kino. Kaboré ist Drehbuchautor, Regisseur und Produzent in einem und realisierte auch mehrere Dokumentarfilme. Für das historische Drama Buud Yam wurde er 1997 mit dem Preis des panafrikanischen Filmfestivals FESPACO ausgezeichnet. Mit der Gründung des Instituts „Imagine“ 2005 in Ouagadougou fördert er außerdem die audio-visuelle Ausbildung in Burkina Faso.

Henning Mankell (© Daniel Riera Compte)

Henning Mankell (Schweden)

Der preisgekrönte Bestseller-Autor Henning Mankell ist vor allem durch seine Wallander-Kriminalromane bekannt, die in 38 Sprachen übersetzt wurden. Politische und gesellschaftliche Themen prägen die Arbeit des passionierten Schriftstellers und Theaterregisseurs, der auch als Autor von Kinderbüchern und Dramen brilliert. Mankell lebt abwechselnd in Schweden und in Mosambik, wo er als Direktor des „Teatro Avenida“ arbeitet.

Christoph Schlingensief (© Hörnemann)

Christoph Schlingensief (Deutschland)

Als Film-, Theater- und Opernregisseur, Hörspielautor sowie Künstler gehört Christoph Schlingensief zu einer der bekanntesten Persönlichkeiten der deutschen Kulturszene. Seine Arbeiten verwischen immer wieder die Grenze zwischen Politik und Kunst und provozieren öffentliche Diskussionen. Als Filmemacher wurde Christoph Schlingensief zunächst mit der zwischen 1989 und 1992 entstandenen „Deutschlandtrilogie“ (u.a. Das deutsche Kettensägenmassaker) bekannt. Zu seinen Inszenierungen gehören u.a. „Parsifal“ (Bayreuth 2004), „Der Fliegende Holländer“ (Manaus 2007), „Jeanne d'Arc“ (Berlin 2008) und „Eine Kirche der Angst vor dem Fremden in mir“ (Duisburg 2008).

Wayne Wang

Wayne Wang (USA)

Der in Hongkong geborene Regisseur und Produzent Wayne Wang lebt und arbeitet in den USA. In vielen seiner Filme konfrontiert er die amerikanische Gesellschaft mit der Welt der chinesischen Einwanderer, so in der Bestselleradaption Töchter des Himmels (1993). Mit dem Arthouse-Film Smoke (Silberner Berlinale Bär 1995) gelang ihm ein großer Erfolg auch in Europa. Wangs letzter Film Mr. Shi und der Gesang der Zikaden erhielt mehrere Festival-Preise.

Alice Waters (© Platon)

Alice Waters (USA)

Als passionierte Filmfreundin hat die Foodaktivistin, Autorin und Starköchin Alice Waters ihr legendäres Restaurant Chez Panisse in Berkeley nach einem Filmcharakter von Marcel Pagnol benannt. Alice Waters, Vizepräsidentin von Slow Food International, arbeitet im berühmten Pacific Filmarchive in Berkeley und mit verschiedenen Film Festivals. Sie hat unter anderem auch an der Dokumentation Werner Herzog Eats His Shoe mitgewirkt. Die vielfach ausgezeichnete Foodaktivistin ist kürzlich in die California Hall of Fame aufgenommen worden.

Jury Preis Bester Erstlingsfilm

Hannah Herzsprung (© Joachim Gern / dfd)

Hannah Herzsprung (Deutschland)

Die 1981 in Hamburg geborene Schauspielerin Hannah Herzsprung überzeugt mit intensiven Darstellungen Kritiker und Zuschauer zugleich - unter anderem als klavierbegabte Gefängnisinsassin in Chris Krauss‘ vielfach preisgekröntem Drama Vier Minuten oder als kesse Nachbarsfreundin Florina in Alain Gsponers Das wahre Leben. 2006 wurde sie für ihre Rolle in Vier Minuten mit dem Bayerischen Filmpreis als „Beste Nachwuchsschauspielerin“ ausgezeichnet. 2007 folgte der Deutsche Filmpreis als „Beste Nebendarstellerin“ in Das wahre Leben.

In-Ah Lee

In-Ah Lee (Deutschland)

In-Ah Lee arbeitete lange Jahre mit Wim Wenders zusammen. Im Jahre 2006 produzierte sie den rumänischen Film The Way I Spent the End of the World des rumänischen Regisseurs Catalin Mitulescu. Derzeit widmet sich In-Ah Lee den Projekten von greenskyfilms, einer Produktionsfirma mit Sitz in Köln und Los Angeles. Hier betreut sie vor allem internationale Koproduktionen und Independent-Filme.

Rafi Pitts

Raffi Pitts (Iran)

Der in Teheran geborene Regisseur Rafi Pitts, der heute in Frankreich lebt, gehört zu den renommiertesten Vertretern des aktuellen iranischen Kinos. Sein Spielfilmdebüt Die fünfte Jahreszeit - in seinem Heimatland Iran gedreht - wurde ein internationaler Festivalerfolg. 2006 stellte Rafi Pitts im Berlinale Wettbewerb das Drama Zemestan (It’s Winter) vor. Derzeit arbeitet er an seinem fünften Spielfilm, The Hunter.

Internationale Kurzfilmjury

Khavn de la Cruz

Khavn De La Cruz (Philippinen)

Mit einem Werk von über 70 Kurz- und Langfilmen gilt der Regisseur als wichtigster Vertreter des digitalen Underground-Kinos in seiner Heimat. De la Cruz, Teilnehmer des Berlinale Talent Campus 2005, ist außerdem Schriftsteller, Musiker und Leiter des philippinischen MOV International Digital Film Festivals. Mit seiner Filmproduktion Filmless Films hat er unter anderem Mondomanila: Institute of Poets gedreht, eine surreale filmische Reflexion über die philippinische Gesellschaft.

Arta Dobroshi

Arta Dobroshi (Kosovo)

Ihre Rolle in dem Filmdrama Lornas Schweigen (Preis für das beste Drehbuch beim Filmfestival in Cannes 2008) brachte der jungen Schauspielerin den internationalen Durchbruch und eine Nominierung für den Europäischen Filmpreis 2008. Die in Pristina geborene Arta Dobroshi spielte in ihrer Heimat zahlreiche Rollen am Theater und wirkte 2005 in der preisgekrönten deutsch-albanischen Produktion Magic Eye mit, einem Film über die Situation im von Unruhen erschütterten Albanien des Jahres 1997.

Lars Henrik Gass

Dr. Lars Henrik Gass (Deutschland)

Lars Henrik Gass studierte Literatur- und Theaterwissenschaften. Seit 1997 ist er Leiter des renommierten Festivals Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen. Bis 2007 war er Mitglied der Jury des deutschen Kurzfilmpreises. Er verfasste zahlreiche Aufsätze zu Fotografie und Film und lehrte an verschiedenen Hochschulen. 2001 veröffentlichte Gass das Buch „Das ortlose Kino. Über Marguerite Duras“.

Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals

Die Empfänger der Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals werden nicht von einer Jury bestimmt, sondern von der Festivalleitung selbst.

Kinderjury Generation Kplus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation Kplus entscheidet eine elfköpfige Kinderjury zwischen 11 und 14 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen. Die Generation Kplus Kinderjury 2009: Aaron Altaras, Merve Avdic, Cara Beume, Karoline Gugisch, Jan Hensel, Luca-Els Mauritz, Judith Rinklebe, Tilli Ripp, Jannik Szwaczka, Lara Torp, Daniel Zimmermann.

Jugendjury Generation 14plus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation 14plus entscheidet eine siebenköpfige Jugendjury zwischen 14 und 18 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen. Die Generation 14plus Jugendjury 2009: Leo Bruckmann, Lulu Grimm, Frida Grubba, Moritz Kleine, Isabelle Moog, Maurits Schön, Joëlle Weber.

Generation Kplus Internationale Jury

Die Internationale Jury des Wettbewerbs Generation Kplus vergibt den mit 7.500 Euro dotierten "Großen Preis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes" an den besten Spielfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte "Spezialpreis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes" geht an den besten Kurzfilm.

In die Generation Kplus Internationale Jury 2009 berufen wurden die Produzentin Roshanak Behesht Nedjad (Football under Cover, Full Metal Village, Havanna Mi Amor), der Regisseur Dana Nechushtan (Dunja & Desie), Regisseur, Produzent und Programmdirektor Greg Childs, Petr Koliha, Festivalleiter des Internationalen Kinder- und Jugendfilmfestivals Zlín sowie Regisseur Stephen Lance.