Berlinale: Prizes Generation


Awards and Juries in the Generation section

In this section the jury members are no older than those of the audience. Eleven children and seven teens award the best films with Crystal Bears. Special Mentions are given for outstanding achievements. Two international juries present further prizes in the Generation Kplus and Generation 14plus competition.

Prizes of the Children’s Jury in the Competition Generation Kplus

Piata loď, Amelie rennt, Promise, Hedgehog's Home

The members of the Children's Jury in Generation Kplus give the following awards:

Crystal Bear for the Best Film: Piata loď (Little Harbour)
By Iveta Grófová, Slovak Republic / Czech Republic 2017
We selected a film that is creative and authentic. It's about two children who create a little world of their own, rules. We found the story very moving and the actors are very believable too.

Special Mention: Amelie rennt (Mountain Miracle – An Unexpected Friendship)
By Tobias Wiemann, Germany / Italy 2017
With great wit and fast-paced dialogue, this film describes the development of an unlikely friendship between two fascinating characters.

Crystal Bear for the Best Short Film: Promise
By Xie Tian, USA 2016
Set in a breath-taking landscape, this film tells the moving story of a Chinese boy. The convincing performances and masterful cinematography lend the film great authenticity.

Special Mention Short Film: Hedgehog's Home
By Eva Cvijanovic, Canada / Croatia 2016
The message of this tale, that a home of one's own is very important, is beautifully conveyed by the creative use of felt animation. We were also impressed by the unusual verse form of the narrative in this stop-motion film.

Prizes of the Generation Kplus International Jury

Becoming Who I Was, Estiu 1993, Aaba, Sabaku

The members of the International Jury Generation Kplus - Fabian Gasmia, Aneta Ozorek, Yoon Ga-eun - give the following awards:

The Grand Prix of the Generation Kplus International Jury for the Best Film, endowed with € 7,500 each by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (The Children’s Charity of Germany):

Becoming Who I Was
By Chang-Yong Moon, Jin Jeon, Republic Korea 2017
In this beautifully shot tale we learn in a wonderful bittersweet way how much a parent and a child can learn from each other. The filmmaker achieved the most difficult: making the audience laugh and cry many times. The film gave the jury confidence in humanity and if the values of the young hero of this story would be only reflected a little bit by its audience the world will become a better place.

ex aequo

Estiu 1993 (Summer 1993)
By Carla Simón, Spain 2017
In this remarkable film we learn through the eyes of a little girl how to cope with loss. The lesson that this incredible heroine learns and that moved us to tears is that no matter how much it hurts, it is the unconditional love of the people around you that will ease your pain. Besides the outstanding performance of the young main actress the jury was also very impressed by the beautiful cinematography and sensual mise-en-scène!

The Special Prize of the Generation Kplus International Jury for the Best Short Film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (The Children’s Charity of Germany): Aaba (Grandfather)
By Amar Kaushik, India 2016
It tells a story of the circle of life in an elegiac and slow pace with a beautiful cinematography.

Special Mention: Sabaku
By Marlies van der Wel, The Netherlands 2016
This very short film tells with simple but very efficient use of extremely skilled artistic animation technique the story of a bird that goes around the world to find a new friend. The jury was blown away by its pace and incredible joy of the filmmaker to entertain her audience.

Aneta Ozorek, Yoon Ga-eun and Fabian Gasmia

Aneta Ozorek
Aneta Ozorek from Poland is festival programmer, producer and film educator. She is currently active as a programmer at Kino w Trampkach (Cinema in Sneakers) for Children and Youth in Warsaw.

Yoon Ga-eun
The Korean director won a Crystal Bear for her short film Sprout at Generation Kplus in 2014 and in 2016 she celebrated her feature film debut, once again at Generation Kplus, with Woorideul (The World of Us).

Fabian Gasmia
Fabian Gasmia is a German producer and a co-founder of DETAiLFILM. His numerous co-production credits include Nashorn im Gallop (Rhino Full Throttle, dir: Erik Schmitt, Generation 2013), Berlin Metanoia (dir: Erik Schmitt, Generation 2016) and the 2016 Silver Bear winner L’avenir (Things To Come, dir: Mia Hansen-Løve).

Prizes of the Youth Jury in the Competition Generation 14plus

Butterfly Kisses, Ceux qui font les révolutions à moitié n'ont fait que se creuser un tombeau, Wolfe, SNIP

The members of the Youth Jury Generation 14plus - Rosa Ehrlich, Oscar R. Franck, Hannah Kähler, Luka Kowalewsky, Marie Kühn, Quinten Samrotzki, Rosa Schaefer Bastian - give the following awards:

Crystal Bear for the Best Film: Butterfly Kisses
By Rafael Kapelinski, 2017, United Kingdom
Propelled by the rhythm of its powerful soundtrack and imagery, this film awakens a terrifying suspicion in the viewer. Without resorting to simple accusations of guilt, it confronts us with an explosive issue which our society has so far been unable to resolve. The finely differentiated characterizations inspire profound empathy for the protagonists in the situations they face. From the kaleidoscopic opening sequence onwards, we are captivated by the haunting intensity of this electrifying feature film debut.

Special Mention: Ceux qui font les révolutions à moitié n'ont fait que se creuser un tombeau
By Mathieu Denis, Simon Lavoie, 2016, Canada
With epic aspirations, this film is an accurate portrayal of destructive group dynamics. With brutal honesty, it gradually unleashes its hypnotic potential as the narrative unfolds. Contemporary footage, fictional life stories and performances fuse together to create a disturbing yet rousing cinematic work.

Crystal Bear for the Best Short Film: Wolfe
By Claire Randall, 2016, Australia
By means of its authentic narrative and tactful approach to a sensitive subject, this documentary manages to demystify a taboo without sentimentality or judgment. With impressive honesty and intimacy, the protagonist discloses his experiences of psychological illness, accompanied by lovingly animated memory sequences. We thank the filmmaker for this factually informative and deeply moving work.

Special Mention Short Film: SNIP
By Terril Calder, 2016, Canada
This film takes the viewer on a journey into a painful chapter of a country's history. The synthesis of diverse animation styles provides for a compelling and emotionally direct exploration of this often neglected subject. We would like to thank the director for this unconventional approach to opening our generation's eyes to the past as we head towards the future.

Prizes of the Generation Kplus International Jury

Shkola nomer 3, Ben Niao, The Jungle Knows You Better Than You Do, U Plavetnilo

The members of the new Generation 14plus International Jury - Benjamin Cantu, Roberto Doveris, Jennifer Reeder - give the following awards:

The Grand Prix of the Generation 14plus International Jury for the Best Film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education): Shkola nomer 3
By Yelizaveta Smith, Georg Genoux, 2016, Ukraine / Germany
We give the Grand Prix to a film that unpacked itself slowly involving the audience through details and personal account from the perspective of its protagonists, delivering with a range of tenderness, trauma, and even banality and humor. It has a sensitive approach and is direct in form without discourse or presumption. We admire the collaboration between director, cinematographer and protagonists and how they built a space of trust. This film doesn’t let the narrative of war take over the emotional world of its young characters, who allowed us to connect with the most precious and intimate details of their lives.

Special Mention: Ben Niao
By Huang Ji, Ryuji Otsuka, 2017, People’s Republic of China
Our special mention goes to a film that haunted us with its mystery and how it speaks about human relationships that pave their way through detached modern tools of communications. What sets this film apart are the well planned ellipses and the remarkable performance of the young actress, Yao Honggui from China.

Special Prize of the Generation 14plus International Jury for the Best Short Film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education): The Jungle Knows You Better Than You Do
By Juanita Onzaga , 2016, Belgium / Colombia
We give the special price for best short to a film that has a hybrid approach to the autobiographical. A film that hovers between the past and the present and yet has an intuitive way of showing us a character who couldn’t be closer to the filmmaker herself.

Special Mention: U Plavetnilo
By Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović, 2017, Croatia / Slovenia / Sweden
Special mention goes to a film which reveals the complexities of adolescence, when its four characters must confront their expectations and desires against a dramatic seaside landscape.

Benjamin Cantu, Jennifer Reeder and Roberto Doveris

Benjamin Cantu
The German-Hungarian director divides his time between Berlin and Budapest. His feature film debut Stadt Land Fluss (Harvest) celebrated its world premiere at Generation in 2011. His more journalistic pieces include an award-winning documentary on HIV for ARTE/rbb; The Berlin Patient (2013).
Jennifer Reeder
The award-winning director from the USA was featured in the Generation 14plus short film competition in 2016 with Crystal Lake. In 2015 she presented Blood Below the Skin in Berlinale Shorts. In addition, her films have been shown in the framework of the Venice Biennale and the Whitney Biennial.
Roberto Doveris
The Chilean filmmaker was awarded the Grand Prix by the International Jury as well as a Special Mention by the Youth Jury for his debut film Las plantas (Plants) at Generation 14plus in 2016. He served as editor-in-chief at CinemaChile, an agency for the promotion of Chilean film culture, and currently runs his own company, Niña Niño Films.

After each Generation screening, questionnaires are distributed amongst the audience. The form offers audience members a chance to express their thoughts and opinions about the film. The film questionnaires do not have to be returned immediately in the cinema but can be completed at home and sent back to Generation by post within one month.

Every year, about 1,500 filmgoers return the questionnaire. Respondents who write openly, honestly and vividly about their film experience stand a chance of being selected to award the Crystal Bears themselves at the following year’s festival. Only children who will be aged 11-14 during the upcoming festival can sit on the Children’s Jury. The members of the Youth Jury must be at least 14, but no older than 18.

The questionnaires are also forwarded to the directors of the participating films, so that each filmmaker can find out first hand how his or her film was received by the Berlin audience.

Berlinale: Preise Generation


Preise und Jurys in der Sektion Generation

Die Jurymitglieder dieser Sektion sind nicht älter als das Publikum im Kino. Elf Kinder und sieben Jugendliche ehren die besten Filme mit den Gläsernen Bären. Lobende Erwähnungen werden für besondere Leistungen vergeben. Zwei Internationale Jurys vergeben zudem Preise in den Wettbewerben Generation Kplus und Generation 14plus.

Preise der Kinderjury im Wettbewerb Generation Kplus

Piata loď, Amelie rennt, Promise, Hedgehog's Home

Die Mitglieder der Kinderjury Generation Kplus - Kay Arend, Antonie Beckmann, Laurentius Fritz, Ilja Gavrylov, Ida Kirschning, Louis Lemperle-McGrath, Emilia Schmidt, Lea Schönfeldt, Ben Trabhardt, Till Trabhardt, Pina Zehnpfennig - vergeben die folgenden Preise:

Gläserner Bär für den Besten Film: Piata loď (Das fünfte Schiff)
Von Iveta Grófová, Slowakische Republik / Tschechische Republik 2017
Wir haben einen Film ausgewählt, der kreativ und authentisch ist. Es geht um zwei Kinder, die sich ihre eigene kleine Welt ohne Regeln aufbauen. Die Geschichte hat uns sehr berührt. Die Schauspieler haben uns auch überzeugt.

Lobende Erwähnung: Amelie rennt
Von Tobias Wiemann, Deutschland / Italien 2017
Der Film beschreibt in einer witzigen Art und Weise und mit turbulenten Dialogen die Entwicklung einer zuerst völlig undenkbaren Freundschaft zweier interessanter Charaktere.

Gläserner Bär für den Besten Kurzfilm: Promise (Versprechen)
Von Xie Tian, USA 2016
In einer beeindruckenden Landschaft erzählt der Film die berührende Geschichte eines Chinesischen Jungen. Durch die gelungene Kameraführung und einen überzeugenden Hauptdarsteller wirkt der Film sehr authentisch.

Lobende Erwähnung: Hedgehog's Home (Das Haus des Igels)
Von Eva Cvijanovic, Kanada / Kroatien 2016
Die Aussage des Films, dass das eigene Zuhause sehr wichtig ist, wurde durch die kreative Verwendung von Filz hervorragend unterstützt. Auch hat uns in diesem Stopmotionfilm die besondere Erzählung in Versform beeindruckt.

Preise der Internationalen Jury von Generation Kplus

Becoming Who I Was, Estiu 1993, Aaba, Sabaku

Die Mitglieder der Internationalen Jury Generation Kplus - Fabian Gasmia, Aneta Ozorek, Yoon Ga-eun - vergeben die folgenden Preise:

Großer Preis der Internationalen Jury von Generation Kplus für den Besten Film, im Wert von € 7.500, gestiftet vom Deutschen Kinderhilfswerk:

Becoming Who I Was (Werden wer ich war)
Von Chang-Yong Moon, Jin Jeon, Republik Korea 2017
In dieser wunderschön gefilmten Erzählung erfahren wir auf eine bittersüße Art und Weise, wie viel Eltern und Kinder voneinander lernen können. Den Filmemachern ist das Schwierigste gelungen: Das Publikum viele Male zum Lachen und zum Weinen zu bringen. Der Film vermittelte der Jury Zuversicht in die Menschlichkeit und sollten die Werte des jungen Helden dieser Geschichte auch nur ein klein wenig von dessen Publikum reflektiert werden, könnte die Welt ein besserer Ort werden.

ex aequo

Estiu 1993 (Sommer 1993)
Von Carla Simón, Spanien 2017
In diesem eindrucksvollen Film, lernen wir durch die Augen eines kleinen Mädchens mit Verlust umzugehen. Was dieser bemerkenswerten Heldin widerfährt und was uns zu Tränen berührt hat, ist dass, wie sehr es auch wehtun mag, es die bedingungslose Liebe der Menschen um dich herum ist, die deine Schmerzen mildern vermag. Neben der herausragenden Darbietung der jungen Hauptdarstellerin, war die Jury außerdem sehr beeindruckt von der wunderschönen Kameraarbeit und sinnlichen mise-en-scène.

Spezialpreis der Internationalen Jury von Generation Kplus für den Besten Kurzfilm, im Wert von € 2.500, gestiftet vom Deutschen Kinderhilfswerk: Aaba (Großvater)
Von Amar Kaushik, Indien 2016
In ruhigen, elegischen Bildern, mit einer wunderschönen Kameraarbeit erzählt dieser Film eine Geschichte vom Kreislauf des Lebens.

Lobende Erwähnung: Sabaku
Von Marlies van der Wel, Niederlande 2016
Unter dem simplen, doch zugleich sehr effizienten Einsatz bemerkenswert künstlerischer Animationstechniken erzählt dieser sehr kurze Film die Geschichte eines Vogels, der um die Welt reist, um einen neuen Freund zu finden. Die Jury war beeindruckt vom Rhythmus und der unglaublichen Freude der Filmemacherin daran ihr Publikum zu unterhalten.

Aneta Ozorek, Yoon Ga-eun und Fabian Gasmia

Aneta Ozorek
Aneta Ozorek aus Polen ist Festivalprogrammerin, Produzentin und Filmpädagogin. Derzeit ist sie Programmerin beim Kino w Trampkach (Cinema in Sneakers) in Warschau.

Yoon Ga-eun
Die koreanische Regisseurin gewann 2014 bei Generation Kplus den Gläsernen Bären für ihren Kurzfilm Sprout, 2016 feierte sie mit Woorideul (The World of Us) ihr Langfilmdebüt ebenfalls bei Generation Kplus.

Fabian Gasmia
Fabian Gasmia aus Deutschland ist Produzent und Mitbegründer von DETAiLFILM. Er hat Filme wie Nashorn im Galopp (R: Erik Schmitt, Generation 2013), Berlin Metanoia (R: Erik Schmitt, Generation 2016) und den Gewinner des Silbernen Bären 2016 L’avenir (Things to Come, R: Mia Hansen-Løve 2016) co-produziert.

Preise der Jugendjury im Wettbewerb Generation 14plus

Butterfly Kisses, Ceux qui font les révolutions à moitié n'ont fait que se creuser un tombeau, Wolfe, SNIP

Die Mitglieder der Jugendjury Generation 14plus - Rosa Ehrlich, Oscar R. Franck, Hannah Kähler, Luka Kowalewsky, Marie Kühn, Quinten Samrotzki, Rosa Schaefer Bastian - vergeben die folgenden Preise:

Gläserner Bär für den Besten Film: Butterfly Kisses
Von Rafael Kapelinski, 2017, Großbritannien
Getrieben vom Rhythmus kraftvoller Bild- und Musikkompositionen nährt dieser Film in uns einen beängstigenden Verdacht. Ohne simple Schuldzuweisungen vorzunehmen, konfrontiert er uns mit einem brisanten Thema, zu dem unsere Gesellschaft noch keinen Umgang gefunden hat. Die differenzierten Charakterisierungen ermöglichen, für die Situationen der Protagonisten tiefes Mitgefühl zu entwickeln. Von den ersten rauschhaften Bildern an macht es dieses aufwühlende Spielfilmdebüt unmöglich, seinem Bann zu entkommen und lässt in seiner Wirkung nicht nach.

Lobende Erwähnung: Ceux qui font les révolutions à moitié n'ont fait que se creuser un tombeau
Von Mathieu Denis, Simon Lavoie, 2016, Kanada
Mit Mut zum Epos wird eine destruktive Gruppendynamik präzise porträtiert. Schonungslos lässt der Film alle Hüllen fallen und entfaltet seine hypnotisierende Wirkung. Zeitgenössisches Bildmaterial, fiktionale Lebensgeschichten und Performances verschmelzen zu einem so verstörenden wie aufrüttelnden Gesamtkunstwerk.

Gläserner Bär für den Besten Kurzfilm: Wolfe
Von Claire Randall, 2016, Australien
Durch die pure Erzählweise und die Behutsamkeit im Umgang mit einem sensiblen Thema gelingt diesem dokumentarischen Film die Entmystifizierung eines Tabus, ohne dabei zu beschönigen oder zu werten. Beeindruckend ehrlich und intim legt der Protagonist seine Erfahrungen mit einer psychischen Erkrankung offen, unterstützt durch liebevoll animierte Erinnerungssequenzen. Wir sind dankbar dafür, sachlich informiert wie auch zutiefst berührt worden zu sein.

Lobende Erwähnung: SNIP
Von Terril Calder, 2016, Kanada
Der Film begibt sich auf die Reise in ein schmerzvolles Kapitel einer Landesgeschichte. Das Aufeinandertreffen variierender Animationsstile lässt dieses zu wenig beachtete Thema unter die Haut gehen. Wir danken dem Regisseur für die unkonventionelle Art, unserer Generation für unseren Weg in die Zukunft mehr Wachsamkeit für die Vergangenheit mitzugeben.

Preise der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus

Shkola nomer 3, Ben Niao, The Jungle Knows You Better Than You Do, U Plavetnilo

Die Mitglieder der Generation 14plus Internationalen Jury - Benjamin Cantu, Roberto Doveris, Jennifer Reeder - vergeben die folgenden Preise:

Großer Preis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus für den Besten Film, im Wert von € 7.500, gestiftet von der Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung: Shkola nomer 3
Von Yelizaveta Smith, Georg Genoux, 2016, Ukraine / Deutschland
Wir vergeben den Grand Prix an einen Film, der sich langsam entfaltete, indem er das Publikum durch Details und persönliche Stellungsnahmen aus der Perspektive seiner Protagonisten miteinbezog. Eine Darstellung, die ein weites Maß an Zärtlichkeit, Trauma und sogar Banalität und Humor liefert. Er nähert sich einfühlsam und ist zugleich direkt in seiner Form - ohne Bevormundung oder Überheblichkeit. Wir bewundern die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Regisseur, Kamerafrau und Protagonisten und wie sie es schaffen, einen Raum des Vertrauens aufzubauen. Dieser Film lässt dem Narrativ des Krieges keine Überhand gegenüber der emotionalen Welt seiner jungen Charaktere gewinnen, die uns erlauben, Zugang zu den innigsten und intimsten Details ihres Lebens zu erhalten

Lobende Erwähnung: Ben Niao
Von Huang Ji, Ryuji Otsuka, 2017, Volksrepublik China
Unsere Lobende Erwähnung geht an einen Film, der uns durch sein Mysterium verfolgt hat und mit der Art wie er über menschliche Beziehungen spricht, die sich ihren Weg durch losgelöste moderne Kommunikationsmittel bahnen. Was diesen Film herausstechen lässt, sind die sorgfältig konstruierten Auslassungen und die bemerkenswerte Darbietung der jungen Schauspielerin Yao Honggui aus China.

Spezialpreis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus für den Besten Kurzfilm, im Wert von € 2.500, gestiftet von der Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung: The Jungle Knows You Better Than You Do
Von Juanita Onzaga , 2016, Belgien / Kolumbien
Wir vergeben den Spezialpreis für den Besten Kurzfilm an einen Film mit einem hybriden Zugang zum Autobiographischen. Ein Film, der um Vergangenheit und Gegenwart kreist und zugleich einen intuitiven Weg findet, uns einen Charakter zu zeigen, der kaum näher an der Filmemacherin selbst sein könnte.

Lobende Erwähnung: U Plavetnilo
Von Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović, 2017, Kroatien / Slowenien / Schweden
Die Lobende Erwähnung geht an einen Film, der die Komplexität des Erwachsenwerdens aufzeigt, während seine vier Charaktere sich mit ihren Erwartungen und Sehnsüchten gegenüber einer dramatischen Küstenlandschaft konfrontiert sehen.

Benjamin Cantu, Jennifer Reeder und Roberto Doveris

Benjamin Cantu
Der deutsch-ungarische Regisseur lebt in Berlin und Budapest. Sein Spielfilmdebüt Stadt Land Fluss feierte 2011 seine Weltpremiere bei Generation. Gleichzeitig umfasst sein journalistisches Schaffen u.a. eine preisgekrönte Dokumentation für ARTE/rbb, The Berlin Patient aus dem Jahr 2013, die sich mit HIV auseinandersetzt.

Jennifer Reeder
Die preisgekrönte, US-amerikanische Regisseurin war 2016 mit Crystal Lake im Kurzfilmwettbewerb von Generation 14plus vertreten. 2015 präsentierte sie Blood Below the Skin bei den Berlinale Shorts. Darüber hinaus wurden ihre Filme im Rahmen der Venedig Biennale und Whitney Biennial gezeigt.

Roberto Doveris
Der chilenische Filmemacher wurde für seinen Debütfilm Las plantas 2016 bei Generation mit dem Großen Preis der Internationalen Jury sowie der Lobenden Erwähnung der Jugendjury ausgezeichnet. Er war Chefredakteur bei CinemaChile, einer Agentur zur Förderung des chilenischen Kinos und leitet derzeit seine eigene Firma Niña Niño Films.

Nach jeder Vorführung bei Generation werden Fragebögen verteilt. Die Bögen bieten die Möglichkeit, sich über die gesehenen Filme Gedanken zu machen und die eigene Meinung aufzuschreiben. Wer seinen Filmfragebogen nicht gleich im Kino abgeben möchte, kann ihn in Ruhe zu Hause ausfüllen und bis einen Monat nach dem Festival per Post an Generation schicken.

Rund 1.500 Zuschauer*innen geben jährlich ihren Filmfragebogen ab. Wer offen, ehrlich und spannend über sein Filmerlebnis schreibt, hat die Chance, im folgenden Jahr selbst über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären zu entscheiden. In die Kinderjury können nur Kinder berufen werden, die zum folgenden Festival zwischen elf und 14 Jahren sein werden. Die Mitglieder der Jugendjury sind mindestens 14 und höchstens 18 Jahre alt.

Die Fragebögen werden auch an die Macher der teilnehmenden Filme weitergeleitet. So erfährt jeder Filmschaffende aus erster Hand, wie sein Film beim Berliner Publikum angekommen ist.