# Redingle

## Press Release

# Berlinale 2015: Star-studded Opening Gala

Minister of State and Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media Prof. Monika Grütters, the Mayor of Berlin Michael Müller, Jury President Darren Aronofsky and Festival Director Dieter Kosslick will open the 65<sup>th</sup> Berlin International Film Festival at the Berlinale Palast at 7.45 pm on February 5. During the Opening Gala, the International Jury will be introduced. In addition to Darren Aronofsky (director, USA), its members are Daniel Brühl (actor, Germany), Bong Joon-ho (director, South Korea), Martha De Laurentiis (producer, USA), Claudia Llosa (director, Peru), Audrey Tautou (actress, France) and Matthew Weiner (producer/writer, USA). Anke Engelke will host the evening. The event will be broadcast live on television by ZDF/3sat and via www.berlinale.de.

Following the Opening Gala, Isabel Coixets Nadie quiere la noche (Nobody Wants the Night) will have its world premiere. The Spanish director and the stars of her film, Juliette Binoche, Rinko Kikuchi, and Gabriel Byrne will all be at hand to present the film in Berlin.

The members of the International Jury and the Best First Feature Award Jury, directors Fernando Eimbcke, Mexico, and Joshua Oppenheimer, USA, as well as actress Olga Kurylenko, Ukraine, are all expected on the Red Carpet.

Other international and national guests are also anticipated: Ken Adam, Barbara Albert, Alberto Barbera, Harry Baer, Meret Becker, Iris Berben, Senta Berger, Christian Berkel, Alexander Beyer, Sebastian Blomberg, Paolo Branco, Matthias Brandt, Anna Brüggemann, Inga Busch, Marie Bäumer, Adriana Chiesa, August Diehl, Ken Duken, Nina Eichinger, Hannelore Elsner, Veronica Ferres, Florian David Fitz, Thierry Frémaux, Inka Friedrich, Maria Furtwängler, Monika Hansen, Toni Garrn, Geoffrey Gilmore, Fritzi Haberland, Piers Handling, André M. Hennicke, Hannah Herzsprung, Henry Hübchen, Hannes Jaennicke, Julia Jentsch, Sibel Kekilli, Udo Kier, Nikolai Kinski, Burghardt Klaußner, Naum Kleiman, Herbert Knaup, Sebastian Koch, David Kross, Maren Kroymann, Joachim Król, Steffi Kühnert, Günter Lamprecht, Alina Levshin, Jan Josef Liefers, Anna Loos Liefers, Peter Lohmeyer, Tom Luddy, Heike Makatsch, Mišel Matičević, Jacob Matschenz, Eva Matthes, Ulrich Matthes, Sunnyi Melles, Daniela Michel, Claudia Michelsen, Elfi Mikesch, Axel Milberg, Ursela Monn, Wotan Wilke Möhring, Anna Maria Mühe, Ulrich Noethen, Karel Och, Jana Pallaske, Christiane Paul, Franziska Petri, Max Riemelt, Armin Rohde, Lars Rudolph, Udo Samel, Andrea Sawatzki, Katrin Sass, Jenny Schily, Tom Schilling, Katharina Schüttler, Robert Stadlober, Miriam Stein, Lena Stolze, Anna Thalbach, Rüdiger Vogler, Lia van Leer, Justus von Dohnáhnyi, Gräfin Vera von Lehndorff, Nora von Waldstätten,

65. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin 05. – 15.02.2015

### **Press Office**

Potsdamer Straße 5 10785 Berlin

Phone +49 · 30 · 259 20 · 707 Fax +49 · 30 · 259 20 · 799

press@berlinale.de www.berlinale.de

Ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin (KBB) GmbH

### Management:

Prof. Dieter Kosslick (Intendant Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin), Charlotte Sieben (Kaufmännische Geschäftsführung), Prof. Dr. Bernd M. Scherer, Dr. Thomas Oberender

Vorsitzende des Aufsichtsrates: Staatsministerin Prof. Monika Grütters MdB

Amtsgericht Charlottenburg HRG Nr. 96 • HRB 29357 USt ID DE 136 78 27 46



# **Press Release**

Katharina Wackernagel, Christoph Waltz, Alice Waters, Kai Wiesinger, Lavinia Wilson, Natalia Wörner, August Zirner, as well as many others.

A number of prominent German politicians have also announced their attendance, including: Federal Foreign Minster Dr. Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Federal Minister of the Interior Dr. Thomas de Maizière, Federal Health Minister Hermann Gröhe; the former Federal Minister Bernd Neumann; Tim Renner, State Secretary for Cultural Affairs in Berlin as well as many others.

A number of ambassadors are expected as well.

Press Office February 4, 2015