Press Release



Darren Aronofsky to be Jury President of the Berlinale 2015

American director, screenwriter and producer Darren Aronofsky will be Jury President of the 65th Berlin International Film Festival.

"Darren Aronofsky has distinguished himself as an outstanding protagonist in contemporary auteur cinema. In his artistic approach he consistently sounds out cinematic language and its aesthetic possibilities. I'm pleased to be able to welcome him as Jury President of the Berlinale 2015," says Festival Director Dieter Kosslick.

Following his studies at Harvard University, Darren Aronofsky celebrated his feature film debut in 1998 with *Pi*, which won the award for Best Director at the Sundance Film Festival and Best Script at the Independent Spirit Awards. He presented his highly acclaimed cinematic adaptation *Requiem for a Dream* at the Cannes Film Festival in 2000, and the cult film *The Fountain* at the Venice Film Festival in 2006. In addition, at "Mostra del Cinema" in Venice, his film *The Wrestler* won the Golden Lion in 2008, and was hailed as the film of the year at the AFI Awards in Los Angeles. The film's success also represented a sensational comeback of actor Mickey Rourke.

In 2011, Darren Aronofsky presented *Black Swan*, a psychological thriller taking place in the world of professional ballet. It was nominated for Best Director at the Academy Awards, the Golden Globes, the Director's Guild of America Awards and the BAFTAs. His visually sweeping film *Noah* was released in 2014.

"At the Berlinale, the cinema is always exciting and fascinating. I am looking forward to watching the latest from the greatest in one of the great cities on the planet", comments Darren Aronofsky.

Press Office November 4, 2014 65. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin 05. – 15.02.2015

Press Office

Potsdamer Straße 5 10785 Berlin

Phone +49 · 30 · 259 20 · 707 Fax +49 · 30 · 259 20 · 799

press@berlinale.de www.berlinale.de

Ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin (KBB) GmbH

Management:

Prof. Dieter Kosslick (Intendant Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin), Charlotte Sieben (Kaufmännische Geschäftsführung), Prof. Dr. Bernd M. Scherer, Dr. Thomas Oberender

Vorsitzende des Aufsichtsrates: Staatsministerin Prof. Monika Grütters MdB

Amtsgericht Charlottenburg HRG Nr. 96 • HRB 29357 USt ID DE 136 78 27 46