

Press Release

Berlinale 2014: Crystal Bears and Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk Prizes in Generation Kplus

The members of the Children's Jury Generation Kplus

Charlotte Dammasch Lara Kläffling Fabian Krüger Fiona Lukas Daria Rabes Zoe Rentmeister Lilly Rinklebe Quinten Samrotzki Jan-Hendrik Schmahl Cosmo Schüppel Janek Sommerfeldt

give the following awards:

Crystal Bear for the Best Film: Killa

by Avinash Arun, India 2014

This film convinced us in all respects: with his good camera work and the great actors, but also because of its incredibly beautiful nature images which blend perfectly with the music. This film made us all want to discover India.

Special Mention: Hitono Nozomino Yorokobiyo

by Masakazu Sugita, Japan 2013

Out of so many wonderful movies, this film in particular touched us and carried us away. Due to the fantastic actors, especially the terrific young protagonists, we could empathize with their experiences and were even moved to tears. Down to the smallest details, in this story everything fits together.

Crystal Bear for the Best Short Film: Sprout

by Ga-eun Yoon, Republic of Korea 2013

A child embarks on an adventure through its own city, to prove that it is no longer too young. Through everyday and yet strange encounters, the girl collects on the road a lot of experience. The story, and how it was told, touched us deeply.

Special Mention: Sepatu Baru

by Aditya Ahmad, Indonesia 2013

We saw a touching story about a girl who wishes with all her heart that it stops raining. Through its wonderful imagery, this film gave us an understanding of the tradition of a faraway country.

64. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin 06. – 16.02.2014

Press Office

Potsdamer Straße 5 10785 Berlin

Phone +49 · 30 · 259 20 · 707 Fax +49 · 30 · 259 20 · 799

press@berlinale.de www.berlinale.de

Ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin (KBB) GmbH

Management:

Prof. Dieter Kosslick (Intendant Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin), Charlotte Sieben (Kaufmännische Geschäftsführung), Prof. Dr. Bernd M. Scherer, Dr. Thomas Oberender

Vorsitzende des Aufsichtsrates: Staatsministerin Prof. Monika Grütters, MdB

Amtsgericht Charlottenburg HRG Nr. 96 · HRB 29357 USt ID DE 136 78 27 46



Press Release

The members of the Generation Kplus International Jury

Christian Bellaj Boudewijn Koole Catriona McKenzie

give the following awards:

The Grand Prix of the Generation Kplus International Jury for the best feature-length film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk:

Ciencias Naturales

by Matías Lucchesi, Argentina / France 2014

This film shows us a pure, distilled and unsentimental journey towards identity. It is a captivating tale with wonderful acting and a clear vision. Strong in its simplicity, the film touched our hearts.

Special Mention: Killa

by Avinash Arun, India 2014

A beautifully photographed story about the challenges of being a boy. This film had wonderful pace and rhythm. Never reverting to clichés, the fresh performances left us feeling we were right there with the characters.

The Special Prize of the *Generation Kplus* International Jury for the best short film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk: *Moy lichniy los'*

by Leonid Shmelkov, Russian Federation 2013

A whimsical understanding of the human condition told with a deft hand, and a unique sense of humour. Achieved with great craft skills and heart.

Special Mention: el

by Roland Ferge, Hungary 2013

An elegant and formal artistic vision that resonates meaning beyond the seams of the film. A visual poem!

Award ceremony and screening of the winning film today at 3.30 pm at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, cinema 1.

Press Office February 15, 2014