

Press Release

62nd Berlin International Film Festival to Close with a Splendid Event

Today, on Saturday, February 18, the 62nd Berlin International Film Festival is coming to a close with a splendid event. 1,600 guests are expected to attend the gala in the Berlinale Palast, where from 7pm onwards the winners of the Golden and Silver Bears, the Prizes of the International Short Film Jury, the Best First Feature Award as well as the Alfred Bauer Prize will be announced. Following the ceremony, the winner of the Golden Bear will be shown as closing film of this year's Berlinale. Festival Director Dieter Kosslick and the International Jury, under the presidency of Mike Leigh, will present the awards. Anke Engelke will host the presentation. Beginning at 7pm, the gala will be broadcast live on 3sat.

62. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin 09. – 19.02.2012

Press Office

Potsdamer Straße 5 10785 Berlin

Phone +49 · 30 · 259 20 · 707 Fax +49 · 30 · 259 20 · 799

press@berlinale.de www.berlinale.de

The following guests are expected to attend the gala: Jury President Mike Leigh, members of the International Jury Anton Corbijn, Asghar Farhadi, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Jake Gyllenhaal, François Ozon, Boualem Sansal and Barbara Sukow, as well as Volker Schlöndorff, Dani Levy, Katja Riemann, Henry Hübchen, Katrin Sass, Moritz Rinke, Leander Haußmann, Wolfgang Kohlhaase, Iris Berben, August Diehl, Marie Bäumer, Natalia Wörner, Hannelore Elsner, Martina Gedeck, David Kross, Michael Gwisdek, Cosma Shiva Hagen, Sandra Hüller, Thomas Kretschmann, Jürgen Prochnow, Armin Rohde, Anneke Kim Sarnau, Katharina Wackernagel, André M. Hennicke, Nikolai Kinski, Natalia Avelon, Alexander Beyer, Anna Fischer, Inka Friedrich, Paula Kalenberg, Lisa Martinek, Milan Peschel, Franziska Petri, Stipe Erceg, Anna Thalbach, Max Riemelt, Laura Tonke, Marc Rothemund, Kostja Ullmann, Bettina Zimmermann and many others.

A number of German politicians have also announced their attendance, including Bundestag member Claudia Roth (Party Leader of the Bündnis 90/Die Grünen), Frank-Walter Steinmeier (Party Leader of the SPD in the Bundestag) and Monika Grütters (Chair of the Bundestag Committee for Cultural and Media Affairs).

This year visitors flocked to cinemas again: a total of some 300,000 tickets were sold to the public. Once more, the initiative "Berlinale goes Kiez" enjoyed great popularity: for this series the festival's Flying Red Carpet travels from arthouse cinema to arthouse cinema and visits Berlin's movie lovers at "their" neighbourhood cinemas.

The festival's new venue in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele on Schaperstraße opened impressively with Angelina Jolie's directorial debut *In The Land Of Blood And Honey* and so established itself immediately as new

Ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin (KBB) GmbH

Management:

Prof. Dieter Kosslick (Intendant Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin), Charlotte Sieben (Kaufmännische Geschäftsführung), Prof. Dr. Bernd M. Scherer, Dr. Thomas Oberender

Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Bernd Neumann

Amtsgericht Charlottenburg HRG Nr. 96 · HRB 29357 USt ID DE 136 78 27 46



Press Release

"Berlinale cinema". Another special highlight was the awarding of the Honorary Golden Bear to Meryl Streep, who also presented her new film, *The Iron Lady.* Last night, Robert Pattinson astonished fans with a special treat: hundreds of free tickets were handed out on the Red Carpet for an extra screening of his film, *Bel Ami*, which was shown at almost the exact same time as in the Berlinale Palast.

Among the countless stars and distinguished artists who attended this year's festival were Shah Rukh Khan, Christian Bale, Isabelle Huppert, Max von Sydow, Nina Hoss, Jürgen Vogel, Steven Soderbergh, Léa Seydoux, Diane Kruger, Paolo & Vittorio Taviani, Michael Fassbender, Antonio Banderas, Billy Bob Thornton, Stephen Daldry, Birgit Minichmayr, Clive Owen, Guy Maddin, Hans-Christian Schmid, Doris Dörrie, John Hurt, Keanu Reeves, Salma Hayek, Robert Pattinson, Christian Petzold, Christina Ricci, Martina Gedeck, Juliette Binoche, Volker Schlöndorff, Werner Herzog and many others.

Press Office February 18, 2012