

Press Release

Jury for the Best First Feature

The Berlinale has been even more committed to supporting the next generation of film makers since 2006, when it introduced the Best First Feature Award. The award is endowed with 50,000 Euros, donated by the GWFF (Gesellschaft zur Wahrnehmung von Film- und Fernsehrecht), a society dedicated to safeguarding film and television rights. The prize money is to be split between the producer and the director of the winning film. Additionally, the director will be awarded with a high-quality viewfinder as both a useful instrument and memorable trophy.

Debut feature films from the sections *Competition*, *Panorama*, *Forum*, *Generation* and for the first time also debut films from the *Perspektive Deutsches Kino* will compete for the award in 2011. The winners will be announced at the official award ceremony in the Berlinale Palast on February 19.

A three-person jury will decide on the Best First Feature:

Bettina Brokemper (Germany)

The producer learnt her profession at the University of Television and Film, Munich. In 2003 she founded the production company Heimatfilm with which she has celebrated national and international successes, most recently *Bal* (*Honey*, Golden Bear 2010). In 2001 she became established as managing director of Zentropa Entertainment in Cologne, co-producing films such as Lars von Trier's *Dogville* and *Antichrist*.

Assaf Gavron (Israel)

The bestselling Israeli author has published four novels, including the internationally acclaimed "Almost Dead". Gavron is singer and songwriter in the Israeli cult pop band "The Mouth and Foot" and was the chief writer of the award-winning computer game "Peacemaker". He was awarded a DAAD artists-in-Berlin fellowship in 2010 and last December was honoured with Israel's Prime Minister's Award for Authors.

Michèle Ohayon (Morocco/Israel)

The director rose to fame in 1997 with the Oscar-nominated film *Colors Straight Up*. She has since celebrated repeated successes with her feature documentary works. She presented her film *Steal A Pencil For Me* at the 2008 Berlinale Special, followed in 2010 by *S.O.S./State Of Security*, a documentary about National Security challenges as viewed by the former US head of counter-terrorism Richard A. Clarke.

61. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin 10. – 20.02.2011

Press Office

Potsdamer Straße 5 10785 Berlin

Phone +49 · 30 · 259 20 · 707 Fax +49 · 30 · 259 20 · 799

press@berlinale.de www.berlinale.de

Ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin (KBB) GmbH

Management:

Dieter Kosslick (Intendant Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin), Charlotte Sieben (Kaufmännische Geschäftsführung), Dr. Bernd M. Scherer, Prof. Dr. Joachim Sartorius

Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Bernd Neumann

Amtsgericht Charlottenburg HRG Nr. 96 · HRB 29357 USt ID DE 136 78 27 46



Press Release

The following films have qualified for the Best First Feature Award:

Competition (4)

Coriolanus by Ralph Fiennes, Great Britain
El Premio by Paula Markovitch, Mexico/France/Poland/Germany
Margin Call by J.C. Chandor, USA
Yelling To The Sky by Victoria Mahoney, USA

Panorama (8)

Dernier étage gauche gauche (Top Floor Left Wing) by Angelo Cianci, France/Luxemburg

Die Vaterlosen by Marie Kreutzer, Austria

Fjellet by Ole Giaever, Norway

Medianeras by Gustavo Taretto, Argentina/Germany/Spain

Romeos by Sabine Bernardi, Germany

Rundskop by Michaël R. Roskam, Belgium/Netherlands

Über uns das All by Jan Schomburg, Germany

The Guard ** by John Michael McDonagh Ireland/Great Britain/Argentina

Forum (10)

Amnistia (Amnesty) by Bujar Alimani, Albania/Greece/France
Folge mir (Follow Me) by Johannes Hammel, Austria
Halaw (Ways of the Sea) by Sheron Dayoc, Philippines
Karen llora en bus (Karen Cries on the Bus) by Gabriel Rojas Vera, Colombia
Kazoku X (Household X) by Yoshida Koki, Japan
Les Mains libres (Free Hands) by Brigitte Sy, France
Osmdesát dopisů (Eighty Letters) by Václav Kadrnka, Czech Republic
Patang (The Kite) by Prashant Bhargava, India/USA
Utopians by Zbigniew Bzymek, USA
Viva Riva! by Djo Tunda Wa Munga,
Democratic Republic of the Congo/France /Belgium

Generation (10)

Den kæmpestore bjørn by Esben Toft Jacobsen, Denmark Griff The Invisible by Leon Ford, Australia Jess + Moss by Clay Jeter, USA Keeper'n til Liverpool by Arild Andersen, Norway Knerten gifter seg by Martin Lund, Norway



Press Release

Las Malas Intenciones by Rosario García-Montero, Peru/Germany/Argentina On the Ice ** by Andrew Okpeaha MacLean, USA Skyskraber by Rune Schjøtt, Denmark Stadt Land Fluss by Benjamin Cantu, Germany The Dynamiter by Matthew T. Gordon, USA

Perspektive Deutsches Kino (2)

Die Ausbildung (*The Education*) by Dirk Lütter, Germany **Lollipop Monster** by Ziska Riemann, Germany

** The films denoted with ** are no longer qualified for candidacy if they win an award at the Sundance Film Festival.

Press Office January 27, 2011