

## Pressemitteilung

Berlinale 2009: Crystal Bears and Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk Awards in *Generation Kplus* 

The members of the Kinderjury Generation Kplus

Aaron Altaras
Merve Avdiç
Cara Beume
Karoline Gugisch
Jan Hensel
Luca-Els Mauritz
Judith Rinklebe
Tilli Ripp
Jannik Szwaczka
Lara Torp
Daniel Zimmermann

give the following awards:

The Crystal Bear for the Best Feature Film *C'est pas moi, je le jure!* by Philippe Falardeau

We made our decision for this film because it's a wonderful combination of comedy and tragedy. It is about a boy who is fighting for his parents' love, as well as that of a girl. The young actor has a shiny charisma, which meant that the film captivated us from the very beginning until the very last moment.

The Crystal Bear for the Best Short Film *Ulybka Buddy* by Bair Dyshenov

This film has a persuasive, wordless kind of humour. In a short time we learnt about a foreign culture and a young boy's fear of his own gods became apparent. Also the fact that children everywhere are the same when it comes to certain things - their love of sweets.

The Special Mention for a Feature Film Max Pinglig by Lotte Svendsen

The excellent actors seduced us into their amusing world. The jokes were simply hilarious. Adults can be extremely embarrassing sometimes.

59. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin 05. – 15.02.2009

Presse

Potsdamer Straße 5 10785 Berlin

Tel. +49 · 30 · 259 20 · 707 Fax +49 · 30 · 259 20 · 799

press@berlinale.de www.berlinale.de

Ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin (KBB) GmbH

## Geschäftsführung:

Dieter Kosslick (Intendant Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin), Dr. Thomas Köstlin (Kaufmännischer Geschäftsführer), Dr. Bernd M. Scherer, Dr. Joachim Sartorius

Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Bernd Neumann

Amtsgericht Charlottenburg HGR Nr. 96 · HRB 29357 USt ID DE 136 78 27 46



## Pressemitteilung

The Special Mention for a Short Film *Oh, My God!* by Anne Sewitsky

We decided on this film because it deals with a taboo theme in a humorous way. A courageous director, three great actresses and wonderful music ignited us into absolute ecstasy!

The members of the International Jury Generation Kplus

Greg Childs
Petr Koliha
Stephan Lance
Dana Nechustan
Roshanak Behest Nedjad

give the following awards:

The Deutsche Kinderhilfswerk Grand Prix for the best feature film, worth 7,500 Euro, *C'est pas moi, je le jure!* by Philippe Falardeau

The Grand Prix of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk goes to a film, which we unanimously agreed was original, funny, provocative and deeply moving. The story of a darkly comic character dealing with family trauma left us truly spellbound.

The Deutsche Kinderhilfswerk Special Prize for the best short film, worth 2,500 Euro, *Oh, My God!* by Anne Sewitsky

The Special Prize of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk goes to a short film, which we unanimously agreed was a provocative and honest look at blossoming sexuality. The performances, cinematography and design were all fantastic. But above all, this film made us howl with laughter.

The Special Mention for the best feature film *Flickan* by Fredrik Edfeldt

The Special Mention goes to a feature film, which we think is a stunning portrait of childhood solitude. We loved this film for its delicate and poetic portrayal of a young person's coming of age. It is brave, stylish and beautifully crafted.



## Pressemitteilung

The Special Mention for the best short film *Jerrycan* by Julius Avery

The Special Mention for the short film goes to a story, which we agreed presented a disturbing but honest look at peer pressure. The tension in this film was explosive.

The Award Ceremony and the screening of the winner film will take place today at 3.30 pm in the Zoo Palast.

Press Office February 14, 2009