Berlinale: Glashütte Original – Documentary Award

Glashütte Original – Documentary Award

For many years now, the Berlin International Film Festival has been committed to documentary film and diverse documentary forms.

Thanks to the support of Glashütte Original, watch manufacturer from Saxony, the Berlin International Film Festival launched a new award, the Glashütte Original – Documentary Award, in 2017.

This prize for the best documentary film is endowed with € 50,000, funded by Glashütte Original. A total of about 18 documentary entries from the current programmes of the, Panorama, Forum, Generation, Berlinale Special and Perspektive Deutsches Kino sections as well as the Culinary Cinema special series is nominated for the Glashütte Original – Documentary Award. A three-member jury picks the winner - the prize money is split between the film’s director and producer.

The trophy

Besides the prize money, Glashütte Original also provides the trophy, finely crafted in the Saxon manufactory and presented to the director of the winning film.

The prize is awarded during the official Award Ceremony in the Berlinale Palast.