Berlinale: Press Releases

Press Releases 2015


Feb 13, 2015:
Berlinale 2015: Crystal Bears and the Awards by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education) in Generation 14plus

Flocken, Prins, A Confession, Nelly

The members of the Youth Jury in Generation 14plus

Leila Albrecht
Jan Hendrik Blanke
Alina Neichel
Maya Viola Oppitz
Lotta Schwerk
David Siegmund-Schultze
Fabian Volkers

give the following awards:

Crystal Bear for the Best Film: Flocken (Flocking)
by Beata Gårdeler, Sweden 2015
The film which struck us the most was one which succeeds in continuously maintaining its oppressive atmosphere. This film gives us a precise and intense experience of the mechanisms of progressive social exclusion, triggered by an accusation. It excels in its portrayal of the role of social networks, where anonymity can lead to the unchecked build-up of aggression. A great cast, gripping dialog and unexpected developments combine to create an extraordinary work.

Special Mention: Prins (Prince)
by Sam de Jong, Netherlands 2015
We would like to take this opportunity to highlight a film with a perky, dynamic and colourful appearance. Aesthetically composed images lead us into the world of a protagonist who is torn between his desire for appreciation and his determination to do the right thing. The self-ironic treatment of stereotypes, the creative cinematography and the stirring soundtrack all grant this movie its cult appeal.

Crystal Bear for the Best Short Film: A Confession
by Petros Silvestros, Great Britain 2015
With clear, monumental images the winning short film stresses the relationship between authoritarian sway and helplessness, erupting into violence. Within a limited amount of shots the film develops an extraordinary tension and intensity. Years of silence and suppression ultimately culminate in a nightmare scenario, which left us stunned and shocked at the same time.

Special Mention Short Film: Nelly
by Chris Raiber, Austria 2014
Loss, transition, the hereafter: With its compelling imagery this short film draws, in a poetic and surreal way, the state between life and death. Although we were directly captured by the puzzling composition of images, in the end it was the smart turn, which makes the film so extraordinary and left us captivated long after the screening.

The Diary of a Teenage Girl, Nena, Coach, Tuolla puolen

The members of the International Jury Generation 14plus

Sophie Hyde
Alix Madigan-Yorkin
Marten Rabarts

give the following awards:

The Grand Prix of the Generation 14plus International Jury for the best feature-length film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education): The Diary of a Teenage Girl
by Marielle Heller, USA 2014
With its vibrant cinematic language, including flawless production design, this film reveals an authentic and unique woman discovering her own artistic voice and power, remarkably portrayed by a stunning newcomer. For the superlative characters brought to life by a brilliant ensemble and their director, as well as the uncompromising rejection of conventional morality in favor of human complexity the Grand Prix for the best feature goes to The Diary of a Teenage Girl by Marielle Heller.

Special Mention: Nena
by Saskia Diesing, Netherlands / Germany 2014
In this film, the evocation of specific period and place comments powerfully on the controversial issue of assisted death, reminding us of who finally bears responsibility if the law does not. With its dark ironic tone and compelling performance of a self-determining central character who traverses a difficult personal terrain to not only understand but embrace a painful choice.

Special Prize of the Generation 14plus International Jury for the best short film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education): Coach
by Ben Adler, France 2014
For its tonal mastery in portraying the casual brutality of male relationships, a nuanced script and pitch perfect performances, culminating powerfully in a moment of insight for its teenage protagonist, the jury awards a film which surprised and captivated us.

Special Mention: Tuolla puolen (Reunion)
by Iddo Soskolne and Janne Reinikainen, Finland 2015
Using ambiguity and cheeky humor to deal with grief, the international jury applauds the visual dexterity and light touch of this film. For its originality and craft, as well as its loving portrayal of sibling reconciliation the special mention goes to: Tuolla puolen.

Award ceremony and screening of the winning film tonight at 7.30 p.m. at Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Cinema 1.

Press Office
February 13, 2015

Download Press Release, PDF (159 KB)