Berlinale: Press Releases

Press Releases 2009


Nov 12, 2008:
Berlinale 2009: Academy Award-Winner Tilda Swinton will be Jury President

The Scottish actress Tilda Swinton will be President of the International Jury at the Berlinale 2009.


Tilda Swinton is one of the most prominent and versatile acting talents of her generation. She has received numerous international film awards for her exceptional work – most recently the 2008 Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress, for her role in Michael Clayton. Also this year, she founded, co-curated and produced a film festival in her hometown of Nairn, Scotland: “The Ballerina Ballroom Cinema of Dreams“ is dedicated to the discovery and rediscovery of classic world cinema treasure. 


“I'm pleased that the wonderful Tilda Swinton will be our Jury President in 2009,“ says Dieter Kosslick, director of the Berlinale. “Her commanding screen presence has made an indelible impression in contemporary, innovative filmmaking.“


Tilda Swinton made her screen debut in 1986 in Derek Jarman's Caravaggio, which received a Silver Bear in the Competition of the Berlin International Film Festival. She maintained a close artistic friendship with Jarman until his death in 1994, appearing in all of his films (including The Last of England, Edward II and Wittgenstein). Earlier this year, she wrote and coproduced a film portrait of Jarman -  Derek - directed by Isaac Julien, which was presented at the Berlinale in the Panorama.


In 1992 she gained international recognition in Orlando, based on the novel by Virginia Woolf, which she developed with director Sally Potter over five years. Tilda Swinton has since become one of the most sought-after actresses, playing a wide range of roles, switching effortlessly between large Hollywood productions (e.g. Andrew Adamson's  The Chronicles of Narnia) and European art house films (e.g. Béla Tarr's The Man From London).


Tilda Swinton's film career also has close ties with the Berlinale. Since her debut in Caravaggio, she has graced the screen in 14 Berlinale films, including the Competition films Julia (2008) by Eric Zonca, Thumbsucker (2005) by Mike Mills and Adaptation (2003) by Spike Jonze. She is also a regular screen presence in the Panorama and Forum sections.



Press Office

November 12, 2008