Berlinale: Press Releases

Press Releases 2005


Jan 28, 2005:
20th Panorama - Programme Selection Complete

To celebrate its 20th anniversary the Panorama is presenting 34 features, 18 documentaries and 26 short films in its main programme and Special, Dokumente and Short Film series. 30 countries played a major role in the production of these works. 28 of them will be screened as world premieres, nine as premieres outside the countries of their origin and fifteen as European premieres; a total of ten films are directorial debuts. Eleven of the works chosen for the Panorama are to be digitally projected, two of them in high definition.

The last entries selected for the programme have been made by directors such as: Rebecca Miller (USA), Ventura Pons (Spain), Giuseppe Piccioni (Italy), Constantinos Giannaris (Greece), Park Chul-soo (South Korea), Nobuhiko Obayashi (Japan), Radu Mihaileanu (France), Wolfgang Murnberger (Austria), Andreas Dresen and Lars Kraume (Germany).

Many actors are expected to accompany their films, including: Fernanda Montenegro (Silver Bear 1998 in Central Station), Bai Ling (member of the International Jury), Daniel Day-Lewis, Don McKellar, Valeria Bruni-Tedeschi, Gilbert Melki, Simon Abkarian, Luigi Lo Cascio, Sandra Ceccarelli, Joely Collins, Malgosia Bela, Matsuzaka Keiko, Harisu, Heike Makatsch, Joachim Król, Josef Hader, Udo Samel and Jürgen Vogel.

The Panorama main programme will open on February 10 with a film in opera format – Redentor (Redeemer) by Brazil’s Claudio Torres: for a journalist who comes from a background of poverty, everything’s a question of justice – which is why he takes on a real-estate shark. Fernanda Montenegro stars as his mother.

The Panorama Special opens on February 11 with two co-productions. France/Israel: Va, vis et deviens (Live and Become) by Radu Mihaileanu. In the mid-eighties, a stream of refugees sets out from Ethiopia toward the Sudan. Many of the refugees are Ethiopian Jews. When Israel decides to save all those who are Jewish by allowing them to come to Jerusalem, a Jewish woman, whose son is dead, takes her Christian friend’s son with her instead.

France/Germany/Turkey/Greece: Bulutlari Beklerken (Waiting for the Clouds) by Yesim Ustaoglu. After Ayshe’s sister dies, her conduct toward the people in her village at the Black Sea becomes odder and odder – until the veil of the past is finally lifted and reveals how bound up her life is with the expulsion of the Greeks from Turkey 50 years ago. The Turkish director presented Reise zur Sonne (Journey to the Sun) in the Competition in 1999.

Panorama Short Film: four compact short-film blocks complete the Panorama – and their titles are programmatic: Funky Desert, Soft Dreamers, War is Not Over and Lost in Vision. They are full of cinematic innovations, political ideas and romantic fantasies. From short documents like Der Mann mit der Pauke - Wolfgang Neuss (The Kettledrum Man: Wolfgang Neuss) to Guy Maddin’s return to short film with Sissy Boy Slap Party and Sombra Dolorosa, these blocks offer a journey through extremely diverse worlds.

New Zealander Taika Waititi – who is participating in the Panorama with Tama tu this year – won the award for "Best Panorama Short Film" in 2004 with Two Cars, One Night, a film now nominated for an Oscar in 2005. Likewise, Gary McKendry (USA) has received a nomination for his contribution to this year’s Panorama: Everything in this Country Must.

And last but not least, in the full-length movie Fucking Different! 18 gay and lesbian Berliner filmmakers subject themselves in 15 films to an experiment: to make films about the sexuality of the opposite sex. They could choose whatever form they wanted – the outcome provides plenty of food for thought.

Innovative European contributions are competing for the LVT Manfred Salzgeber Prize.

This year’s jury members for this award are:

Marieanne Bergmann, head of the funding department at the Filmförderung Hamburg;

Andrea Weiss, director and author, professor for film and video at City College, City University of New York

and Giampaolo Marzi, director of the Festival Internazionale di cinema gaylesbico Milan/Italy.

The TEDDY – the Queer Film Award at the Berlin International Film Festival – will be presented on Friday, February 18 at the Kino International in the categories Best Feature Film, Best Documentary or Film Essay, and Best Short Film. President of the jury is Michael Kutza, founder and director of the Chicago International Film Festival. For more information, go to

The following list of film titles completes those issued in the first two Panorama press releases (see press releases on Jan. 6 and 25, 2005). All press releases are available at The following films have finally been invited:

Amor Idiota (Idiot Love), Spain/Andorra

by Ventura Pons

with Santi Millán, Cayetana Guillén Cuervo, Mercè Pons, Marc Cartes, Jordi


The Ballad Of Jack And Rose, USA

by Rebecca Miller

with Daniel Day-Lewis, Camilla Belle, Catherine Keener, Beau Bridges, Paul Dano, Jason Lee, Jena Malone, Susanna Thompson

The Dying Gaul, USA

by Craig Lucas

with Peter Sarsgaard, Campbell Scott, Patricia Clarkson

Keine Lieder über Liebe (No Songs Of Love), Germany

by Lars Kraume

with Florian Lukas, Jürgen Vogel, Heike Makatsch

Mars, Russian Federation

by Anna Melikian

with Gosha Kutsenko, Nana Kiknadze, Artur Smolianinov

Nok-Saek-eui-ja (Green Chair), South Korea

by Park Chul-soo

with Suh Jung, Shim Ji-ho, Oh Yun-hong

Omiros (Hostage), Greece/Turkey

by Constantinos Giannaris

with Stathis Papadopoulos, Theodora Tzimou, Giannis Stankoglou

Riyuu (The Motive), Japan

by Nobuhiko Obayashi

with Ittoku Kishibe, Masami Hisamoto, Miyoko Akaza, Jun Fubuki, Akira Emoto, Satomi Kobayashi, Yuko Kotegawa, Ayumi Ito, Takahito Hosoyamada

Silentium, Austria

by Wolfgang Murnberger

with Josef Hader, Simon Schwarz, Joachim Król, Maria Köstlinger, Udo Samel, Jürgen Tarrach, Rosie Alvarez

Transamerica, USA

by Duncan Tucker

with Felicity Huffman, Kevin Zegers, Graham Greene, Fionnula Flanagan, Burt Young

Va, vis et deviens (Live And Become), France/Israel

by Radu Mihaileanu

with Yael Abecassis, Roschdy Zem

La vita che vorrei (The Life I Want), Italy

by Giuseppe Piccioni

with Luigi Lo Cascio, Sandra Ceccarelli, Galatea Ranzi

Willenbrock, Germany

by Andreas Dresen

with Axel Prahl, Inka Friedrich, Anne Ratte-Polle, Tilo Prückner, Andrzej Szoda

Press Office

January 28, 2005