Berlinale: Press Releases

Press Releases 2005


Jan 27, 2005:
The Berlinale Confirms the International Jury

The International Jury decides who will take home a Golden or Silver Bear. At the 55th Berlin International Film Festival the Bears will be awarded by seven members of the jury. The ceremony will be held at the Berlinale Palast on Saturday, February 19, 2005.

Jury-President: Roland Emmerich (Germany)

The career of this successful German director began with his graduation film The Noah’s Ark Principle at the Munich Film and Television School. The film opened the Berlinale in 1984 awakening worldwide interest. Hollywood discovered his talent and in 1992 Emmerich began his US career with Universal Soldier. This was followed by Oscar-winning Independence Day, Godzilla and The Patriot. In 2004, Emmerich made a highly topical contribution to the discussion on catastrophic climate changes with The Day After Tomorrow.

Ingeborga Dapkunaite (Lithuania)

The actress Ingeborga Dapkunaite has received numerous awards for her work in a great variety of film genres. She appeared, for instance, in Nikita Michalkov’s Oscar-winning drama Burnt by the Sun (1994) and became known to international audiences with her roles in Mission Impossible (1996) and Seven Years in Tibet (1997). She appeared in 25 dégrés en hiver (25 Degrees in Winter) in last year’s Berlinale Competition.

Bai Ling (China)

People Magazine elected the Chinese actress, who lives in the USA, one of the ’50 most beautiful people in the world‘. Her breakthrough Red Corner was followed by Hollywood films such as Wild Wild West, Anna and the King, Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow and the Berlinale entry Beautiful Country. This year’s Panorama film Dumplings won her the “Golden Horse Award”, the Chinese Oscar, for best supporting actress.

Franka Potente (Germany)

Franka Potente attracted international attention with her top-form acting and running talents displayed in Tom Tykwer’s Run, Lola, Run (1998). The up-and-coming German star was soon in demand in Hollywood. Her roles included playing alongside Matt Damon in The Bourne Identity (2001) and its sequel The Bourne Supremacy three years later. Franka Potente will be appearing next in the film Che directed by Steven Soderbergh.

Wouter Barendrecht (Netherlands)

The Dutch producer and co-chairman of the international distributing company fortissimo films is a leading expert on world cinema. Besides his advisory role for numerous festivals he has also headed the Hong Kong Asian Film Financing Forum. His most important productions include The Goddess of 1967, Party Monster, Bear’s Kiss as well as Peter Greenaway‘s trilogy The Tulse Luper Suitcases.

Nino Cerruti (Italy)

Nino Cerruti is in demand, not only in Paris and Milan but in Hollywood as well. For decades the world-famous fashion designer and founder of the “Cerruti 1881“ fashion label has designed clothes for stars in their films. For instance, Anita Ekberg (La dolce vita), Harrison Ford (Air Force One) and Tom Cruise (Eyes Wide Shut) all wore Cerruti creations. He also designed outfits for Robert Altman’s fashion satire Prêt-à-Porter.

Andrei Kurkov (Ukraine)

The renowned Ukranian screenwriter, cinematographer and writer is seen as one of the most exciting discoveries in the international literary scene. His prize-winning novel “Picknik on the Ice”, about changing society in post-Soviet Russia, was translated into 22 languages. Andrei Kurkov has written over 20 screenplays including A Friend of the Deceased which was nominated in 1997 for the European Film Award.

For films presented in Competition, the International Jury is obliged to award

The Golden Bear awarded to the best film (for the producer)

The Jury Grand Prix (Silver Bear)

The Best Director prize (Silver Bear)

The Best Actress prize (Silver Bear)

The Best Actor prize (Silver Bear)

The prize for an artistic contribution (Silver Bear)

The prize for the best film music (Silver Bear)

The Jury also awards the Blue Angel Prize, awarded in tribute to Marlene Dietrich, for the Best European Film and the Alfred Bauer Prize, awarded in memory of the Festival founder, for a work of particular innovation.

Press Office

January 26, 2005